We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pefect French countryside retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maisons La Boissiere
Reviewed 24 September 2013

After a long flight from Australia and a quick city stay in Paris it was a relief to slow down and stay at the amazing Maisons La Boissiere for 5 nights. My husband and I stayed in La Boulangerie and loved it. The view over the valley was perfect. First two days my husband got a bug so he as he slept it off in the cozy room so I took advantage of the pool in the lovely heat and read. We were lucky no one else was staying at the other two gites which made it even more special. Stu and Tish were great hosts, friendly and we knew if we needed anything they were there yet they still gave us the privacy we wanted. They even lent my husband his personal portable dvd player and dvd's to watch in bed and gave him some medication to get him on the mend.

La Boissiere is a great location to base yourself to explore the great Dordogne, Sarlat is a 25 minute drive and the little towns are a 5 minute drive away to stock up on food.

We recommend this place to stay for your next French countryside getaway.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BL_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 47 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

This was just the most ideal, get-away-from-it-all holiday. Beautiful scenery, wonderful gite and a warm welcome from hosts who I think would do anything in their power to help make it a better holiday experience.

There is loads to do in the Dordogne area, but we were happy to check out the local food markets, laze around the swimming pools or sit on the verandah watching the changing light over the beautiful Dordogne valley. Lovely stylish gite (with a hint of Africa), well equiped and with a private garden - just the place to sit with a glass of wine surrounded by lavender and a mint-infused lawn. Great hosts - we felt we were staying with friends.

Would recommend Maisons La Boissiere to anyone - in fact, we already have!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Sue J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We had a wonderful time at La Boissiere and did not want to leave. Tish and Stu are perfect hosts whose one aim is to ensure you have a great time. We were warmly welcomed with a lovely meal which was enough for lunch the next day.
We stayed in the La Maison Perigordine which had just under gone a full refurbishment. It was the perfect size for our family of five with the three children loving the two rooms in the attic. The grown up middle floor was a real treat for us parents. The gite is well equipped with everything you need including fans in all the bedrooms which was a relief as it was very hot. The deck area is a lovely spot to either sit or eat with wonderful views over the valley.
The children loved the pool and spent most afternoons cooling off and usually had to be dragged out for dinner. There is lots to do in the near vacinity before you even think about the major tourist places but the location off the main road means that it is quiet around the gite. We particularly enjoyed the evening marche gourmands in St Cyprien and Bugue and canoeing and paddling in the river at the near by beach.
All in all we had a great time and are now trying to plan out next visit. We can only echo the positive remarks from other reviews.
Thank you Stu and Tish for a wonderful time. See you soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at La Boulangerie for 7 nights and have just returned back to the UK, we miss the cottage so much... From the very first moment we arrived, Stuart and Tish treated us like family, helping us unload the car and even had a wonderful romantic dinner cooked for us. This was enjoyed whilst sitting under the stars on our sun terrace overlooking the breath-taking Dordogne Valley.

Unfortunately whilst we were away I was suffering with chronic back pain but our hosts could not do enough and every day I awoke to find a new pain killer, remedy or phone number for a local chiropractor outside the front door. The area is wonderful, rolling hills, lush green, picturesque towns all on the river and within a stone’s throw away. Due to back troubles I wasn’t able to do any of the many activities nearby such as kayaking down the beautiful river, but I was equally as happy sitting in our private garden, reading my book, watching the butterflies, listening to the birds and sipping on the area’s fine wines!

I am looking forward to going back already, the cottage will be just as wonderful in the spring and autumn time in front of that open fire and hopefully I’ll get to experience some of the many outdoor activities that I couldn’t this time.

Thanks again Stu and Tish, we’ll be seeing you soon x

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This is a wonderful collection of gites in a tiny village overlooking the Dordogne valley. The view really is picture-postcard and if you are up early enough, you will see the mist hanging in the valley every morning below you. We booked all three gites for a holiday with friends, but you could just as easily book one and enjoy total privacy.

We stayed in the La Perigordine during August this year and it was very comfortable for a family of five or six. The kitchen is very well stocked with dishes and utensils (each gite gave a dinner party while we were there!) and we lacked for nothing. The open plan sitting area has a TV and hifi and an eclectic collection of CDs.

Upstairs, the bedrooms were very comfortable, but the bathrooms were even better! The owners have invested heavily in updating everthing - loved the rain shower! They have paid attention to even the tiniest detail.

We did not spend much time inside as there was too much to do in the region. The kids loved the pool, which is fenced off and there is also an alarm system which goes off if it senses someone near the pool while activated. This is particularly reassuring if you have young children.

The owners have spent a lot of time in Africa and there are many artefacts and decorations collected during their travels. This lends an exotic and colourful charm to each of the gites.

All in all we had a magnificent time there and will definitely be back! There is so much to do in the region that you are spoiled for choice, but I particularly recommend the canoeing, the food markets and the Pecharmant wine! There are hundreds of chateaux to see, but the Chateau des Milandes was an eye-opener. I would not recommend the Gouffre de Proumeyssac if you are interested in the historic caves in the region. More of a tourist trap.

The comfort and charm of the gite was dwarfed only by the warmth of the welcome from the owners, Stu and Tish, who really will go out of their way to make your stay more enjoyable. We were one of the first bookings and I am sure they will make a great success of Maisons la Boissiere!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moskvaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Maisons La Boissiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maisons La Boissiere

Address: Lieu Dit la Boissiere, 24220 Mouzens, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Mouzens
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Mouzens
Price Range: £74 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched high on a hillside overlooking the Dordogne River, Maisons La Boissiere is home to three charming, period self-catering gites. Each cottage is completely separate and has its own private garden. All are close to our fenced and alarmed 14m x 6m swimming pool that has an additional shallow pool for children. La Boulangerie, a perfect private hideaway for two with its own garden, La Vieille Grange, sleeps six, ideal for families, private garden and stunning views over the valley below and La Maison Perigordine, a period newly renovated six bed Gite ideal for families or a group of friends. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing