We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner on the Rondout”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mariner's Harbor

Mariner's Harbor
Ranked #12 of 208 Restaurants in Kingston
Price range: US$8 - US$29
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Mariner's Harbor is located at 1 Broadway in Kingston and is adjacent to the Kingston City Marina on the beautiful Rondout Creek. Enjoy dining either on the glassed in deck, the outdoor patio or the dining room.
Lake Katrine, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dinner on the Rondout”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

The Lobster Bisque and Broiled Sea Scallops were outstanding. Certainly they were at the top of my list.
My friend said the prime rib, queen's cut, was super-great.
We both truly enjoyed our Saturday night dinner at Mariner's, on the Rondout, in Kingston, NY.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sal G, Owner at Mariner's Harbor, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you very much for the great feedback about your recent visit to Mariner's Harbor. We do offer great specials and fireside dining during the Fall and Winter months and we are open all year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    87
    51
    19
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had dinner here a couple of weeks ago with some family members. When I called to reserve, the gent was thoughtful enough to ask if this was a special occasion. I explained that we were meeting family who we don't see often enough so, yes, it was a special occasion. I asked if we could have a table with a good view and he said he would take care of it. We were travelling with our mother, who uses a walker. The available handicapped parking was pretty far from the restaurant's main entrance, but luckily the staff was kind enough to let my mom use the entrance nearest to where we parked. As it happened, our table was right inside this door and offered a beautiful view of the park and water, as promised. The porch area really has a lovely atmosphere overall, save for some unsightly water stains on the ceiling. Our server was very attentive, accommodating, and gave us the time we needed to have a great visit with our cousins. We look forward to eating here again in the warmer months when we can sit outside and watch the boats go by. Thanks to everyone at Mariner's Harbor for a wonderful time!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Siobhan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sal G, Owner at Mariner's Harbor, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you very much for the positive feedback on your recent visit to Mariner's Harbor in Kingston. We have always taken great pride in the food and service that we offer and we like to make any occasion special for our patrons.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New City, New York
Level Contributor
66 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Very Safe Harbor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We had dinner at the Mariner's Harbor last night with some family members. My wife and I drove from Rockland County, NY while by cousin and her daily drove from Albany NY. We got there a little early and decided to have a drink at the bar. We were welcomed by a lovely bartender named Leandra. She was so nice and asked us it she could help in any way. We then moved to the dining room. THe server Alberto was also very helpful. The Mariner's Harbor has a full service menu. The food was very good, service was great, prices are competitive and the atmosphere was great especially with great company. My only negative was the tiles in the ceiling needs to be replaced due to water damage. Overall, the place was very good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timothy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sal G, Owner at Mariner's Harbor, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback, we are very happy that you enjoyed your recent experience at Mariner's Harbor and love hearing the positive feedback about our staff. I apologize about the ceiling tiles, we are having some work done to repair the roof and then will be replacing the ceiling tiles.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monroe, New York
Level Contributor
123 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Never dissapoints”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

A regular stop while in town - take an outside table and enjoy the weather and the passing boats. A light lunch before a river cruise or dinner when you return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sal G, Owner at Mariner's Harbor, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Thank you very much for your patronage and we do offer a heated glassed in porch with great views now that the nights have started to get a little bit cooler.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
woodbury nj
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“lunch before a cruse on the rip van winkle”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

this was the first stop on a 2 day mini vacation --our bus tour guide has a stop there for a lunch--the place was real rustic inside with many nautical pieces inside--the service was very friendly--and the food was excellent--we had a ceaser salad with grilled shrimp --after lunch we had some time and visited the nautical museum with a history of life along the Hudson river in the early 1900-how they used to cut ice for packing-then a relaxing narrated river cruse up the Hudson--past many mansions-and light houses--I wanted to write a single review of the rip van winkle --but included it in here --was a great--it was a little hot--but nice river breeze while under way--

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sal G, Owner at Mariner's Harbor, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your lunch here at Mariner's Harbor in Kingston before your cruise on the Rip Van Winkle. The boat cruise is a wonderful way to see just how beautiful the Hudson Valley along the river is. The scenery along the river is breathtaking and there is nothing quite like the waterfront in Kingston anywhere between New York City and Albany.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mariner's Harbor also viewed

 

Been to Mariner's Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing