We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, very clean”
Review of Chelsea Motel

Chelsea Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kerhonkson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chelsea Motel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kerhonkson
New York, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value, very clean”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

You can't go wrong with this motel. the room was very clean albeit basic, the bed comfortable and best of all, the price was right. We paid $65+tax for a weekend night, while the least expensive motel in nearby New Paltz would go for over $100. I doubt we'd have gotten a better room there.

Remember, this is a roadside motel, so don't look for any special amenities. You get towels and bar soap, so bring your own toiletries. You need to run the hot water for a minute or two before you enter the shower, but it eventually heats up. Also, we stayed at the front row of rooms which were close to the road (mostly silent at night, some traffic in the morning), so if there are rooms available in the back row (rooms 7-12) try to get one of those.

Room Tip: We stayed at the front row of rooms which were close to the road (mostly silent at night, some traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eyal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    18
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
9
11
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012 via mobile

The Chelsea Motel has very reasonable rates for a clean room with refrigerator, microwave, flat screen TV. We stayed in the back section which is quiet and in a very pretty, wooded area - very nice for relaxing outdoors. The owner is pleasant and accommodating. This is one of the few motels in the area, and we will certainly stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KLK-NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
1 review
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Stayed in the back part, away from the road. The front part is not as easily accessed to the rooms, but the back is great. The room was very clean and neat with fridge and microwave. Good place to stay to visit Minnewaska park. more reasonable price than another local place

Room Tip: Stay in back away from road
See more room tips
Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ron K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2011

I am so glad I chose to stay here instead is the Hudson Valley Resort and Spa while attending a music festival there this past weekend. The room was immaculately clean, the location is sweet, quiet and peaceful, and the service was lovely. There was an issue with my credit card and their communication was prompt and accommodating. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lifnevrywrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ohio
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Just an overnight stay, welcomed by the owners 20 year old cat.. The room was clean the AC worked (drowned out street noise due to wet road). Comfortable bed.

"No occupancy" posted although it looked like many rooms available???

Room Tip: rooms away from the street for quieter night?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jek_review
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Once a year I come to this part of New York State for a business meeting. Having been disappointed in previous years by the motel choices in this locale, this year I searched the web for something more promising. Along the way the Chelsea Motel emerged as a possibility.

It’s a well-kept, retro-style roadside motel, perched on a hill overlooking U.S. 44/State route 55. One section of rooms overlooks the highway. Another is situated further away up the hill, near a rushing stream. There is very little highway noise in either section. My room, in the front section, was bright and clean, with a mini-fridge, coffee maker, large-screen TV and cushioned chair. There was a digital clock/radio, but no writing desk or phone. The bathroom had a shower but no tub. The only downside was that since the motel was attached to the owner's residence, it was necessary to ring a bell outside the office to get anyone's attention; which gave the place a kind of empty feel.

In an area of limited choices, the Chelsea Motel provided reasonable value in a quiet, scenic setting.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DoeHEAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Great price $60/night. Clean, simple, nice people, very pretty area.

Only con is no wireless in the back section where we stayed.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dman58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerhonkson
12.4 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
150 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
6.3 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
444 reviews
21.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
875 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hudson Valley Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea Motel

Property: Chelsea Motel
Address: 6099 Route 44 55, Kerhonkson, NY 12446-3022
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Kerhonkson
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kerhonkson
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing