We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Paris without a passport...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Canard Enchaine

Le Canard Enchaine
Reserve with OpenTable
Le Canard Enchaine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 208 Restaurants in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Seymour, Connecticut
Level Contributor
70 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Paris without a passport...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Not our first visit to Le Canard Enchaine (it's an annual special lunch when we're visiting Kingston). Friendly welcoming staff and amazing food. You can't go wrong with the garlic snails (among the best I've eaten). Fun "riff" on sushi for my tuna entree - hot/spicy sauce, wasabi cream and tasty rice - all beautifully composed. We split a delicious almond tart for dessert (or maybe we were fighting over it?). Keep up the amazing experience.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CT_SweaterGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    40
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
132 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Excellent in all ways”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

This restaurant is a great experience - the kind of friendly, neighborhood place that one dreams of finding but so rarely do. The wait staff is uniformly friendly and knowledgeable. The food is, in general, excellent. Over the past 15+ years, we have some to this restaurant nearly a dozen times although we do not live close by, and each time it has been great.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sheer Parisian Bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

Well, you could possibly want to marry the entire wait staff. Or just move in to the restaurant dining room. You'd be in Paris. In France. Amazing food. Beautiful rooms. Exquisite service. What more do you want? A plane trip?

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Elwin12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saugerties, New York, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Get the duck. Simply amazing. A little on the pricey side, but certainly worth it. You won't be disappointed

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie Peters- A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“I have a French family!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Every time I eat here, I feel like I am a cousin coming for a visit. The reception is warm, and I welcome the European cheek kisses. The soups are outstanding, and the desserts are sometimes eaten before the entree because they are that good! Entrees vary with the season, dinner has always been better than lunch.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Canard Enchaine also viewed

 

Been to Le Canard Enchaine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing