We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save your money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kerhonkson
Reviewed 23 April 2014

This place is a dump! I never write reviews, but always read them. I hope you take the time to read this one. It is so bad that it prompted me to write a review. I consider this place to falsely advertise. All the pictures must have been taken when it first opened and the way they word the "activities" you would think there would be lots to do. Wrong. The "indoor" archery was nothing more than an old barn that looked like it would fall apart with a strong wind. Holes in the ceiling, dirty, dank, horrible. The mini golf was a joke as well as the obstacle course which consisted of a couple of bales of hay and a rope. The lake for paddle boating was very small and you had to take a tractor to get there. Besides the paddle boat (which I can do 10 minutes from my house), the lake was boring. The horse back riding was OK but you pay extra for that. But the poor horses are made to go on a "trail" that really isn't a trail at all. These poor things had to really concentrate on keeping their balance. After the ride they are tied to a fence with a two foot rope until the next ride. They seem to never have time to roam, as horses should. The food was just OK. You could tell it was not made fresh (think powdered eggs and orange juice from a can). The hotel itself was just disgusting. I wish I had taken pictures of everything wrong with it. We had to switch rooms on our first night because we had no hot water, the bathroom door wouldn't shut and the room door wouldn't latch shut. They called maintenance and the guy that came was a big grump. Seemed annoyed that he had to help. Wound up switching to a room that was in the basement. The room had a dehumidifier in it so you know that it gets damp and moldy. The trim leading down to our dungeon room was falling off the walls and dirty and dusty. The rock wall was just a joke. Missing pieces to climb on and just looked like they threw up 3 walls and called it a rock wall. The indoor pool was just awful. The water looked to be light green. The dual slides were a mess too. The stairs were all rusted and moldy. And they close the indoor pool for hours every day in the middle of the day. Shouldn't an indoor pool always be open? The outdoor activities (and I use that word lightly) all closed a 4:00 pm and the pool was closed from 5:00 - 7:00 pm. So there was nothing to do in that time frame. Want a coffee? Too bad. You're not getting one. The only place to get a coffee outside of the meal times was at the Starbucks in the lobby. But, if you want a coffee after 4:00 in the afternoon your SOL. It's closed. Nowhere else to get one. The snack shop that they have doesn't have any snacks except ice cream. But expect to stand on a 20 person line just to get some. They have one person behind the counter making hamburgers, hot dogs and fries. It takes forever. I could go on and on about all the negatives of this place. Thankfully my children didn't seem to notice as much as my husband and I did. We will never go back again. For the amount of money they charge, they should be ashamed of themselves. I feel like we were ripped off. The need to bulldoze this place and start over again. I even had $50 in Pine Grove dollars to spend and had a hard time finding something to spend it on! Wound up using in the gift shop that is only half stocked and completely overpriced. Bought my daughter a pair of $28 sweatpants just to spend the PGD. What a disgrace.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank jaxsap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,178)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 1,178 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

Never wrote a review in my life, but need to put this out there and save families the misery of going there and thinking it's a good deal. It says a lot when it posts online how it caters to kids...well, if my kids are the only ones there along with day trips of high school students and seniors getaway, then everything shuts down and their only choice of food is chicken fingers for lunch and dinner and no where else to go. Activities never take place and it's disgusting to walk around the premises. It smells and is run down...felt all the activities were a danger to my kids due to the peelings of the walls and wood sticking out. Waiter staff is great and need to give them their credit. But this place is horrible! Guaranteed the only good reviews out there are ones who did not go there with kids or stay overnight.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank JJ0630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The place is in desperate need of cleaning!Major cleaning!! Every inch of the hotel was a mess. They allow dogs all over the property including snack bar area and lobby. Rooms are run down and very dirty. Kids activities were not well organized . They allowed adults to play dodge ball against 4-5 yr old kids. The indoor pool was so dirty and mini golf was broken with nails sticking out, I big Hazard for small children.
The snack bar had limited choices and only 1 person doing all the cooking and serving .
My family will never return.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ddjust4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

FILTHY+OUTDATED+DISGUSTING FOOD+NOISY ROOM WITH BROKEN TOILET AND SQUEAKY FLOOR = $450 for an unrested family of four for one night.

If you want to spend that kind of money, please go somewhere else!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank TypeAtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I was very disappointed in the condition of the ranch. The rooms look nothing like the nice ones that appear on line. I paid $200 extra to upgrade to a little bigger better room and was not happy with the accomodations. The ceilings have been spackled so many times and not sanded or painted over that the spackle spots have yellowed....not what you want to wake up to in the morning. The bathrooms have been somewhat updated, but the heat vent was all rusted and half off the wall, the sink faucet was new but I could move it around and the water pressure was horrible. They could really use to invest some money into the play ground outside with a new playscape and get rid of that 1970's rusted and broken stuff. Both the indoor and outdoor mini gulf areas are not maintained and are filthy. The family obsticle course consists of a hanging rope and big round bails of hay....very disappointed. The pool area smells like poop....one morning there was a frog swimming in it...leaks in the pipes from the rooms over the pool were leaking into the pool....just prayed it was not the sewer pipe...coule be why is smelled like poop. .They fail to mention on the MISC expenses that there is an arcade and the machines take the kids money and then don't let them play and there are NO REFUNDS!....also it costs money to play pool, air hockey, the picture booth and they don't mention tipping your wait person at the end of your stay and the cleaning lady. Sure there is an ATM machine there, but it was OUT of ORDER the entire time we were there. They have a "Country Store", but the majority of the shelves were empty and they still only had Christmas cards on the card rack....REALLY? My child didn't know any better. He had a great time and that is what matters most, but I was highly disappointed. Yes the price was a good deal....but then..you get what you pay for. Talked to a lot of other people who have been to The Rocking Horse Ranch and they said that place blows the Pinegrove Ranch away....I can see why.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank G P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

It started after I waited on a 15 minute line to check in. When I asked where I can park they said the lot was full..maybe park up the hill on a grass field. Second the place was filthy..not just the old rooms but the everything. The food was horrible and for lunch you waited on a line for either a burger or hot dog and 6 oz cup of soda that only two guys worked in! The food choices were limited and not very clean or tasty. The syrup was like water and the deserts were like eating paste.
The room had stains on the rugs, broken toilet, terrible beds, a small tv and no clock. This place would be ok for 60-80 a night but they charged me $250 a night!
The horses look abused and not taken care of and are overworked.
Complete rip off.

Room Tip: Dont be fooled by fake or antiqued reviews this place is a hellhole.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

After reading the reviews I didn't have high expectations for quality. I did expect that the kids would be kept busy. They have the potential but no one is doing anything. The rgs zoned activities are minimal, especially the outdoors. There were probably 30 9-10 year old boys with potential to get them running around outside playing games. But all they basically had was 1/2 hour or dodge ball a day. Everything else was indoors or minimal outdoors. I suggested why not organize a soccer game or baseball game and the man organizing things told me "I'm supposed I just organize indoor activities." So instead you jut have kids running around. If you don't have a lot of kids with you it's ip to the patent to entertainer the one or two kids. What a waste. They could have had soccer football baseball. Tennis competitions. Scavenger hunts tag. Ping ping competitions. But no nothing. And really little for the parents. That on top I a basically old run down resort makes it quite a disappointment.

You also have to wait in line to sign up for horse back riding. To lunch (over 1/2 hour) for a minimal mene instead of low quality fast food

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank messypsych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kerhonkson
7.9 mi away
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
Honor's Haven Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Ellenville
447 reviews
7.6 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
333 reviews
19.5 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton New Paltz NY
20.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
924 reviews
20.7 mi away
Cold Spring Lodge
Cold Spring Lodge
#2 of 2 in Big Indian
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch

Address: 30 Cherrytown Rd, Kerhonkson, NY 12446-2148 (Formerly Pinegrove Ranch & Family Resort)
Region: United States > New York > Catskill Region > Kerhonkson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kerhonkson
Price Range: £56 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Dude Ranch. Packages include room, meals, activities & entertainment. Choice from restaurants plus a food court for lunch and free snack bar from 11am to 11pm. Horseback riding, hayrides, indoor & outdoor pools with double flume water slides, kids playground, bouncing pillow, mini-golf & more. Family fun at affordable rates! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Pinegrove Family Dude Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pinegrove Ranch And Family Resort
Pinegrove Ranch & Family Hotel Kerhonkson
Pinegrove Ranch Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing