We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Playground, park, and zoo”
Review of Forsyth Park

Forsyth Park
Ranked #3 of 27 things to do in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Playground, park, and zoo”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

I think Forsyth Park is a great place to take the kids. There's a pretty big playground, with a pretty large pavilion, then a huge field with a baseball diamond way out. But also, the one thing I love about it is the mini-zoo they have.

It's more of an animal sanctuary, they've taken in animals in the past who have medical issues (nothing scary or contagious, trust me), but not all do. But the animals are friendly and you can see them up close, even feed them carrots! Not like in other zoos where sometimes you don't even see any animals. Nothing too exotic, but the goats, sheep, and llama are my favorite. I'm not sure about its hours, its very small and fund-run.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank TriStateGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    14
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
92 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Young kids only”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

A very small zoo where you can feed the animals. Mostly farm animals with a few exotics. Also a playgound. The zoo is free with limited hours bring bread, lettuce or popcorn. If you are looking for a break from the thruway it is less than five minutes from the kingson exit and the kids will tire themselves out. We go here all the time.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank marvin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid-State, NY
Level Contributor
65 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Aminals!”
Reviewed 6 April 2013

It's a free little zoo in Kingston and a Nature Preserve and Education Center.
There is a bull, sheep, peacocks, pot-bellied pig, lamb, rabbits, deer, llamas and all are tame and the kids enjoy visiting them.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TheConstantTraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect thing for kids”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Not only is there a playground but the highlight of this park is their sweet little zoo. Open till five. Gets better every year. My kids go to their Jr. naturalist day camp for 2 weeks every summer.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank J0deeF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great zoo”
Reviewed 12 February 2013

There's a great playground, and an excellent zoo and garden. Great with kids. Nice hemlock grove, too. Near Historic Stockade district.

Helpful?
1 Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Forsyth Park also viewed

 

Been to Forsyth Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing