We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect Ending”
Review of Ndole Bay Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nsumbu National Park
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ndole Bay Lodge
Reviewed 11 November 2011

After a 2 day drive from Mansa the welcome from Elise was like a homecoming - she made us so comfortable and so welcome! We stayed for 3 nights and were treated like kings and ate like royalty also. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner were all well presented, perfectly served and absolutely delicious - even the packed lunch was excellent. Craig took us diving, fishing, a visit to Kasaba bay and a wonderful 2 hour walk around the flood plain - answering all our questions and giving us a fascinating insight into life in the bush! All too soon our visit was over but the memories kept us happy on the 2 day drive to Lusaka. Next time we might fly!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 40 reviews

Reviewed 3 November 2011

After a hot dusty drive the Lake was amazing. Stayed 3 nights, camping under the winterthorns, right on the sand, next to the scenic lake. Enjoyed the choice of outdoor or indoor showers with lots of hot water. Very relaxing and enjoyed the hammocks and watching the water birds and otters fishing and playing. Boat trip was great fun and even caught my first ever fish - with expert help! Good food and very well stocked bar. Very friendly, relaxing and didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boo_zam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

We wanted to see the Tanganika lake, Ndole bay is a nice place to relax, to fish, to boat and to dive with an excellent teacher, Craig. He knows evrything, all fishs.
We stayed in Ndole bay only 3 nights and it was not enough. It is quiete and the restaurant is good. Thank you Elise and Craig
Thank you all the staff
And it's better to go to Ndole bay via Mpulungu by boat than by road via Kasama and Mporokoso. They can arrange the transfert.
I hope we will come again
J.Luc & Laurence

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jean luc j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2009

I stayed here for 5 nights because I wanted to dive in Lake Tanganyika in Zambia, the DRC and Tanzania. It’s one of the few places on the lake you can dive recreationally and Craig did an excellent job in arranging my transfers and whisking me around the lake. Nothing was too much trouble and he really worked hard to make the pricing work for me. He is a marine ecologist who used to work at a fish farm catering to aquarists so can also explain about the unique cyclids and the lake’s ecosystem.

Craig is one of those rare individuals who can do just about anything, which is just as well as this is a very remote place and one needs to be self sustaining. Most visitors drive the 12 hours from Lusaka, but you can also charter small planes. Be warned that fuel prices in Zambia are sky high due to government taxes!

His Australian partner, Elise complements him well and they take turns seamlessly cooking gourmet meals. The rest of the staff here are also helpful and friendly. Craig and Elise are young and enthusiastic and have a range of activities for visitors to enjoy while on the lake: diving; fishing; picnics; lake safaris; hiking to waterfalls; observing wildlife and they are even planning on offering microflights when Elise gets her license!

The lodge is set on a lovely stretch of white sand beach which has been in Craig’s family’s hands for 20 years. The lodge has stone floored rondavels covered in thatch with adjoining bathroom. You can also camp in tents (already set up) for half the price of staying in a chalet. There is no electricity except by generator from 6-9:30PM, but you can give batteries and anything else you need charged to Craig or Elise and they will charge it via solar power. There is also no mobile phone network, although this is supposedly set to change. Internet was also down but this is temporary. There is plenty of hot water. Rooms and facilities are very clean.

It’s a friendly place where you can mingle with other guests (very pleasant and interesting) or not as you please.

This is a terrific place where you come as a guest and leave as a friend. I came back with my batteries completely re-charged. This place is a real gem!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank poleinahole1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Blawan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Ndole Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ndole Bay Lodge

Address: Ndole Bay | Lake Tanganyika, Nsumbu National Park, Zambia
Region: Zambia > Northern Province > Nsumbu National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Nsumbu National Park
Price Range: £45 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ndole Bay lodge is located on the shores of Lake Tanganyika on its own private beach.Acommodation ranges from camping, 2 x non ensuite, 8 x ensuite, 2 x double luxury beachfront chalets with private deck and indoor waterfall shower feature and also a 2 bedroom luxury beachfront chalet with adjoining lounge.Activities here are many and there is a lot to do. We offer:Fishing, PADI SCUBA diving, snorkelling tours, scenic boat cruises, walks in Nsumbu NP, watersports such as tubing/wakeboarding/waterskiing, kyaking and just relaxing on the beach.Its great for families, fishermen and honeymoon couples alike. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing