We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend at the Snow Goose”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keene Valley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Snow Goose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Keene Valley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montpelier, Vermont
1 review
“Lovely weekend at the Snow Goose”
Reviewed 13 February 2011

My boyfriend and I were planning a couple nights away and decided on Lake Placid. I came across the Snow Goose in my search for a place to stay and it was the best part of our weekend. It's about 20 miles from LP and very reasonably priced. Wayne and Amy are welcoming and provided plentiful tips of places for us to check out. The breakfast is delicious and the coffee plentiful. Room was clean and the bed cozy. A snow storm came through on our second night dumping 8 inches of snow...and they even cleaned off our car. If I head back to the Adirondacks, I will definitely return to the Snow Goose.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmsteiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    161
    27
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
133
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2011

I stayed at Snow Goose last weekend and had a very nice stay. Its the quintessential b&b, with warm hospitality, a cozy clean room, and a smashing breakfast. The location is ideal for hikes etc, with easy access to Lake Placid (c.25 min away), Whiteface etc. Will definitely go back.

Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Boelcke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed 5 January 2011

If you want to unwind and take in the beautiful mountainscape - Snow Goose is a wonderfully authentic depiction of what B7B's should be. Great breakfasts - well done Wayne! Amazing the wonderful people you meet at a B&B.....great conversation around the breakfast table.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SNLipsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Center Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2011

Owners were extremely nice.
Good breakfasts.
Very clean rooms.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grecojj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
Reviewed 12 December 2010

We stayed at the Snow Goose Bed and Breakfast after a hectic week in New York City. The lovely old house is set in beautiful surroundings in the high country, backing onto walking trails. There are trails in the area for all levels of fitness and the hosts are well informed and happy to recommend suitable ones. The house was closer to the road than we expected but it was shielded by trees and it was quiet in our room. We travelled with a teenager, who after a week of relentless sightseeing, was happy to lie around and use the wifi to catch up with friends on our ipad. Every morning we had a delicious breakfast but on weekends they were especially wonderful, with several courses of great fresh home cooked food. We stayed in the Harmonies room on the second floor which had lovely views of the woods behind the house. Our room was smaller than the Passages room but even with the trundle bed had adequate space. There is a small fridge which is useful, a fireplace and a private bathroom. I completely agree with the other comments on this site: Amy and Wayne are warm and wonderful hosts. We had plenty of privacy but they were always available when we needed anything. We felt very welcomed and it was great to connect with such lovely friendly people during an extended holiday in the US, mostly staying in hotels where you don't really have any real connection with the ever changing desk staff. I've been recommending the Snow Goose as a great B & B in a lovely location (especially in the Fall when we were there!) ever since our stay.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelfetish87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2010

Wayne and Amy were fabulous and their B7B was just perfect for a stay in this fabulous region. Beds were wonderful after a complete day hickes and the breakfast was fantastic! Thank you for interesting discussions and sharing your passion for the trails.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phanie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Freetown, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 November 2010

We visited here so we could hike the adirondacks. The location was ideal. The snow goose was just perfect. We were the only guests and had free roam. They were extremely gracious and had our breakfast ready at 6am so we could be out and hit the trails. They had a wonderful assortment of organic foods and fruits. The bedding was comfortable and the firepalces add a nice touch. I would highly recommend the Snow Goose.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myra_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene Valley
12.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
13.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
19.5 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.7 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
9.9 mi away
ADK Trail Inn
ADK Trail Inn
#1 of 1 in Upper Jay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
1.6 mi away
RoosterComb Inn
RoosterComb Inn
#3 of 4 in Keene Valley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Goose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Goose Bed and Breakfast

Property: Snow Goose Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1433 Nys Route 73, Keene Valley, NY 12943-1803
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Keene Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Keene Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing