We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic place to wind down!”
Review of Rudding Gates

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Follifoot
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rudding Gates
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Wow! What a great find Rudding Gates was. Lisa and the team not only made our stay a relaxing one, but really enjoyable. Going out of their way to ensure that we had everything we needed for a lovely breakaway, we managed to enjoy both Harrogate and York stress free. Set at the top of the little village of Follifoot The Gates are quite imposing, but within are set two lovely apartments each ready to cater for two couples or a family. Beautifully decorated, amazingly clean (looks brand new) and with every mod-con I can imagine, there is no place I would rather recommend as a home away from home.

Thank you Rudding Gates!

Room Tip: Both amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Darren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2011

'The Rudding Gates' is just THE most perfect location for a romantic getaway!
After a warm welcome it was a great pleasure to discover the beautiful appartment with luxury accomodation including a wonderful fireplace, a fully equipped kitchen, a great bathroom and a cozy bedroom.
Our host gave us the perfect tips for the best excursions in the area with the perfect combination between culture (Ripley Castle, Fountains Abbey, York,...), some shopping for the ladies in Harrogate and a romantic evening dinner (just a few miles from Follifoot). We even spent an unforgettable night at the local pub next door!

'The Rudding Gates' is everything you've ever dreamed of and we are already looking forward to our next stay !

A&H

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AurelieandHenri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

These apartments are excellent. The owners have gone to a lot of trouble to anticipate their guests needs. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bezdaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

This has to be the best self catering apartment I have ever stayed in. Very stylish,extremely comfortable and so clean you would think no one had stayed there before you. Three days in Rudding Gate has the soporific effect of a roaring fire on a Sunday afternoon.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gayno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

A magnificently situated venue with a first class hotel and all its attendant facilities on the doorstop, including two excellent restaurants. The charming village of Follifoot right outside the entrance gates providing a shop and two pubs. Moreover, just two miles from Harrogate, a delightful spa town full of restuarants, galleries shops etc.

Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
2  Thank Chapel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

Our second visit to Harrogate inside 7 monthes. We were working at the Spring Flower show on the Rachels yogurt stand. Standards even higher than last time and nothing is too much for this team. Very high standards of cleanliness and equipment.
We hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dexxyAberystwyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2011

As we’d already stayed at Rudding Gates twice (in 6 months) and obviously loved it so much we decided to spend New Year here and it felt as though we had come home! Upon our immediate arrival we again experienced a sense of well being, relaxation and luxury - the perfect tonic following a busy year and Christmas!

The apartment is exceptionally clean, highly maintained, comfortable and has everything you could wish for (and more) and once you have found this unique haven, you will be truly hooked. The owners and staff are very friendly and will go the extra mile to ensure you have a wonderful stay and coupled with the first class accommodation it’s probably fair to say that after a ‘Rudding Gates experience’ any other accommodation would seem basic and not have the same appeal – It’s a credit to Jan, Lisa, June and Richard that Rudding Gates is the jewel in the Yorkshire crown!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suef_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Rudding Gates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rudding Gates

Address: Main Street, Follifoot, Harrogate HG3 1DU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate > Follifoot
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Follifoot
Price Range: £175 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rudding Gates 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Away from the madding crowd, Rudding Gates apartments offer a haven of comfort, privacy and luxurious space in the heart of the beautiful Yorkshire countryside and just three miles from the centre and amenities of Harrogate. Two beautifully appointed listed gatehouse apartments each with two en-suite bedrooms, spacious living accommodation, great kitchens and private gardens. Free Wifi and secure off street parking. Contemporary style and old fashioned service meet in this stunning location. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing