We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It's the best little Inn!”
Review of RoosterComb Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
RoosterComb Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Keene Valley B&B and Inns
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“It's the best little Inn!”
Reviewed 14 November 2012

If you are looking for an affordable room with a comfortable bed, clean rooms, and don't need a cooked for you breakfast than this is the place to stay. We have been here twice and love it. The beds are very comfortable and sharing two bathrooms with four rooms is no big deal. The price for the area is excellent. The inn keeper is exceptionally pleasant and his rustic furniture in the gallery downstairs is fantastic. He is a true furniture artist. The campfires at night are fantastic. We have stayed at most of the Inns and bed and breakfasts in town and we love this place the best. It is conveniently located for everything and the clean kitchen is reall nice too.

Room Tip: Love Wolf jaw and the suite with its own bathroom is extremely affordable and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
28
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Luis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights last month and it was a great little get away vacation. The room was comfortable and it was great to be able to prepare our own meals in the shared kitchen. We hit it off with the other couple that was staying there at the time and especially enjoyed a bonfire on the last night.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatureloverSanLuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Enchanting haven in magical Keene Valley. The hiker's dream furnished with all of the imagination's fantasies after a day in the forests and on the peaks. 

Prosaically, the inn is comfortable and clean.  Common areas are sufficiently roomy with a  kitchen well fit for cooking and to accommodate multiple guests with multiple goals. Best of all on a chilly evening, there is a sitting room with a warming fire.  All in all an  atmosphere that promises a good rest  after a long day with a momentary sense of a  community with shared interests and sufficient privacy as wanted or needed.

Any doubts about a shared bathroom should be dispelled. Facilities are very clean and guests and the set up encourage mutual sensitivity and courtesy. 

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieAdele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed there in the summer and it was an excellent home base for hiking. We brought our 80lb black lab and everyone was very accommodating and friendly. The place is literally minutes from the trailhead and the beds were comfortable after a long day's hike.

The kitchen is well stocked with everything you'll need to cook for yourself and makes it easy to catch a quick breakfast before heading out on the trail. We had a room with shared bathrooms, but never had any issues with crowding or waiting.

Basically, to sum it up: this place is excellent value if you're someone who wants a comfortable place to sleep and are in the adirondacks to explore. If you're there to be pampered, well, you'd probably be happier some place else. For the adventurer though, you'd be hard pressed to find a place that's more comfortable, more dog friendly and closer to places to explore.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveTtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

we enjoyed this inn. no frills but lovely large room with own shower spotlessly clean. Shared kitchen had everything you needed. loved meeting Steves two bassett hounds. The housekeeper we met was friendly and helpful and seemed guinuely delighted we enjoyed our stay. Lovely home made furniture everywhere. Made a nice change not to have any TV . the area was very pretty and the trees were just starting to change. would recommend

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triploverSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

There are several more expensive options in the Keene-to-Lake Placid stretch, but the RoosterComb is inexpensive, clean, comfortable, and conveniently located right in the middle of Keene Valley. While it is not a B&B, there is a nice-sized kitchen that can be shared by the guests. The rooms are decorated with ADK furniture, most of which is made on the premises. My room was one of the smaller ones (Snow Mount), but still completely comfortable for 1 person, including a comfortable firm mattress and comfortable bed linens. ANd, bonus, there is even wi-fi! All-around, it's a great value.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug46er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Great rustic Inn with amazing collection of hand-made furniture on premises. The Roostercomb room has a private bath. Other rooms share two bathrooms. Shared bathroom with shower is big and clean. Other shared bathroom with toilet only. Suggest the Wolfjaw room ($75 with shared bath). The floors are a bit creaky if someone gets up at night to use the bathroom, but otherwise a good night's sleep. Steve gets an awesome campfire going at night and it's a relaxing way to spend part of your evening. You can also hang out downstairs next to the wood stove and sit in some of the most amazing hand-made chairs you'll ever see. The kitchen has everything and is conveniently positioned with a walk-out deck/patio and nice views. Make some coffee and/or breakfast there or mosie across the street to the Noonmark diner. We'll be back next time we come to the Adirondacks.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene Valley
11.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
11.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
10.8 mi away
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
#28 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
8.3 mi away
ADK Trail Inn
ADK Trail Inn
#1 of 1 in Upper Jay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
12.1 mi away
High Peaks Resort
High Peaks Resort
#4 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RoosterComb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RoosterComb Inn

Property: RoosterComb Inn
Address: 3 Market St., Keene Valley, NY 12943
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Keene Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Keene Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — RoosterComb Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RoosterComb Inn is new to Keene Valley, NY but has a lot to offer. Our spacious six room bedroom Inn can accommodate any large hiking group or family. Full kitchen and a washer and dryer are available to all guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your RoosterComb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing