We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Throw Back to the 50s”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed 5 November 2013

While the staff was pleasant the amenities were lacking. We requested a cot in our room for our 3rd person and was told that they don't have cots, but did charge us for the 3rd person. There was trash left in our room upon check-in and we had to go to the office for our towels. The walls are paper thin, the sheets were clean, but the bedding was very old and outdated. Pillows were flat as pancakes!! The bathroom was tiny and was semi clean. The location was good for us because we were working at the Dutchess County Fairgrounds, but we couldn't have the "free breakfast" because they didn't have it ready until 8am. The hairdryer did not work and the replacement they gave us didn't work either.
If you liked the motels of the 50s and 60s, you'll love this place.
It was a beautiful location in the fall, but it definitely needs updating!!

Room Tip: Great price, nice setting and great location for the Fairgrounds. Seems like all the rooms are the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosebud1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STMK2900, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Thank you for bringing to our attention your insight and comments regarding your experience in our hotel. It is indeed saddening to hear about the inconvenience you had during your stay. We will be evaluating this matter to further assess the details of what exactly took place. Please know that this will be taken care of immediately.

Please feel free to contact us if we can be of assistance in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 170 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have stayed here a few times over the years (under its previous name, which I think was Skytop Motel), but we won't be coming back. It was never good (we came mainly for the restaurant) and it has not improved. The light outside our downstairs room was out, so we had to grope our way down the stairs. The water in the shower was lukewarm and the toilet did not flush well. There was no hair dryer in the room, It was also hard to regulate the temperature of the room. Finally, nothing offered for breakfast was worth eating (packaged pastries, generic Cheerios/Froot Loops type cereal, white toast), so we bought breakfast later at a diner. Not a good value,

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheWisslers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Rooms not clean and fresh smelling. Registered a complaint about flying insects in the room-- had to kill over twelve large beetle-shaped insects. Very uncomfortable all night knowing they could appear at moments notice. Attitude of the male desk clerk was very negative and rude. Would not recommend this Inn to anyone!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank webster604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Booked for 2 nights, only stayed 1. Room was semi-clean. Needs to be updated and painted. Breakfast was a laugh! Cold cereal and Danish purchased from store in celephane wraps. OJ, coffee. No body lotion, conditioner, etc in small bath. I felt it was dirty. Location was good, snuggled into the hills & woods., but accommodations were not good.

Room Tip: If going to Rhineland or Hyde park, NY there are better locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcoSuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

When we arrived the lobby was hot and smelled like old food. Our room was on the second floor and the lights in the hall were not on. The room itself was dirty and the water in the sink did not work. We were switched to another room and that was no better. It clearly had not been cleaned in a while. I wiped down the counter and cleaned the tub. The clean towels and sheets are stored on the floor in the hallway. I took a picture. I'd almost rather sleep in my car tonight.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa71370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

it is never good sign that you at a quality property when you have to pay up front in full. it's just ha no class and shows no respect for the guest.
The room was comfortable enough but for the next week II found another hotel.

the free breakfast doesn't start till 8 am, so i was useless for me.

Room ws clean but not spotless and housekepping ws adaquate.
Adaquate pretty much sums up this hotel. faint praise alll itd eserves

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank quasitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Travel about 2-3 nights per week for business, and in 30 years have never had as useless a front desk staff as today. Stayed at this hotel for the first and last time. The front desk closes from midnight to 8am, and was told its 9am in the winter. They advertise a breakfast bar, but since the front desk is closed and locked until 8am, well you get the picture. With all this I could not check out nor receive a receipt for my stay. Since tis is business travel, well I don't have the luxury of just hanging out until 8 or so. I did call the hotel at 8am, and requested my receipt for the nights stay to be faxed, the clerk became rather rude, would not acknowledge who he was nor offer his name. This facility is in dire need of a re-fresh from the rugs to the staff, is way overpriced for what you receive, and is on my stay away list from here out

Room Tip: Travel 10 miles further north and stay away from this location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Garry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STMK2900, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2013

As you are very important to us and your oponion matters, management would like to apologize for your inconveniences and unpleasant experiences. We ask that you give us another chance and continue to do business with us so we can make sure your next stay and furthure more is satisfactory. Once again the management team and staff would like to apologize for any and all inconveniences.


Thank you,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
915 reviews
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#4 of 10 in Kingston
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#2 of 10 in Kingston
59 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
10.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 239 Forest Hill Dr, Route 28 West, Kingston, NY 12401-7479
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range: £39 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now a Rodeway Inn "You'll come for the View, Stay for the Service" Our 60 large and well-equipped inexpensive hotel rooms all have free wireless Internet access. Excellent restaurant and microbrewery, in summer an outdoor pool, in winter easy access to all Catskill Mountain ski resorts. Free continental breakfast is served in the lobby and the gazebo outside overlooking the old city of Kingston NY. Rooms include microwave/refrigerator, new tvs, and updated furniture and bathrooms. Skytop's location makes it ideal for business travel and family vacations in the Hudson Valley region of New York State at the foothills of the Catskill Mountains. Skytop is located just outside the historic city of Kingston, first capital of New York State. City buses take you into the city for sightseeing and shopping. Trailways buses out of 42nd Street in NYC stop one mile away at the Kingston bus station. A short drive takes you to Woodstock and Phoenicia, Saugerties and "Horseshows in the Sun" (HITS), Belleayre and Hunter and Windham ski resorts, Rhinebeck, Bard College, Omega Institute, Indian Point Energy Center, New Paltz, Stone Ridge, High Falls and Monticello, and via the Thruway to airports at Albany and Newburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Kingston
Rodeway Inn Kingston
Kingston Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing