We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Snow Goose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Keene Valley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 October 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for 4 nights last September. Our time spent at the Snow Goose was excellent on all counts. Wayne and Amy were most attentative and accommodating. Nothing but good things to say.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barneymcgillicuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

98 - 104 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2013

This place was perfect! We were treated like family and Amy and Wayne's food was amazing! Perfect place to celebrate our engagement!!

We stayed here during a long weekend of hiking in the high peaks. It was comfortable and cozy. Amy and Wayne were great!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Harmony room. It was peaceful, clean, and had a fireplace. We loved it and will def...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brigid K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We start our getaway on Thursday the 17th, of course I had been monitoring the weather days in advance. The forecast varied with between 30 and 80 percent chance of showers for pretty much our entire stay. Well it never rained till after sunset, we couldn't believe our luck.
Arriving at three Thursday afternoon after six hour drive we were greeted by an energetic Amy who got us settled in. Our room was right off the living room which was very convenient and had a private entrance. The room itself was cozy and comfortable and tastefully decorated with an artificial fire place which we used several times. The room was equipped with a refrigerator and stove which we also made use of as well as the coffee maker. The rooms at the Snow Goose Inn do not have TV's which added to really getting away from it all, I didn't have to contend with someone else's sound level and we got to read our books.
One of the main attractions of a B&B is an upscale breakfast experience and we weren't disappointed.I could go on and on about the local fresh food, I would rate it 10 out 10.
Our host Amy and Wayne were delightful and entertaining to speak with, sharing volumes of local information about the home and the area. They took the time to speak with you and not just answer your questions. They assessed or desired activity level and directed us to things we might enjoy and it worked out well, we would highly recommend the Snow Goose Inn.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squidder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband and I just returned from a two night stay at this wonderful B & B in Keene NY. We stayed Friday night and Saturday night, and thus had breakfast on Saturday and Sunday AM, which were, quite frankly, the best breakfasts I've ever had. The inn is beautiful, very tastefully decorated, and the room we stayed in had a HUGE bed that was quite comfortable. We hiked Cascade Mountain and explored some of the shops in Keene, but the inn was so cozy that we enjoyed relaxing there in the evening with a glass of wine and a good book. It was quite romantic, very comfortable, and we really enjoyed talking with our hosts and the other guests at the inn. Our visit took place in late October, so the Fall foliage was still quite pretty, but I imagine the inn is just as beautiful in the winter as well. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Amy and Wayne were amazing hosts. Breakfast was better than advertised: we stayed from Sunday night to early the next Saturday morning, missing the "gourmet" weekend breakfasts. From the weekday breakfasts that always included a delicious hot dish, we would not have known we were missing anything. Add that to their extensive knowledge of local hiking, and willingness to help with research on other activities (we went kayaking), we had a lovely week in the Adirondacks and look forward to our return to Snow Goose.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jrothmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed two nights at the Snow Goose B & B in the Legacies room. We highly recommend that room, it was so private and had its own entrance. Also, it had a refrigerator, stove, coffee pot, microwave, and a small dining table. Amy had it very clean and warmly decorated. Felt just like our second home because of the great atmosphere. Wayne and Amy were also very helpful with great restaurants and wonderful places to hike. There were several hikes and a swimming hole you could walk to right from your room. The variety of wonderful food for breakfast was delicious. Hope we get to return again to stay at the Snow Goose B & B. We would not change a thing!

Room Tip: The Legacies room which we stayed in was on the bottom floor and a little off to itself which made i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phylis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We only stayed one night at the Snow Goose B & B passing through on our way home. Hosts were very friendly. We stayed in the Harmonies room. We were expecting a queen size bed and this only was a double bed, although it was comfortable enough and it was very squeaky when you moved around or got in and out of bed. As an added note we were disappointed to not have a full breakfast in the morning this is only available on weekends and we stayed during the week but there is a continental breakfast available with your typical fruit, yoghurt, cold cereal. Wayne had made a sausage/egg scramble, kind of help yourself to it on the side board. There is a communal area for watching TV but no TV available in this room, not sure on the others. Coffee available in the room, as well as a small frig if you need to keep anything cold but it is not stocked with any beverages. Bathroom had nice linens, not the usual you find on other places but also had a slight urine smell, this could be because of the wood floor. We have stayed in numerous b & b's throughout our travels and I would rate this as average.

Room Tip: Harmonies room has a squeaky bed, not pleasant if you are a restless sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank upwardbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
snowgoosebnb, Owner at Snow Goose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

It is our sincere desire that every guests' experience at the Snow Goose B&B meets or exceeds their expectations! With that in mind, our website offers clear descriptions of each room (including bed size) and examples of our breakfast offerings (weekday vs weekend). During emails and phone calls, we attempt to answer all questions and to provide honest information so that no one will be surprised or disappointed. We aren't sure how this guest arrived expecting a queen bed or a different weekday breakfast, but we sincerely apologize for any confusion.

To address the other concerns ...

Our B&B is designed to be a sanctuary. A TV room is available for guest use, but we have chosen not to place TV's in guestrooms. Because our rooms are near each other, this is one way that we ensure the serenity that our guests value as they rest after a long hike or in preparation for one the next day! Many guests appreciate being "unplugged" from their usual routine.

We are investigating the squeak! The bed frame is solid and makes no sound at all and the mattress is less than 5 years old, so we aren't sure what caused the noise. It seems to just be the sound of the springs compressing in the mattress/box spring. We have contacted the manufacturer to see if anything can be done. Up to this point, we've received rave reviews about the comfort of this bed with some guests actually requesting it because they sleep so well on it. We are genuinely sorry that this sound made sleeping difficult for you.

Regarding the bathroom ... we can assure you that the toilet and floors were very clean. The wood flooring around the toilet was replaced within the last 5 years and is well sealed. The rest of the bathroom does feature original 150 year old wood that has been recently refinished and sealed. Your visit was during a warm and humid period here in the Adirondacks. Our well water is quite cold and the temperature contrast causes occasional condensation on the toilet tank. This moisture drips on the floor and may result in a faint damp wood smell. We do our best to keep things dry but some days it's a challenge! If it was a rainy or very humid day, you may have also been smelling the damp forest smell that comes in through the windows as our B&B is surrounded by trees. It's part of the Adirondack experience that sometimes surprises guests.

We do appreciate your bringing each of these concerns to our attention. We will continue to do all we can to create a pleasant, peaceful setting for our guests to enjoy. If you're ever in the area again, we hope that you will allow us the privilege of serving you and hopefully meeting or exceeding your expectations.

Wayne and Amy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene Valley
12.4 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#15 of 32 in Lake Placid
28 reviews
13.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,355 reviews
1.6 mi away
RoosterComb Inn
RoosterComb Inn
#3 of 4 in Keene Valley
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
7.4 mi away
Bark Eater Inn
Bark Eater Inn
#1 of 2 in Keene
38 reviews
9.9 mi away
ADK Trail Inn
ADK Trail Inn
#1 of 1 in Upper Jay
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Goose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Goose Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1433 Nys Route 73, Keene Valley, NY 12943-1803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Keene Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Keene Valley
Price Range: £77 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Snow Goose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing