We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Burgers”

Armadillo Bar & Grill
Ranked #14 of 209 Restaurants in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Kingston, New York
2 reviews
“Great Burgers”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Great burgers and margaritas (special half price on Thursday). Fajita steak is well seasoned and cooked to perfection. Shrimp stuffed jalapenos are a great appetizer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank georgeb944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    46
    14
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Ewen, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Mexican food in the area with extensive , delicious frozen margarita list.”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

We had a pleasant table on the patio, with great food and drinks. The service was excellent and we could relax and dine at our own pace. This is not always the norm on a Saturday night especially in the warm,summer evenings.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pat551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannacroix, New York
Level Contributor
443 reviews
283 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Good food!”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Armadillo Bar & Grill in Kingston, in the historic section! They are bringing back the neighborhood, and with this restaurant, it should go quick! Great Margarita's, Chips w/Salsa and Guacamole one the bar, then the table to start...you could end the meal there. I'm not a real big fan of mexican food, but I will go back here. We ate in the outside patio after about a 7 minute wait, not long for a Friday evening. All the food was good, if you wanted "hotter" you only had to ask. Too full for dessert, but as I said, I would go back to the Armadillo!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeannene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Southwestern Cuisine with a Fun Owner”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

This place has it all -- Ambience, great service, great food, and a very friendly owner. I have been here a few times and will visit again, every time I am in the area. There is a great selection on the menu that will make everybody in your party happy. You won't be sure if you are at a Mexican restaurant or at a great barbecue joint, but you will be happy. My wife's favorite dish is the Southwestern Shepherds pie which is sort of like a chicken pot pie, sans the crust, with mashed potatoes on top. My favorites are anything that includes their beef -- tacos, burritos, fajitas -- anything at all. Anybody would be pleased with this restaurant.

Don't forget to strike-up a conversation with the owner. She is a lovely lady with a sense of humor. She loves dogs, too, so she can't be all bad.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MtVernonMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Paltz, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Long-run excellence”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

On Abeel street, in Kingston, sits one of the best restaurants in New York, run by a charismatic woman named Merle. Mexican cuisine and a warm welcome are assured at this long-lived place. Over the years excellence is maintained and you can tell by the smiles of all the patrons. Special occasions are best celebrated at a place like this - Steak fajitas remain the king of all the many items offered.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Harry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Armadillo Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Armadillo Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing