We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Try the House Special Won-Ton Soup!”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Johnstown Peking Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 36 Restaurants in Johnstown
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating
Escanaba
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Try the House Special Won-Ton Soup!”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This soup is a meal in itself with shrimp, pork, veggies etc, along with the wontons, but I can't resist having an eggroll too. Tried their rangoons this year & they were also delish. We usually get take-out as it is a tiny restaurant with limited seating. It has been in the same hands for 20+ years and the owner and staff are always very friendly.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraEscanaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    6
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fonda, New York, Usa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Food in 30 mile radius”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Over the years we have enjoyed the great food and hospitality of this family run Restraunt . The food is super fresh and they are always willing to make it to your liking . The hot and sour soup is to die for ...... I got my whole family hooked on the stuff. If your looking for Chinese this is the place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Howard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, New York
Level Contributor
77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Food”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

As longtime residents of this town, we've enjoyed our share of Peking Inn's good food. The staff is friendly (especially the owner and his First Mate, Go) and are deservedly proud of their offerings.

The menu is typical (Americanized) Chinese, but there is also a small "diet" menu with items that include a simple sauce on the side. I generally choose from that section, or have one of their delicious soups.

We always order as take-out since there are very few tables and they are right in the take-out reception area, so there is no privacy whatsoever for diners.

If you ask for delivery, make sure to check your order before the driver leaves because our order has been missing items on some occasions. They will return with the missing item as quickly as possible, though.

Prices are very reasonable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cedar58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escanaba
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Chinese locally”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We only eat here once a year when we visit my sister, but it is always a great meal. Love the won-ton soup & egg rolls. Lots of selections and they have upgraded the very small dining area compared to a year ago, which was a nice surprise. Family run. There is a new sushi restaurant in nearby Gloversville at the strip mall across the hwy from the MacDonalds, but we didn't have time to try it this yr...

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraEscanaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Johnstown Peking Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Johnstown Peking Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing