We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Agreat time even if you don't bring your kids”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kerhonkson
Reviewed 11 October 2012

My husband and i recently stayed with Pinegrove Ranch. We had a great time. The food was very good, and there was something to do at all times. We enjoyed our 2 trail ride outings and found the horses in good condition and the wranglers kept a good eye on all the people on the ride. We were afraid our stay would be very child oriented , which is was if you had children, there were many activities for adults, happy hour, comedy club and a nice little saloon. The area of New York state is beautiful. We would go back again in a heartbeat!!! The staff was great,directing us to things to do or eat. Thanks everyone Lynda Manning, Fawn Grove, Pa

Room Tip: If you have children stay near the main lodge, for access to the pool at night and the snack bar. I...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Lynda,

Great news that you enjoyed the Ranch without bting children; we are guilty of catering to families. Designing a family program doesn't mean eliminating activities for adults, it just means making those activities safe for all ages. An example: Archery. Other properties offer archery as an activity, but do not provide a staff member to insure the safe use of the bow and arrow. An activity fun for adults and children, safe for all.

Your not alone, many of our repeat guest have become empty nesters or came when they were kids. Thanks for visiting us and we hope to see you again. David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,176)
There are newer reviews for Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

649 - 655 of 1,176 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2012

Pinegrove Ranch is the absolute BEST place for a family vacation! The dude ranch, located in the Catskills of New York, focuses on family-centered activities. It is like a cruise-ship on land, with many different activities to choose from - horseback riding, tennis, swimming, archery, scavenger hunts, bingo, horseshoes, bocce just to name a few. The all-inclusive package includes great food at their on-site restaurants, as well as a snack bar with all-you-can-eat ice cream, hamburgers, french fries, and hot dogs - a favorite with my kids! And...there is evening entertainment, such as magicians, jugglers, and comedy. Their customer service and attention to detail is the best I have ever experienced!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Tina,

Thanks for the post, it's so nice to read comments from our guest. Since 1971, Pinegrove has strived to create a family fun vacation at an affordable price. Our goal is to be a great family value vacation. Each day we get a little better, always following our guest suggestions.

I will pass along your comments to our staff and we look forward to serving you again. David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

The rooms needed serious updating!!!! The blankets were aweful!!! The food was worst than cafeteria food served at schools . We lived on soft served ice cream and french fries. The staff at the front desk were not helpful at all. The horseback riding was fun. The girls were very nice and helped some of the beginner riders. The hayride was fun.

Room Tip: maybe ask for a rentovated room
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Wow, sounds like we didn't live up to your expectations, sorry. We all at Pinegrove work very hard to provide a value vacation, packed with with activities & entertainment. A large portion of our working budget goes to the staffing of these additional, all inclusive activities. I hope you brought your concerns to the attention of the Front Desk while you were here. Simple things like a worn blanket, can be replaced immediately. Please consider contacting us, we would give anything for a second chance to show your family we care & improve everyday. David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We are repeat customers. We had a great time again. The staff is so nice. The food was really good. Three meals a day, the cocktail hour, the chocolate fondue fountain. No wonder we come back feeling like we were on cruise! The Wranglers are terrific. The horses are great and the trail is really beautiful. We had a great time singing Karaoke. The entertainment was enjoyable. We think all the Wranglers are amazing. We just wanted to give a shout out to Wrangler Chrissy. She really went the extra mile with my daughter Sharolette. She really helped build her confidence up and helped her. Sharlo will be ready for the advanced ride when we come back in December! Though before we left, who ever was upstairs from us might have left the water running, there was a leak in the bathroom. They fixed it right away. We stayed in the Wyoming. Everything was clean, just this section is dated. They are working on re-doing all the rooms. The last trip we came up with out our group, we stayed in the Dakota. They did a great job upgrading that section. I got a massage this trip. I will be booking one when ever I go up. It was excellent. This is a family run Ranch, for families and it is really great to see the Ranch grow. We hope to be a part of the process. We will be back. My daughter is so comfortable there. We love it.

Room Tip: Value for the money pick the Wyoming. When we go up by ourselves and not in out large group we upgra...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CARON A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Thanks for being our guest, again!!! The Ranch was build on repeat guest, returning year after year and devoted families like yours that come very often. Each time you return, our hard working staff smiles a bit more, knowing it's them your coming to see. THANKS!

We have been busy this Halloween season, Pinegrove's location in the beautiful Catskill Mountains makes for a great Fall destination.

I will pass along your compliments to Wrangler Chrissy, the barn staff work their tails off regardless of weather. Your kind words will brighten her day.

Thanks again, see you soon.

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

First, if you are looking to stay at the Ritz Carlton, do not go to Pinegrove. If you are looking for a safe place for kids to be kids with some horseback riding thrown in, then Pinegrove might be your place. The rooms are very spacious, but they are worn and tired. Our room had two full size beds and two bunk beds and the size of the room meant nobody was cramped. Breakfast and dinner are seved in the main dining room. The restaurant will never win any culinary awards but the food is edible and there is plenty of it! When the dining room is not open, and for lunch, the chuck wagon is open with pizza, burgers, fresh made sandwiches, chili and even soft serve ice cream. Beverages are strictly non carbonated. The ice cream was a big hit with the kids. The indoor pool was warm and clean and there were lifeguards on duty. There are two water slides at the indoor pool (there is an outdoor pool as well). Miniature golf is located inside near the pool. The course is worn and tired but the kids still had a ton of fun. Paint ball target shooting (extra charge) is near the mini golf and was also a lot of fun. The kids also participated in archery at the indoor range, perfect for beginners. On the days we were there, a fishing contest was being held on the paddle boat / fishing lake. Not likely you're gong to catch anything, but again the kids had fun. Horseback riding can be a little confusing as they have transitioned to a ticket system for the rides and would not let the kids take a second ride using a ticket from a person who elected not to ride. Same number of potential riders either way. Let me sum up the experience this way: the resort is tired, word down and basic but the kids have so much fun that they beg to come back over and over. I definitely get my money's worth here. Just set your expectations correctly before you come.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to write about your experience at Pinegrove on TripAdvisor. Each of our department managers review every review with their staff to use your comments to make the next guest stay more enjoyable. Pinegrove Ranch is a small family owned and operated resort ranch that strives to provide a value vacation. It is our goal to provide the best "value to price" ranch vacation in the Northeast. While other properties may be newer or more polished, none provide as much food, recreation, entertainment and facilities at a comparable price. Our entire staff looks forward to providing your family another value vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

We found this resort online, but did not use trip advisor, big mistake. This resort is run down, and in need of renovation. The pool is small and dirty. The other activities are all pretty rudimentary as well. Don't use their website to get an idea of what the resort feels like. We booked a 4 day stay, but left after 1 night. On the upside, the fook is OK; the rooms are clean; the horseback riding is OK.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JWZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to write about your experience at Pinegrove on TripAdvisor. Each of our department managers review every review with their staff to use your comments to make the next guest stay more enjoyable. Pinegrove Ranch is a small family owned and operated resort ranch that strives to provide a value vacation. It is our goal to provide the best "value to price" ranch vacation in the Northeast. While other properties may be newer or more polished, none provide as much food, recreation, entertainment and facilities at a comparable price. I'm sorry your family was not happy with our Ranch but glad you found the food, rooms and riding "OK".

We would like to provide your family an opportunity to return to the ranch as our guest and give us a second chance. Please call 800-346-4626, ask for General Manger Paul Craft.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My family spent 3 days at the Ranch and had a great time. Like other reviews said if you are looking for the Hilton.....you wont find it here. But you will have fun. The room we stayed in could use alot of updating, but I didn't go for the room. The food was included in the package and was ok. The all day burgers and dogs was a plus and they put up with my kids every 5 minutes with no complaints. (Dave...very helpful).
The most fun we had was the paintball on the property. The operator, Steve of Roadrunner Paintball, was GREAT. It costs a bit more but it was well worth it and my kids(13 and16) had a great time.
Overall, I would recommed a short stay here....it's a good value and a very relaxed atmosphere, but don't expect too much. Oh yea....bring a coffee cup, the 4 ounce foam cup you get get with your morning coffee just doesn't cut it. And Starbucks in the lobby.....NEVER OPEN.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ampepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2012

Thank you for being our guest and taking the time to write about your experience at Pinegrove on TripAdvisor. Each of our department managers review every review with their staff to use your comments to make the next guest stay more enjoyable. Pinegrove Ranch is a small family owned and operated resort ranch that strives to provide a value vacation. It is our goal to provide the best "value to price" ranch vacation in the Northeast. While other properties may be newer or more polished, none provide as much food, recreation, entertainment and facilities at a comparable price.

Our Starbuck's Cafe is open each moring from 8am-12noon during family stay periods. It is not open midweek out of season when guest counts are low. We are sorry that Starbucks was not available during your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerhonkson
7.9 mi away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
446 reviews
7.6 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
331 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
90 reviews
19.5 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
17.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch

Address: 30 Cherrytown Rd, Kerhonkson, NY 12446-2148 (Formerly Pinegrove Ranch & Family Resort)
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Kerhonkson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kerhonkson
Price Range: £278 - £332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Dude Ranch. Packages include Room, Meals, Activities & Entertainment. Choice from Restaurants plus a Food Court for lunch and Free Snack Bar from 11am to 11pm. Horseback Riding, Hayrides, Indoor & Outdoor Pools with Doubleflume Waterslides, Kids Playground, Bouncing Pillow, Mini-Golf & More. Family Fun at Afforable Rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinegrove Ranch And Family Resort
Pinegrove Ranch & Family Hotel Kerhonkson
Pinegrove Ranch Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing