We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy New Year!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dartbrook Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keene
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dartbrook Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Keene B&B and Inns
NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Happy New Year!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

A fantastic stay at the Dartbrook Lodge! We chose the North Center House. The moment you walk into your suite/room you realize that every little detail/convenience has been thought of - flashlight and umbrella in the foyer, coffee/tea in the kitchen, handmade soaps in the bathroom - I could go on and on! The bed/bedding is so comfy, you may find yourself not wanting to get out in the a.m. - I recommend opening the blinds in the morning and enjoying the beautiful woodsy view from your cozy bed, with coffee! The bathroom towels are thick, pristine white and plentiful - hot water galore. Loved the gas stove, had it on every night - we had below zero temps while visiting and we were always toasty in our room, even the floors were warm!

We had taken a tour of the property/accommodations the previous summer and I can honestly say, every room/suite/cottage is more beautiful than the next. You will be overwhelmed with the quality of the furnishings and the overall attention to detail and cleanliness. Looking forward to Summer 2014 and another stay at the Dartbrook Lodge!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NycAlwaystraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
50
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

My boyfriend and I wanted to get out of the city for a weekend in the fall and chose to stay at the Dartbrook, because the reviews were great and the prices were reasonable. We weren't disappointed. The cabin was rustic, comfortable, and pleasant. The service was accommodating and friendly. The environs were beautiful.

On our first day we hiked the trail to cascade summit, which the Dartbrook front desk/concierge recommended to us. Terrific choice for beautiful views and close proximity to the Lodge. On our second day we needed to leave Keane a bit early due to an unexpected change of circumstance on our end. The Dartbrook was incredibly accommodating, a fact about which were were very grateful.

On sum, we would absolutely stay at the Dartbrook again and recommend it highly to others.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We rented Keen Center House while attending a wedding. The
cabin was part of a three cabin unit. Situated for privacy, it was very quiet. The room was spacious and beautifully decorated in Adirondack style. It was very clean with a comfortable numbermatic bed. The kitchen was fully equipped. Situated about 20 minutes from the entertainment of Lake Placid, it is a nice location with lots of hiking opportunities. Keen is a small hamlet and very quiet at night. If you plan to eat meals out, the ADK Cafe is the only immediate place to dine in or out and was delicious. Dartbrook Lodge is a wonderful place to stay and we hope to do so again. It is also a great value!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liztishone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

i proposed on 1 of the 46 peaks to my fiancee and then spent the weekend with our close friends at the dartbrook house. we rented out the 12-person house and not only was it amazing and clean, the price was very very reasonable for the size, view, and amenities.

i've stayed at fancy resorts on the beach, expensive urban hotels, etc., but this isn't just "best value", it's best regardless of the price.

gas powered fireplace, serene environment, plenty of bathrooms for family members, and that kitchen - my goodness, that kitchen is amazing. 2 sets of almost everything - even fine china.

if i didn't have a thing for not vacationing in the same spot twice, i would definitely return. dartbrook house!

Room Tip: dartbrook house at $600/night as of october for 12 ppl? incredible. book early, they are often sol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank songae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Absolutely gorgeous and welcoming. We stayed here over Labor Day weekend and did not want to leave. The cabin - we stayed at the Bell's House - was beautiful, thoughtfully decorated, clean and equipped with modern amenities, like a sleep number mattress and mini fridge, without compromising the rustic feel. They also provide wonderful locally made natural toiletries. Convenient to hiking trails and nearby restaurants, it was a perfect serene getaway in the mountains. I can't wait to head up there again soon.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tell_The_Bees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westminster, Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

I can't express how wonderful this place was. Unfortunately, we were only there for two nights but enjoyed every minute of our stay. We stayed in the North Center House which was a fantastic little cabin. We had a living area with a gas fireplace, a small but complete kitchen, a bedroom -with a sleep number mattress - and a lovely bathroom. There was a porch on the front of the cabin and a small screened in porch off of the bedroom. The entire cabin was immaculate and well supplied with paper towels, coffee filters etc. The furnishings seemed new as did the entire cabin. The person who greeted us upon our arrival was very helpful and knowledgeable about hiking trails in the area. We are hoping to return next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockport, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Our family spent 4 days at the Dartbrook Lodge last week. While there are not many amenities for young children, the location was central and there was a great local park 5 minutes or less walking distance. The place itself was immaculate, they offered cleaning service everyday, and by the time we got home from a day exploring, it was wonderful to have everything spruced up. The bed was extremely comfortable, and I loved having the screened in porch off the bedroom. The shower was great as well. My little ones, who generally prefer baths, loved the shower. The ADK cafe which is adjacent to the property was a perfect place to get a quick bite in the morning and we took advantage of dinner being delivered to us at our cabin. There was a galley kitchen as well which I used when I felt like cooking. The staff was very helpful in making recommendations and made sure you were comfortable. I would recommend the Dartbrook Lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Selena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene
9.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
9.2 mi away
Courtyard Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
#10 of 30 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
9.4 mi away
Mountain Brook Lodge
Mountain Brook Lodge
#1 of 9 in Wilmington
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
#27 of 30 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
8.0 mi away
The Hungry Trout Resort
The Hungry Trout Resort
#3 of 9 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
3.8 mi away
ADK Trail Inn
ADK Trail Inn
#1 of 1 in Upper Jay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dartbrook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dartbrook Lodge

Property: Dartbrook Lodge
Address: 2835 Nys Route 73, Keene, NY 12942
Region: United States > New York > Keene
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Keene
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lodge in heart of Adirondack High Peaks with private cabins and suites offering rustic comfort of a mountain home. Furnished in the Great Camp tradition by local artisans, the Lodge has a range of well appointed private cottages and suites, with fireplaces, kitchens, Select Comfort beds, premium linens and soaps, slate rain showers, flat screen TV/DVD, in-room phone and other unique features. Lake Placid Olympic attractions and Whiteface Mountain skiing nearby. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dartbrook Hotel Keene

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing