We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly wonderful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Snow Goose Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keene Valley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Snow Goose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Keene Valley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Truly wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Snow Goose for a few winter days. The scenery is beautiful, the rooms comfy, and the gourmet home-cooked breakfasts were delicious and unique and served in a cozy environment.

More importantly, Amy and Wayne are amazing, kind, generous, and caring hosts--the very model of good hospitality and just plain good people. When the weather was stormy, Amy and Wayne made sure to check in on us and went out of their way to make sure everyone had everything they needed and was taken care of.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    160
    27
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
133
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brimfield, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2013

This was the second time I stayed at the Snow Goose. My birthday this year came at a pretty inconvenient time but I was desperate to get away for even one night. I'm so glad I spent it there. The weather was terrible and I didn't have much time but Amy & Wayne were so welcoming. They even had a card and small birthday gift waiting for me when I arrived. They are excellent hosts and tremendously nice people.

Room Tip: The room on the first floor has a small kitchenette and access to the porch in warm weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sierra9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Saratoga
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

Amy and Wayne are the prefect hosts. Our rooms were comfortable and the breakfast terrific. I'm a picky eater and I was totally satisfied. From home baked muffins to fresh omelets, Wayne didn't miss a detail. Eating by the fireplace was certainly a plus!

They are both so knowledgeable about the outdoor activities in the area. Amy recommended we rent our snoe shoes from the Mountaineer in town and snow shoe at the Brewster Peninsula. Both great ideas!!
http://www.tripadvisor.com/Attraction_Review-g48023-d1513795-Reviews-Brewster_Peninsula_Nature_Trails-Lake_Placid_New_York.html


A+!!! We will be back. Thanks, Amy and Wayne!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardners, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

My husband and I desparately needed a weekend away after a summer of biking and camping trips. It was nice to get away with nothing but our hiking boots and poles. Amy and Wayne were the best host and hostess of any B&B we have ever stayed in. Amy was very interested in what we intended to do and how early we were getting up for breakfast and they were very accommodating if we wanted a different time. She also asked if we had any food allergies or food that we didn't eat. We try to avoid wheat and they were able to make us delicious breakfasts without wheat! Our room with the kitchenette was perfect because we really wanted to be able to prepare other meals in our room if we didn't want to go out to eat. The Inn is very close to several trailheads and you can even hike into the network right from the backyard! We enjoyed ourselves and their company so much we were sad to leave! We will be going back when we get more time, perhaps in the spring!

Room Tip: Legacies has a kitchenette which was perfect for us because we don't like to go out all the time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our three nights at the Snow Goose B&B. Our room (Harmonies) was spacious, quiet and charming. It would be nice to replace one of the desk chairs with a comfy upholstered chair more conducive to reading although you can make yourself at home in the living room or TV room. In order to not wake my husband, I took advantage of using the table & chair on the upstairs landing each morning for my quick internet updates. I heartily recommend being here for at least one weekend breakfast -- great presentation and oh so delicious. Amy & Wayne are great hosts, providing helpful recommendations on restaurants, trails and local information; Amy even drove us to the Rooster Comb trailhead so we were able to hike back to the inn. (There are lots of trails nearby.)

We are looking forward to returning soon. Next time we'll probably request the Passages room with the larger bed. We would love to be able to take advantage of the beautiful porch -- it was a bit too cool for that in November.

FYI, the only toiletry in the room was soap. I hadn't brought shampoo, but Amy provided a bottle for our use as soon as I asked.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeraGrady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at Snow Goose for nine nights while we visited the High Peaks area for the autumn colour (or leaf peeping as it is sometimes called!) Amy and Wayne are wonderful hosts, both friendly and great fun. The breakfasts were excellent and we had great conversations with our fellow guests and with Wayne and Amy. The room was spacious, warm and comfortable. The High Peaks area is beautiful, especially in autumn, and the tree colour was spectacular. The hiking is great and although the wildlife is elusive - we saw a beaver in broad daylight towing a very large tree trunk! We had really good food while we were there. The ADK cafe in Keene became our second home - thoroughly recommend that for great food and coffee.

Room Tip: If you are staying for more than a few nights - pick 'Legacies' which has a cooker and a fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings on Hudson, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2012

My wife and I stayed here for three nights. I agree with everything in the very positive reviews. Amy and Wayne are lovely down-to-earth people who give detailed tips on what hikes to take, where to eat for supper, what places to see. The Snow Goose is clean and pretty. Two things I would stress: first, this lodging is an affordable bargain for what you get. Second, the Keene Valley/Keene area is an extraordinary mountain locale. When you're here, make sure to take the drive from Elizabethtown West on 9N to Route 73. It's not far from the Snow Goose, and it has to be one of the most scenic 10 to 15 minute stretches of road in the country. Also, Baxter is a perfect 2.2 mile hike to wonderful views. Amy will tell you how to get there. (It's on that same stretch of road!)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene Valley
13.0 mi away
Golden Arrow Lakeside Resort
13.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 30 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
12.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Courtyard Lake Placid
Courtyard Lake Placid
#10 of 30 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
13.7 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
9.9 mi away
ADK Trail Inn
ADK Trail Inn
#1 of 1 in Upper Jay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Goose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Goose Bed and Breakfast

Property: Snow Goose Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1433 NYS Route 73, Keene Valley, NY 12943
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Keene Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Keene Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing