We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”
Review of Trail's End Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keene Valley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Trail's End Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Keene Valley B&B and Inns
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Welcoming and comfortable. It was a joy to stay over for a weekend winter night. I can't wait to return this summer.

The bed was great, and even though there were about 5 other couples staying over, it was entirely silent all night. A perfect stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    16
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Herriman, UT
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Trail's End is appropriately named, considering its strategic location at the trail heads of several popular routes into the High Peaks of the Adirondacks. These trails are excellent for hiking in the warm months and snowshoeing or ski touring in winter. So if outdoor recreation is your purpose, this is definitely a bed-and-breakfast to consider seriously for your vacation.

It is an older building with a long history of accommodating guests who are outdoors-oriented and who respect each others' need for quiet and serenity in a natural setting. Kids are welcome, so long as they are equally respectful of others and well behaved.

The rooms, on the second floor, are old yet comfortable. If you happen to be in a room lacking an easy-to-use shower, there is a shared walk-in shower in the guests' kitchen/pantry area on the first floor. There are historic touches, too—your room may have a claw-foot tub or a vintage toilet with an ornate logo from a company that thrived in the 1920s. The guests appear to be honest, but it is important to know that guest rooms do not have locks on the doors, nor are they air conditioned, and do not typically have phones or TVs. The Inn also rents out three cottages with TVs (not evaluated).

A delicious breakfast is served 7:30-9:00 am daily. The choice of hot dishes is limited, but most guests devour the main course, and continental-breakfast fare is available as well.

The lodge has a large collection of outdoor guides for guest use and for sale—including perhaps the largest selection of Adirondack trail guides I have ever seen. (This is from a former frequent visitor to the 'Dacks).

If you enjoy country inns and nature, chances are you will have a pleasant, memorable, and reasonably priced stay.

Room Tip: All the rooms are a bit different, so be sure you understand all the features of the room suggested...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill_K_Utah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed one night (Friday). My vehicle broke down the night of arrival. Sue and Dave offered assistance with their own tools and helped find a reliable mechanic to tow the vehicle. The actual place was very clean, neat and cozy. Plenty of relaxation at this place, no loud music or screaming kids. Its very private and even the other guests offered their assistance with my vehicles issue.

The wife and I will be back for this great spot!

Room Tip: Catamount was the room we stayed in. You have your own fireplace and can use a duralog for a relaxi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marshall, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I have stayed at Trail's End Inn three times over the last 10 years, and I will gladly return in the near future. As you drive up, the Inn and setting is postcard perfect with manicured lawn flowers and towering evergreens. The location has been commented about extensively in other reviews. However, in addition to its proximity to some great hiking trails, what stands out to me is the variety of activities immediately near the Inn. Walking the lovely quiet road which is seemingly unused except for Inn guests, the nearby school has tennis courts, and the grounds of the Inn are a great place to unwind and enjoy the scenic tranquility. The rooms and baths are immaculately clean and comfortable sizes with rustic/nostalgic decor without feeling outdated or worn out. The motion sensor lighting is a great touch. Sharing a hall bath was never a problem even with a full Inn. The sleeping porches are awesome with screens and roll-down shades (and a fan which diminished any outside noises). We did not meet the Inn Keepers on any of our visits, and I like the process; everything is waiting for you with specific, easy-to-follow directions to the rooms. I found it to be more like a good friend has let you use their Adirondack getaway and everything is prepared for you. A lovely way to see the Keene Valley area!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

This B & B is the best I ever stayed in. Lots of home comforts, great location and a good base from which to explore the high peaks region of the Adirondacks. A true home from home. The service was friendly but not intrusive, the breakfasts we unforgettable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I've stayed here 3 times already during this year. One of these was dropping off my parents for a week long stay - they do not drive, so the location of the B&B was perfect. There are plenty of intermediate hiking trails within walking distance of the B&B (Rooster Comb, Snow, Hopkins, John Brook Lodge), and a 5-15minute walk to Keene Valley. B&B provides the breakfast (delicious), and optional trail lunches (we didn't try these but if they're anything like the breakfast, they'd be a treat on the trail); dinner is a 5 min walk away at Noonmark diner, and a 15min walk brings you to the market/deli in Keene Valley. There's also a bus from NYC that brings you 5min away from the lodge.

I mainly like the place for the location - quiet, and close to hiking, with trails not being as crowded as the ones by ADK Loj. The front porch is equipped with rocking chairs for reading and relaxing, and the suites (where we've stayed) have small fridge/microwave, and a hot tub.

No negative comments. I would definitely stay there again next time I'm in the area, if not camping or staying at the hostel.

Room Tip: I would recommend the suites - hot tub, living room area, fridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yuychat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We did not stay at the Bed and Breakfast, so this review is not directly relevant to that experience other than the B&B owners do rent this option. We stayed several days in their Blueberry Cottage, mainly for convenience. This is not our first stay ever, having stayed here back in 2000, so in some sense, we were not surprised. But I do think that visitors unfamiliar with Keene and accommodations ought to hear what they are in for.

Cottages, by their very nature are not first class hotel accommodations. There is no A/C, for example. You are in the "wild", and with windows, screens, and fans, some toleration of the heat is expected... and on an 80-plus degree day... well, unless it is raining, what are you doing inside, anyway?

The Blueberry Cottage is a modest, and I'd say decidedly "average" cottage. It is nicely located on a comparatively quiet road along the river (NOT for swimming, by the way) a short walk from the village of Keene, nestled under some pine. It shares parking with a neighboring cottage, which requires either coordination of vehicles, or the ability to back down a narrow gravel pull-through driveway that rises up and down to the cottages. There are two smallish bedrooms on the ground floor, one with a queen bed, the other with two singles, along with a laundry room and small bathroom with a whirlpool tub. Though functional, the whirlpool is not all that, but still nice enough for a relaxing soak -- just don't expect a powerful massage experience. Upstairs is a large "great room" with a kitchen space, living space, a second bathroom and shower, and a pull-out couch for a fifth guest. Pretty basic. Nothing fancy. A very narrow spiral staircase connects the two levels. You can enter either level from the outside.

The place was left clean for us, and the appliances all were in working order. As this type of accommodation goes, I think "average" is a fitting description -- nothing to stand out, good or bad.

And you are in luck, in one respect. The construction next door (rebuilding a cabin) is now complete, and you will NOT have to contend with the noise, the trucks, and the "ambiance" of rural construction. That is a plus.

Plenty of local walks and biking -- and very close to the High Peaks area and its many trails. If you like to swim, I recommend Chapel Pond for consideration. Just remember, this is wilderness, and all activities need to be undertaken with a knowledge of the risks and the age-appropriateness of your activities.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene Valley
10.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
#28 of 31 in Lake Placid
173 reviews
11.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,248 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
200 reviews
0.3 mi away
RoosterComb Inn
RoosterComb Inn
#3 of 4 in Keene Valley
54 reviews
12.4 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trail's End Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trail's End Inn

Property: Trail's End Inn
Address: 62 Trail's End Way, Keene Valley, NY 12943
Region: United States > New York > Keene Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Keene Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in secluded meadows in Keene Valley, the heart of the High Peaks. Private baths, suites, fireplaces, whirlpool or clawfoot tubs are available and there are the sleeping porches in the summer. A full home-cooked breakfast is included. Hiking trails right out our door, 15 minutes to the Olympics Ski venues and 20 minutes from Lake Placid. Private riverfront cottages are available. A phone in every room and the Inn is Wi-Fi connected to high speed internet. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing