We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay while on the road”
Review of Rodeway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Kingston
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This is a average place off the major road. The room was clean and comfortable. No frills and the on site restaurant was closed. The breakfast consisted of dry cereal, coffee and sweet rolls. Not bad for the price. I would stay there again when in the area..

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6830self
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STMK2900, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to comment regarding your stay with us. We are happy to hear that you were impressed with our hotel and greatly appreciated the feedback you provided. We take great pride in ensuring a memorable experience for all our guest. Your comments have been shared with our leadership team. Thank you again for your time and consideration.
Thanks,
Denish Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

While the attendant was helpful and sincere, the room was--awful! The first thing we had to do was buy some Fabreze and spray the rooms to try and eliminate the smell of mold. The beds were uncomfortable (mattress), the walls paper thin, no ironing board and iron, and--mostly substandard for #150/night! We will never select Rodeway Inn for future motels.

Room Tip: Raze the motel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STMK2900, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Hello Pat,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at our hotel. I am sorry you were disappointed on this occasion. And let me correct you this hotel is not run by a family.Our wi-fi works perfectly fine, Pool is open everyday from 9:00 am to 7:00 pm. We do apologize for the closed restaurant but we promise you it will open soon once all the renovation is completed.We have all the necessary information available in lobby by the reception.We have more then 1 map of Kingston,catskill region and New york. Hair dryer was also working, their is someone at the front desk at all times to help out if that ever happens again.And our breakfast includes not just bread but butter,jelly, milk and various types of cereals,muffin,danish,honey bun, tea and coffee. We are sorry if you were expecting hot breakfast.Yes We did offer to refund your money.
Thanks again for taking your time to write a review.

sincerely,
Denish Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

This is a basic older style motel (park at door) in a picturesque quiet location. Very friendly and helpful staff. The on site restaurant is closed. To sum up this is a clean comfortable inn with no frills.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STMK2900, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,
Denish Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

OK..the price is decent and the location is great. However, YIKES! This was like stepping back in time--except, it was not a clean time. Old furnishings, gray stained sheets with cigarette burned blanket, towels that needed to be tossed as they were tattered/ripped, yellow stained tub, shower curtain with mold, window fan positioned to blow curtains up and into the room, bed makes you want to sleep in the car and the best part I could hear entire converations from the room next door. We got in late and sucked it up, but checked out the first thing the next morning. The staff is nice, but this could be a great place if it were brought out of the...old...old...days. Retro is in, but this is ick.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there is a good room. Good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STMK2900, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

We would like to thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

Thank you so much for your business and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Kind Regards,
Denish Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have stayed at this motel many times over the last few years while attending the horse show in Saugerties. I choose to stay here because it is close enough to the horse show, without paying the prices to be right in Saugerties. I wanted to write a review this time because I was very impressed by the customer service we received. The gentleman at the front desk was very pleasant, informative and helpful. We had some issues with the plumbing but the same gentleman was very prompt in coming to our room to fix it. I also saw him working hard mainaining the facilities as well.
i will continue to stay here as I frequent the horse show at least two weeks a year. I feel that the price is very appropriate and I was generally very pleased with our stay.

Thanks!
Brooke

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brooke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STMK2900, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Hello Brooke H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We do strive to give great customer service and that home-away-from-home feel. We would love to have you stay with us again the next time you are in Kingston.

Sincerely,
Denish Patel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

you can see this was once a top property, if only b/c of the location and the beauty of the place... the staff is sincere and polite, breakfast.. don't bother.. go for the coffee.

rooms are clean and comfortable... would be better in rooms "behind the pool" if WiFi reached that far. Hope someone takes over the steak house there... former great restaurant would add a lot to ambiance of the place.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annigNewHavenVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STMK2900, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Hello aanig,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so happy that you had a great stay with us! We strive to provide excellent service as well as clean rooms, and are so happy that you stated how great our staff was and that the room was clean and comfortable.

I do apologize that there wasn't enough WI-FI signals by your room, But we do have Business center in a lobby where you can use internet., their is someone at the front desk at all times to help out if that ever happens again. And i assure you Skytop Steakhouse will be again open soon in near future.
We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Sincerely,
DENISH PATEL

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We got the room to try a Rodeway Inn. Location was very convenient. The desk clerk was very friendly and offered us a room with a view or a room with WiFi. It was night and technology was against us. The room was nice, comfortable, had a microwave and a refrigerator. No in room coffee maker and the continental dining room was never open during our stay. I always carry shower shoes and the floor of the shower and it's mold made this a good practice. Little notations of lack of attention to detain in cleanliness made a decent older motel seem to be overpriced.

Room Tip: Make sure WiFi works if you need to use it before you settle into the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank armedinfidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STMK2900, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Hello Armedinfidel,

I want to primarily thank you very much for taking your time to write this review for us as it helps to improve our service to you and allows us to understand our guest and their needs better. On the other hand, I must apologize for the inconvenience you had during the breakfast time.

We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and try our hardest to provide good value, comfortable, clean and friendly stay for all our guests.

Thank you again for staying with us and hope to see you in the future.
Denish Patel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
7.2 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
2.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
940 reviews
3.1 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
15.1 mi away
Super 8 Highland NY
Super 8 Highland NY
#2 of 5 in Highland
458 reviews
10.1 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Saugerties
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 239 Forest Hill Dr, Route 28 West, Kingston, NY 12401-7479
Region: United States > New York > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range: £38 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now a Rodeway Inn "You'll come for the View, Stay for the Service" Our 60 large and well-equipped inexpensive hotel rooms all have free wireless Internet access. Excellent restaurant and microbrewery, in summer an outdoor pool, in winter easy access to all Catskill Mountain ski resorts. Free continental breakfast is served in the lobby and the gazebo outside overlooking the old city of Kingston NY. Rooms include microwave/refrigerator, new tvs, and updated furniture and bathrooms. Skytop's location makes it ideal for business travel and family vacations in the Hudson Valley region of New York State at the foothills of the Catskill Mountains. Skytop is located just outside the historic city of Kingston, first capital of New York State. City buses take you into the city for sightseeing and shopping. Trailways buses out of 42nd Street in NYC stop one mile away at the Kingston bus station. A short drive takes you to Woodstock and Phoenicia, Saugerties and "Horseshows in the Sun" (HITS), Belleayre and Hunter and Windham ski resorts, Rhinebeck, Bard College, Omega Institute, Indian Point Energy Center, New Paltz, Stone Ridge, High Falls and Monticello, and via the Thruway to airports at Albany and Newburgh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Kingston
Rodeway Inn Kingston
Kingston Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing