We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kerhonkson
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Oct 19-21 I took a group of 71 :adults and children, to the ranch and we had a great time. I had friends and guest staying in rooms through out ranch and not one person had a negative thing to say about any room. They are clean and well maintained and for a dude ranch this is very nice. The kids liked the pool, but the Moon bounce was what they will be talking about for weeks.

The staff here goes out of its way to make you fell welcome. I had some friends that were caught in traffic Friday night and would not get there till late. Mike, the maitre d at the dining hall , took there meal order and put it aside so they could eat when they got up to the ranch, although 2 hours after the dining hall closed they reopened it so the 5 people that arrived late could have a meal . This is just one example at how much this resort values its guest.

The Halloween party was great ..lots of costumes and prizes for all. They had a haunted maze, cemetery tours , happy hours , drink party , kids party , karaoke, bingo, lazer tag … and more food then anyone could eat in a month … We will be back

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonnathan64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Jon,

It was great to see you this weekend. You brought a large crowd, Big Thanks! This weekend was what we are all about; good wholesome family fun at a great price. We will work on the Haunted Corn Maze to make it bigger & better next year. Hope to see all of you soon, thanks again. David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

648 - 654 of 1,178 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012 via mobile

We come up every year in the Fall for Halloween fun. They have many fun activities for the young snd grown ups too'! Although the food is just about adequate and the rooms are barely adequate for some and others a bit better Ii would sti recommend a visit The horseback riding which is now sn extra cost is well worth a ride as they trail in the Fall is just beautiful. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is very pleasant. Small dogs ste allowed which is great, lots of places to walk. There is so much to do yhat you kind of forget about your not so fancy room and just have a lot of fun. The owner is a very nice guy who cares what you think

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2012

Thanks for your post, it well represents the Ranch. Our rooms do need more updating and we are committed to do just that. However, it is a day by day process. We cannot afford to pay a company to come in and renovate all the rooms. We do it ourselves, one room at a time. Dakota, Santa Fe, Wyoming and a few Montana rooms have had major work done and look good...Ritz no, but similiar to a standard room at a Holiday Inn. Notice I said Stardard, we do not have suites or luxury rooms. Back to what we do well, great fun, lots of OK food at GREAT RATES!

Thanks for coming and we look forward to seeing your family again.

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My daughter asked us to join her family for a vacation on a ranch in the Catskills and to our surprise what a great time all of us had. With all the activities going on swimming, archery, horseback riding and much more, the time went by so fast we were sorry to leave. The accommodations were adequate, with good size rooms the grandchildren had options as to who they wanted to spend the night with. The food was excellent with great choices for breakfast, lunch and supper. The entertainment every night was great as was the bonfire and singer. This is a great place for reunions and would make a good place to have a huge antique car show where people from all states could gather and display their vehicles. Thank you for a fun time. Dave and Stef Charlestown, R.I.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DAVID P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2012

Thank you, we appreciate the straight forward comments. Our rooms are adequate but the rest of the package makes it a great value and great Fun! Family reunions are special times and we are thankful that you spent yours with us.

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

My husband and i recently stayed with Pinegrove Ranch. We had a great time. The food was very good, and there was something to do at all times. We enjoyed our 2 trail ride outings and found the horses in good condition and the wranglers kept a good eye on all the people on the ride. We were afraid our stay would be very child oriented , which is was if you had children, there were many activities for adults, happy hour, comedy club and a nice little saloon. The area of New York state is beautiful. We would go back again in a heartbeat!!! The staff was great,directing us to things to do or eat. Thanks everyone Lynda Manning, Fawn Grove, Pa

Room Tip: If you have children stay near the main lodge, for access to the pool at night and the snack bar. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lynda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Lynda,

Great news that you enjoyed the Ranch without bting children; we are guilty of catering to families. Designing a family program doesn't mean eliminating activities for adults, it just means making those activities safe for all ages. An example: Archery. Other properties offer archery as an activity, but do not provide a staff member to insure the safe use of the bow and arrow. An activity fun for adults and children, safe for all.

Your not alone, many of our repeat guest have become empty nesters or came when they were kids. Thanks for visiting us and we hope to see you again. David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Pinegrove Ranch is the absolute BEST place for a family vacation! The dude ranch, located in the Catskills of New York, focuses on family-centered activities. It is like a cruise-ship on land, with many different activities to choose from - horseback riding, tennis, swimming, archery, scavenger hunts, bingo, horseshoes, bocce just to name a few. The all-inclusive package includes great food at their on-site restaurants, as well as a snack bar with all-you-can-eat ice cream, hamburgers, french fries, and hot dogs - a favorite with my kids! And...there is evening entertainment, such as magicians, jugglers, and comedy. Their customer service and attention to detail is the best I have ever experienced!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Tina,

Thanks for the post, it's so nice to read comments from our guest. Since 1971, Pinegrove has strived to create a family fun vacation at an affordable price. Our goal is to be a great family value vacation. Each day we get a little better, always following our guest suggestions.

I will pass along your comments to our staff and we look forward to serving you again. David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2012

The rooms needed serious updating!!!! The blankets were aweful!!! The food was worst than cafeteria food served at schools . We lived on soft served ice cream and french fries. The staff at the front desk were not helpful at all. The horseback riding was fun. The girls were very nice and helped some of the beginner riders. The hayride was fun.

Room Tip: maybe ask for a rentovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Wow, sounds like we didn't live up to your expectations, sorry. We all at Pinegrove work very hard to provide a value vacation, packed with with activities & entertainment. A large portion of our working budget goes to the staffing of these additional, all inclusive activities. I hope you brought your concerns to the attention of the Front Desk while you were here. Simple things like a worn blanket, can be replaced immediately. Please consider contacting us, we would give anything for a second chance to show your family we care & improve everyday. David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We are repeat customers. We had a great time again. The staff is so nice. The food was really good. Three meals a day, the cocktail hour, the chocolate fondue fountain. No wonder we come back feeling like we were on cruise! The Wranglers are terrific. The horses are great and the trail is really beautiful. We had a great time singing Karaoke. The entertainment was enjoyable. We think all the Wranglers are amazing. We just wanted to give a shout out to Wrangler Chrissy. She really went the extra mile with my daughter Sharolette. She really helped build her confidence up and helped her. Sharlo will be ready for the advanced ride when we come back in December! Though before we left, who ever was upstairs from us might have left the water running, there was a leak in the bathroom. They fixed it right away. We stayed in the Wyoming. Everything was clean, just this section is dated. They are working on re-doing all the rooms. The last trip we came up with out our group, we stayed in the Dakota. They did a great job upgrading that section. I got a massage this trip. I will be booking one when ever I go up. It was excellent. This is a family run Ranch, for families and it is really great to see the Ranch grow. We hope to be a part of the process. We will be back. My daughter is so comfortable there. We love it.

Room Tip: Value for the money pick the Wyoming. When we go up by ourselves and not in out large group we upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CARON A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2012

Thanks for being our guest, again!!! The Ranch was build on repeat guest, returning year after year and devoted families like yours that come very often. Each time you return, our hard working staff smiles a bit more, knowing it's them your coming to see. THANKS!

We have been busy this Halloween season, Pinegrove's location in the beautiful Catskill Mountains makes for a great Fall destination.

I will pass along your compliments to Wrangler Chrissy, the barn staff work their tails off regardless of weather. Your kind words will brighten her day.

Thanks again, see you soon.

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerhonkson
7.9 mi away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
446 reviews
7.6 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
332 reviews
13.2 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
91 reviews
19.5 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
17.3 mi away
Hotel Dylan
Hotel Dylan
#3 of 3 in Woodstock
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch

Address: 30 Cherrytown Rd, Kerhonkson, NY 12446-2148 (Formerly Pinegrove Ranch & Family Resort)
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Kerhonkson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kerhonkson
Price Range: £284 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Dude Ranch. Packages include Room, Meals, Activities & Entertainment. Choice from Restaurants plus a Food Court for lunch and Free Snack Bar from 11am to 11pm. Horseback Riding, Hayrides, Indoor & Outdoor Pools with Doubleflume Waterslides, Kids Playground, Bouncing Pillow, Mini-Golf & More. Family Fun at Afforable Rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinegrove Ranch And Family Resort
Pinegrove Ranch & Family Hotel Kerhonkson
Pinegrove Ranch Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing