We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Annual Visit to JBL”
Review of Johns Brook Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keene Valley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Johns Brook Lodge
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ottawa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Third Annual Visit to JBL”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Spent a third weekend in as many years at JBL, getting a couple more High Peaks under our belts. The Lodge was great as always, with generous & helpful staff and a new cast of fellow hikers to liven up the evenings! Thanks again!

Room Tip: The 4-bunk room offers a bit more privacy if you're traveling as a small group.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern NY
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Perfect location; laid back and helpful, friendly staff. Stayed in the 4 person bunk room with family. Appreciated the free coffee and lemonade. Appreciated the decks of cards and board games.
Very respectful community atmosphere. Was there pre-season, so prepared our own food...shared kitchen cooking and clean-up time with other guests. It all functions quite smoothly and efficiently. Needed to bring garbage bag to take trash home with us. The mattresses are plastic and without linens, though they do have warm wool blankets. We had sleeping bags, but could have just brought sheets to cut down on bulk.

Room Tip: Don't forget a flashlight or headlight for night time trips to the bathroom, as you'll need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mackie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan W, Manager at Johns Brook Lodge, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Mackie,

Thanks for the positive review. It sounds like you had a good time which is great. I hope we will see you again.

Cheers,
Brendan Wiltse
Johns Brook Property Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

JBL was a great place to stay! It was clean, neat and dry. The food was delicious and the staff were helpful and friendly. This was my first time hiking so I wasn't sure I could handle camping out. This was the perfect solution for those who want to be in the heart of the High Peak region without dealing with setting/packing up, cooking, rain or cold. My only "compliant" would be the bathrooms were located at the back of the bunk rooms, and, although I know this can't be changed, it was awkward to have to "disturb" people in the night to go through their sleeping quarters to use the toilet. One other suggestion would be to have fresh fruit to either buy or as part of the lunches or a bowl to grab a piece for taking on the trail. I would recommend this place to others!

Room Tip: Four person rooms were cooler as there is a large window you can open. Also, you won't have anyo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan W, Manager at Johns Brook Lodge, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Hi Tracy,

Thanks for your review. We will keep your comment about the traffic flow to the bathrooms in mind as we make decisions on future renovations. I really wish we could offer fresh fruit to our guests but it is not feasible to have the crew pack in that much extra food. One apple per guest would add up to nearly 1,000 lbs by the end of the season! I hope we will see you again.

Happy trails,
Brendan Wiltse
Johns Brook Property Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights when we wanted to hike some of the more distant High Peaks. It's a great 3.5 mile hike in - gets your legs warmed up for what's coming! The staff were all knowledgable and helpful. The food was filling and tasty, however if you are on a special diet (i.e. gluten-free) bring a few food items in with you, as occasionally they weren't sure what contained gluten or not. They do make an effort, however, to have alternate options available if you are on a special diet.

The bunk beds were comfortable (especially after a long day of hiking) and it's great to share stories and tips with other hikers. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anya_at_large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan W, Manager at Johns Brook Lodge, responded to this review, 17 August 2013
Hi Anya,

Thanks for the feedback. We are always looking to improve our ability to accommodate dietary restrictions. Based on yours and others feedback we are developing a list of products and ingredients that contain gluten. I hope we see you back again soon.

Cheers,
Brendan Wiltse
Johns Brook Property Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2013

This last summer I organized a trip with nearly twenty participants for a weekend-long stay at JBL. What I can tell you is that the lodge was greatly appreciated by every member of the group. The food, while nothing too fancy, was delicious and very satisfying after/before/during a long day of hiking.
The bunks are what they sound like (bunks in a dorm room), but they were a nice change from sleeping on the ground. If you want to hike in and explore the interior of the High Peaks without having to haul in a tent/cooking equipment/food JBL is the place for you.
The lodge also has a small 'store' that sells small things a camper may need as well as some tasty snacks. There is also a potable fresh water tap available to hikers. A bonus in case you decide to rent one of the nearby lean-to's from the club who owns the lodge.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan W, Manager at Johns Brook Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Hi Will,

Thanks for your sharing your experience on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear you had a great experience and we hope you will bring another group to JBL soon.

All the best,
Brendan Wiltse
Johns Brook Property Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

This rustic lodge is located in the heart of the High Peaks. If youa re doing any hiking in the area, or any of the nearby High Peaks, this is the perfect place to stay, as long as you are prepared for the bunk rooms and family style dining. The food is excellent, the company found there is a pleasure, and at the end of a long day, the porch is the perfect place to sit with a cold drink and listen to others' experiences.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan W, Manager at Johns Brook Lodge, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Hi John,

Thanks for your feedback. We hope to see you back at JBL this year.

All the best,
Brendan Wiltse
Johns Brook Property Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene Valley
11.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,288 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
212 reviews
10.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
0.8 mi away
RoosterComb Inn
RoosterComb Inn
#3 of 4 in Keene Valley
55 reviews
11.9 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Johns Brook Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Johns Brook Lodge

Property: Johns Brook Lodge
Address: Interbrook Road, 3.5 Miles From Garden Parking Lot, Keene Valley, NY 12943
Region: United States > New York > Keene Valley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Keene Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Adirondack High Peaks, Johns Brook Lodge (JBL) is the only backcountry lodge in the Adirondacks. JBL is accessible by a 3.5 mile foot trail from the Garden parking area in Keene Valley, NY. JBL sleeps 28, serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and is open from May through October. Proceeds from JBL help support the Adirondack Mountain Club's mission of protecting and promoting responsible recreation on New York State wild lands and waters. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing