We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, Fun and Affordable!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kerhonkson
long island, ny
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly, Fun and Affordable!”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I brought my 12-year-old son and 6 of his friends to Pinegrove last weekend for a special celebration. They were busy, and well-fed, the entire weekend. All of the staff was friendly, and the activities were well-run and fun. The kids (and adults) all enjoyed the indoor pool, giant bounce pillow, contests, shows, bonfire, snack bar, and so much more! Thank you to Paul, Jeff, Eve, Mike, Betsy, Don, and ALL OF THE OTHERS who made us feel like "part of the Pinegrove family".

See you again in August!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BKandA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    319
    106
    101
    229
See reviews for
771
55
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

Super place we took 11 rooms. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed. Themselves .Great staff .funfor all ages great activities great Entertainment everyone was very hospitable. I recommend this resort To everyone I know. We travelled up from Florida and looking forward to doing it again with more of friends and family Special thanks to Jeremy the Mixologist and the great lounge band

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Markteich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

I just returned from a fantastic weekend at Pinegrove. As always, we had a great time, and I brought several family members with me who had never visited the ranch before. Betsy made sure our check-in was quick, and our rooms were ready when we arrived. After settling into our rooms, we were able to go horseback riding. They offered 3 rides that afternoon, and we were able to ride twice, which was definitely great! After riding, we enjoyed the complimentary cocktail party, dinner, karaoke, and live music in the Silver Dollar Saloon, with Gary Green and Son! It was a terrific night. Saturday morning brought rain, so outdoor activities were a bit limited. However, Eve, the Social Director, had a full schedule planned to keep us amused while indoors. 11:30 a.m. brought us complimentary bloody marys in the saloon, where Jeremy made us feel right at home. We enjoyed another cocktail hour, dinner, and were back into the Silver Dollar for live music from Bob Martinson! At breakfast on Sunday morning, all of the moms received carnations, which was a sweet and special touch. As far as the horseback riding goes, there have been many changes made since my last visit, and all of those changes are thanks to the barn manager, Mike. He has really focused on improving the entire riding experience, clearing out new trails, and even adding a BBQ lunch ride, which we will absolutely do when we return. His assistant, Jessica, was great, and made sure we got to ride the horses we loved on each ride. The wranglers are one of the best parts about visiting Pinegrove. Getting to spend time with CeCe, Lyndsay, Jess, Ashley, Kellie, Mia, Hannah, Julie, Raven, Lou, and Mike (I hope I didn't miss anyone) was great! It is apparent that David, the owner of the ranch, takes pride in the place, and has made many improvements over the past months. He always makes me feel like family when I am there, and I am very grateful for that! Paul, the Manager, is also great, and he tended to all of our needs, albeit very few. I know there are a lot of reviews posted about Pinegrove, both positive and negative. But, the truth is, I have been coming here for over 15 years, and I always have a great time. If you are looking for a real ranch experience, with a homey feel, and rustic accommodations, this place is worth every penny! It's half the the price of the other local ranch, but definitely not half the quality. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: If you want quiet, choose the Santa Fe rooms, as they are farthest from the commotion in the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank April C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Big Thanks for the compliments, I will pass them along to all the employees that work so hard for each guest. Pinegrove started with very little, but we always made guests feeling like they were part of the family. I'm very proud, 41 years later, we are still welcoming old friends and making new ones each day.

Thanks again, see you soon!

David - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahwah, NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Great place for kids! Lots to do! Staff, over the top accommodating! Food, perfect for choosing. Plenty of beds in rooms. Happy hour fun! Horseback riding - great! The kids didn't want to leave! Would like to come back when the outdoor pool is open! Thank you for a great experience! Lori Ramundo

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Lori,

ThanYou! We appreciate your visit and your post on tripadvisors. Pinegrove's decided years ago to overbuild our public space in order to please guests on challenging weather days. It was the right thing to do then and having indoor and outdoor facilities extends the family fun everyday, regardless of weather.

See you back in the saddle!

David - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This review is for potential patrons of Pinegrove Ranch – not for the owners or property manager. Whether or not you enjoy your stay here depends on how you categorize yourself as a patron. If you are someone who does not care that things are broken, chipped, well-worn or in need of repair, you will enjoy this place as long as you get a big break on the cost. (I have heard this is possible but because we were a last-minute reservation, we paid full price.) If you allow your children to climb on the wood carvings, smash the tennis rackets on the court, throw the bocce balls over hand at benches, toss their tiny plastic cups all over the place and basically do anything they want to as you enjoy a cocktail or two, you will enjoy your stay. If you don’t mind that the indoor pool is deep within a dank basement and not too clean looking (not saying it wasn’t – just saying it did not look clean, Mr. Pinegrove) your kids may love this place. Some people don’t care that the archery arrows are beyond their use or that the bed is way past the stage of replacement and their room smells like dirty socks. I am not saying this to be condescending or mean – these things really do not matter to some people. Some people don’t care about the carpeting in the rooms or the hallways. This is the clientele this ranch is catering to. There is no doubt that this property is beyond renovation and the owners of the ranch know this. Even my daughters were appalled at the condition. If this place had been meticulously maintained throughout the years, this would be a cool retro place. But it is not. The property and the grounds are in terrible condition – no one (even you, Mr. Pinegrove) can deny this. There are broken down buildings all over the property that could easily be dismantled and taken away, squirrels nesting in the siding of the buildings, and every hand-carved statue or decoration was broken, cracked or chipped. I know this because my two daughters, ages 13 and 10, entertained themselves by trying to find one that wasn’t. Instead of professionally mounting and displaying totem poles, they have them leaned against the nearest post and beam and literally chained (sometimes around their Native American- carved necks) to the posts. This did not bother many of the patrons, but it made the hair on the back of my neck stand up and outlines the basic operating procedure of this establishment. Half of the chairs in the specialty restaurant had broken seat cushions (we had to swap out three of the chairs at our table) but yes, we eventually found four that were stable. The clientele this property is catering to does not appreciate – or want to pay for – any attention to detail. The best part of our stay was the horseback riding. Pinegrove has wonderful horses and great wranglers – I can’t say enough good things about the dedication and care of the stable staff. My daughters and I really enjoyed the advanced rides – nothing beats cantering on a horse in the woods. We rode three times a day and had to pay extra for it but it was worth it. The food? Well, let’s go back to the customer base – some people don’t care that their waiter put his fingers in the food he is serving or that the food comes out in five minutes (dry and over-heated) no matter what you order. And, because of the poor attention to detail in just about everything else, I tried not to imagine the condition of the kitchen from whence the food was delivered. BUT, many people don’t really care about these things. Even though the staff was truly helpful, nice, and caring, we left feeling sad because this place has been so neglected. Attention to detail, quality equipment and a comfortable room matter very much to us. We are not the clientele this property is vying for and therefore we did not fit in. We will never go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank roomserviceplease17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Please do not make disparaging references to our guests. Your fellow patrons are hard working families that enjoy the Ranch and appreciate an affordable family fun vacation. You pointed to some concerns that we will take seriously. Thank you for the comment on the chairs in Tapaderos, those that need TLC are being worked on this week. The wood carvings are held in place by antique farm house chains used by egg farmers in the 1940’s. You are the first guest to ever take exception to their use. The outdoor wood carvings become homes to ants, wood bees and birds. Overtime, nature wins and we start over with a new fallen tree.

Thinking back 40 years, I do not think you would have enjoyed your stay. Back then, Pinegrove did not have locks on the doors, bathrooms were “share a bath” between two rooms and the waiters in the dining room were also the ranch hands that took out the rides. Pinegrove has come a long way, I still do miss the old days, it was hard to tell the difference between guests and workers back then.

Pinegrove will continually make small improvements each day, we hope that in time, we will be able to meet you expectations.

David - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kerhonkson hotels

Great Neck, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

Pine grove ranch is full of family /kid friendly activities and excellent food for everyone.
Fun vacation for all the kids without breaking the bank.
We will definitely go back again and again.
Horse back ride was definitely the best experience for the kids.
Dining room staff was very friendly.
Very rustic ...it felt like a true ranch.
We loved it..thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy99999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Families! Pinegrove loves family vacations and it shows! Thanks for your comments and we look forward to serving you again.

Pinegrove strives to provide an affordable family fun vacation.

Thank you,

David - Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

My senior class took a trip to Pine Grove Ranch & Resort this May (I wouldn't call it a resort). Hard to make any positive comments about Pinegrove. The food was bad. Literally of all it, except the potatoes.Nothing tasted the way it should have. The syrup had WATER in it, and a slice of french toast i had, had a screw in it. I constantly found myself returning to the vending machine to refuel on decent food. There was a very limited amount of activities to do. The staff was just... no good. What i can say is that the Snack bar was alright, and the rooms were clean. Horse back riding receives the most praise in other reviews but it honestly wasn't fun at all. Maybe if you've never rode a horse before. Other then that. EVERYTHING was bad. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone over the age of 14, because you'd probably get bored and lose interest, almost immediately. The only saving grace was my senior class. They made up for all the fun i wasn't having. So if you're gonna go, Take good company!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank htc o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner-Pinegrove, Owner at Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Pinegrove hosted over 4000 students this winter on Senior Class Trips. The vast majority had a great time and have reserved for next year. You are correct, Pinegrove's sweet spot is for children 2 to 14 years old with their parents. Mixed Spring weekends having youth groups of different ages is not the same as a Winter Student High School Senior Weekend.

We wish you the best as you end your senior year..Good Luck!

Thank you,

David -Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerhonkson
7.6 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
7.9 mi away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
13.1 mi away
Hampton Inn New Paltz
Hampton Inn New Paltz
#1 of 5 in New Paltz
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
20.7 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
22.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Poughkeepsie
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch

Property: Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
Address: 30 Cherrytown Rd, Kerhonkson, NY 12446-2148 (Formerly Pinegrove Ranch & Family Resort)
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Kerhonkson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kerhonkson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Dude Ranch. Packages include Room, Meals, Activities & Entertainment. Choice from Restaurants plus a Food Court for lunch and Free Snack Bar from 11am to 11pm. Horseback Riding, Hayrides, Indoor & Outdoor Pools with Doubleflume Waterslides, Kids Playground, Bouncing Pillow, Mini-Golf & More. Family Fun at Afforable Rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinegrove Ranch & Family Hotel Kerhonkson
Pinegrove Ranch And Family Resort
Pinegrove Ranch Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing