We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic Heaven”
Review of Dartbrook Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dartbrook Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Keene B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Rustic Heaven”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Absolutely gorgeous and welcoming. We stayed here over Labor Day weekend and did not want to leave. The cabin - we stayed at the Bell's House - was beautiful, thoughtfully decorated, clean and equipped with modern amenities, like a sleep number mattress and mini fridge, without compromising the rustic feel. They also provide wonderful locally made natural toiletries. Convenient to hiking trails and nearby restaurants, it was a perfect serene getaway in the mountains. I can't wait to head up there again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tell_The_Bees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
50
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I can't express how wonderful this place was. Unfortunately, we were only there for two nights but enjoyed every minute of our stay. We stayed in the North Center House which was a fantastic little cabin. We had a living area with a gas fireplace, a small but complete kitchen, a bedroom -with a sleep number mattress - and a lovely bathroom. There was a porch on the front of the cabin and a small screened in porch off of the bedroom. The entire cabin was immaculate and well supplied with paper towels, coffee filters etc. The furnishings seemed new as did the entire cabin. The person who greeted us upon our arrival was very helpful and knowledgeable about hiking trails in the area. We are hoping to return next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockport, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our family spent 4 days at the Dartbrook Lodge last week. While there are not many amenities for young children, the location was central and there was a great local park 5 minutes or less walking distance. The place itself was immaculate, they offered cleaning service everyday, and by the time we got home from a day exploring, it was wonderful to have everything spruced up. The bed was extremely comfortable, and I loved having the screened in porch off the bedroom. The shower was great as well. My little ones, who generally prefer baths, loved the shower. The ADK cafe which is adjacent to the property was a perfect place to get a quick bite in the morning and we took advantage of dinner being delivered to us at our cabin. There was a galley kitchen as well which I used when I felt like cooking. The staff was very helpful in making recommendations and made sure you were comfortable. I would recommend the Dartbrook Lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent 2 nights in Keene and had chosen the Dartbrook Lodge from the descriptions we read online. The woodruff cottage was exactly as described. Beautiful wood finishes, comfortable authentic furniture and a luxury feel.
We were at first concerned by being so close to the road, but this was no issue.
Easy access to great hiking and close to Lake Placid for dining.
The ADK diner next door is great for breakfast and baked goods. They also prepare a great box lunch if you are going for a day of hiking.
We would certainly stay again. Great friendly staff!
Enjoy the Adirondaks!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Woodruff Cottage at Dartbrook Lodge after taking our youngest child to college. It was a wonderful place to emotionally unwind and transition to an empty nest. Everything about the place was lovely. Our cabin was charming, clean and comfortable. We loved the artisanal soaps and showering in the beautiful slate shower. It was a bonus to find filters with the coffee pot so we could make coffee we brought from home instead of the coffee packets (also provided). We slept well on the Sleep Number bed after long days of hiking. Guide books for our use were available. Additionally, Jim, a Dartbrook Lodge employee, gave us great help in planning our hikes and even loaned my husband trekking poles. The ADK Cafe packed lunches for one of our hikes and we enjoyed a delicious breakfast and dinner there too. If you love veggies, be sure to try the earth plate. It was amazing! We carelessly left a couple things behind and Beth kindly mailed the items to us. Kind and personal service make Dartbrook Lodge a very special place!

Room Tip: Woodruff Cottage is near the laundry cabin and closer to the road than the other cottages. Although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

It's easy to see why Dartbrook Lodge has received only excellent reviews on TripAdvisor. We stayed for two nights in a one bedroom unit. "Unit" is not the ideal word to describe the very tastefully furnished cottage like accommodation. I say "cottage like" rather than just "cottage" because the unit we stayed in is attached to a larger building that includes two other units. The comfortable Adirondack style furnishings are a highlight as are the two porches, one enclosed and the other covered but open. The open porch overlooks very attractive "fields" of naturalized flowers. The lodge is located on Route 73, a potentially noisy situation that caused us some concern before we arrived. However, the accommodation is located in a way that allows one to feel isolated from the road.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BushPiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed in Woodruff cottage and had a delightful stay. To start with, we loved the covered front porch. Furnished with authentic and truly stunning furniture (we enjoyed a rainy morning
sitting outside reading and talking. You can hear Dartbrook flowing nearby, so relaxing).

We entered our cabin and the wows continued. Beautifully furnished and well-built cabins. Gorgeous bathroom ( so nice to take a luxurious shower after an active day). Sleep-number bed. There was a portable AC unit in the room, normally not necessay in this region, but nice to have in the unusually warm weather. Cozy cast iron fireplace for the rest of the year. Our cabin did not have a kitchen, but others do. It did have a fridge. Each cabin is well described on the website. Cabins are far enough away from each other to feel private.

Impeccably clean. Perfect internet service. As far as mobile phones,Verizon fine, ATT little to no access in this region. There is a phone in the room. Location of this lodge is central to many great hikes and trails. The ADK restaurant is located a few steps away and serves breakfast,lunch and dinner. The Noon Mark Diner is about 5 miles away. Lake Placid is about 15 miles away.
Do not miss Dartbrook Rustic Goods next door to the Lodge. Quality, handmade furniture and smaller items. Inspiring and beautiful! And Martha's Rainwater Soaps next door, her soaps are featured in the rooms.
I can't say enough about how kind and friendly everyone was at Dartbrook. We will certainly stay here again. Can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btwrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene
9.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,248 reviews
8.9 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
5 reviews
9.2 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
9.7 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
9.8 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dartbrook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dartbrook Lodge

Property: Dartbrook Lodge
Address: 2835 Nys Route 73, Keene, NY 12942
Region: United States > New York > Keene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Keene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge in heart of Adirondack High Peaks with private cabins and suites offering rustic comfort of a mountain home. Furnished in the Great Camp tradition by local artisans, the Lodge has a range of well appointed private cottages and suites, with fireplaces, kitchens, Select Comfort beds, premium linens and soaps, slate rain showers, flat screen TV/DVD, in-room phone and other unique features. Lake Placid Olympic attractions and Whiteface Mountain skiing nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Dartbrook Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dartbrook Hotel Keene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing