We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful mountain lodging”
Review of RoosterComb Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
RoosterComb Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Keene Valley B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 March 2013

The Roostercomb was a great base for hiking and exploring the Adirondacks. With the rooms upstairs, the Rustics store downstairs (including a wonderful, cozy room where guests could sit around the wood-burning stove in beautiful handmade furniture), and the woodshop in the back, it's a great setup. Keene Valley is a small, simple mountain town and Roostercomb is just off the main road (which is not a big or busy road), across from a tasty down-home restaurant.

Everything was clean and well-maintained, including the shared kitchen and laundry and back deck. We stayed in the Suite, the only room with its own bathroom. It's an amazing deal!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrinningOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2013

This place is incredible! Always want to stay here but it is usually booked--the secret got out!!! The price for what you get is the best in the entire area. The rooms are clean and comfy, the bathroom is extremely clean and the kitchen is fully stocked. You feel like you are staying at your own home. We once took our dog and it was just wonderful. The inn keeper starts a fire in the fire pit on spring/summer/fall nights and it is just wonderful to sit by the fire in the evening. Great value, fantastic location, extremely friendly, clean as a pin--I think you get the point.

Room Tip: Book early, there are only a few rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

If you are looking for an affordable room with a comfortable bed, clean rooms, and don't need a cooked for you breakfast than this is the place to stay. We have been here twice and love it. The beds are very comfortable and sharing two bathrooms with four rooms is no big deal. The price for the area is excellent. The inn keeper is exceptionally pleasant and his rustic furniture in the gallery downstairs is fantastic. He is a true furniture artist. The campfires at night are fantastic. We have stayed at most of the Inns and bed and breakfasts in town and we love this place the best. It is conveniently located for everything and the clean kitchen is reall nice too.

Room Tip: Love Wolf jaw and the suite with its own bathroom is extremely affordable and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights last month and it was a great little get away vacation. The room was comfortable and it was great to be able to prepare our own meals in the shared kitchen. We hit it off with the other couple that was staying there at the time and especially enjoyed a bonfire on the last night.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatureloverSanLuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Enchanting haven in magical Keene Valley. The hiker's dream furnished with all of the imagination's fantasies after a day in the forests and on the peaks. 

Prosaically, the inn is comfortable and clean.  Common areas are sufficiently roomy with a  kitchen well fit for cooking and to accommodate multiple guests with multiple goals. Best of all on a chilly evening, there is a sitting room with a warming fire.  All in all an  atmosphere that promises a good rest  after a long day with a momentary sense of a  community with shared interests and sufficient privacy as wanted or needed.

Any doubts about a shared bathroom should be dispelled. Facilities are very clean and guests and the set up encourage mutual sensitivity and courtesy. 

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaurieAdele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We stayed there in the summer and it was an excellent home base for hiking. We brought our 80lb black lab and everyone was very accommodating and friendly. The place is literally minutes from the trailhead and the beds were comfortable after a long day's hike.

The kitchen is well stocked with everything you'll need to cook for yourself and makes it easy to catch a quick breakfast before heading out on the trail. We had a room with shared bathrooms, but never had any issues with crowding or waiting.

Basically, to sum it up: this place is excellent value if you're someone who wants a comfortable place to sleep and are in the adirondacks to explore. If you're there to be pampered, well, you'd probably be happier some place else. For the adventurer though, you'd be hard pressed to find a place that's more comfortable, more dog friendly and closer to places to explore.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteveTtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

we enjoyed this inn. no frills but lovely large room with own shower spotlessly clean. Shared kitchen had everything you needed. loved meeting Steves two bassett hounds. The housekeeper we met was friendly and helpful and seemed guinuely delighted we enjoyed our stay. Lovely home made furniture everywhere. Made a nice change not to have any TV . the area was very pretty and the trees were just starting to change. would recommend

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank triploverSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene Valley
11.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,355 reviews
11.1 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#15 of 32 in Lake Placid
28 reviews
1.6 mi away
Snow Goose Bed and Breakfast
Snow Goose Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Keene Valley
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
ADK Trail Inn
ADK Trail Inn
#1 of 1 in Upper Jay
141 reviews
Show Prices

Been to RoosterComb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RoosterComb Inn

Address: 3 Market St, Keene Valley, NY 12943-0678
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Keene Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Keene Valley
Price Range: £62 - £63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — RoosterComb Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RoosterComb Inn is located in Keene Valley,NY walking distance or short drive to many trails. Our Adirondack style six room bedroom Inn can accommodate any large hiking group or family. Full kitchen and a washer and dryer are available to all guests. Large deck area and fire pit offer summer hangout. In winter we have cozy room with wood stove to rest after your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your RoosterComb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing