We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the money”
Review of Duo Bistro

Duo Bistro
Ranked #11 of 209 Restaurants in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Hudson River Valley, New York
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“On the money”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We had brunch the other day at Duo and let me just say I'm glad I live 10 minutes away because I will be back. I had a seared duck breast, on the bone, 2 fried eggs hollandaise and smashes. Great coffee, great service. Real good food, done right.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taddoloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    44
    15
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rye, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unique Bistro for Brunch”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

One of the best brunches I've ever had. Period...And I've been a brunch-queen since the mid '80's. Although there was no flowing champagne like the brunches of yester-year the fact is, we had a very delicious, very exquisite breakfast in a charming little bistro in mid-town Kingston. I kept saying "yum", even while sipping my coffee. Yes, it was pricey, but when it's worth it, you leave satisfied and with a smile.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Sweet Atmosphere”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Duo is, quite simply, delicious. I love the Working Stiff breakfast which includes their delectable "smashies" potatoes, homemade chicken sausage that is lovely sweet/savory middle-eastern inspired, amazing bacon, salad, wholegrain thick sliced toast made with fresh baked bread, and two eggs. They specialize in unusual combinations of foods that work beautifully. For lunch there's a brie sandwich with homemade sausage and roasted red peppers. For dinner, the beef brisket is to die for! We had an appetizer of tempura fried avocados with orange rinds that had been cooked in a vinagrette. The service is always, friendly, mellow, and efficient. The interior feels airy and artful. Uptown Kingston is definitely gaining a critical mass of tasty food offerings!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KingstonNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ringwood, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not to be missed...when in Kingston.”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

If you are in uptown Kingston, you must visit Duo Bistro. They feature a small menu with fantastic unusual pairings. For example I had a lunch special of Roasted Tomato Rhubarb soup with homemade bread (all bread and deserts are also made on the premises). I had never tasted such a sweet and savory soup in my life.
I went again for breakfast...silver dollar pancakes with espresso cream. And their bacon is thick cut and local!

A great time to visit is on a Saturday when the Kingston farmers market is open. I hear they will have a liquor license soon...which will make me look forward to their wine selection!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank techgirlnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duo Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Duo Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing