We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Courtyard”
Review of Courtyard Kingston

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Kingston
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My son and his family live in the Kingston area, and when we visit we always stay at the Kingston Marriott. It is a typical Courtyard with nice, clean rooms, king size beds and a decent restaurant. The front desk is friendly and accommodating. Can get very crowded during ski season and during festivals and fairs. Nice pool for the grandkids to swim around in.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JJR1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shiona H, General Manager at Courtyard Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you so much for your continued loyalty to our hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed all areas of our hotel including the pool for your grandkids. We look forward to seeing you in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Kingston
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Spent two nights at this newly renovated hotel and it was wonderful. The room was so inviting and spotless. All the staff were efficient, friendly and reflected the newness of the hotel's interior.
It was nice to have a cafe to grab a bite to eat.
The area is very accessible and it was easy to find this hotel. We would definitely stay there next time we're in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shiona H, General Manager at Courtyard Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Jane B.,
Thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel and staff! We do strive to give great service and that home-away-from-home feel. We welcome you back the next time you are in Kingston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This place sucks. They tried to double charge me, after I had pre paid. Told him I had already paid but still ran card. Wifi hard to get on (had to call customer service, whole different nightmare) and VERY slow. TV old school and only 6 to 7 channels. Shower was filthy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardg953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shiona H, General Manager at Courtyard Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Richard G.,
I do apologize for your inconveniences at our property. I can assure you this isn't the norm. I do see the credit card issue was taken care of and again I do apologize that happened again. If you travel back to Kingston, we would love a second chance. Please call the hotel and ask for me directly and I will make sure that you have an amazing stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We had a very nice stay at the Marriott in March. First off the Staff - everyone from the front desk, to the cafe ladies, housekeepers and work men - were all extremely polite and friendly. The rooms themselves are fairly large and had been recently renovated - We must have been the first ones to stay in our room since the cable wasn't even hooked up to the television (quick fix). The view isn't anything spectacular (parking lots and shopping malls), and the bathroom was only partially renovated, but still it was clean and spacious. Didn't check out the gym or pool, but the cafe made for quick and easy breakfasts and snacks - they had a nice assortment of foods that were very fresh. We had a few rooms up on the third floor, on either side of the hall, and no one complained of train noise, or any other noise for that matter.
Easy access to tons of restaurants and shopping in the area. 20 minutes to Woodstock and just a bit further to skiing. All in all it's a pretty standard Courtyard with an extra special staff - I would stay here again if stopping over, or in the area, as it's super convenient, but it's definitely more of a functional/business location than someplace relaxing or romantic.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shiona H, General Manager at Courtyard Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our property. We are all so happy that you enjoyed your stay! We would love to have you stay with us again the next time you are in Kingston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We booked at room for last Saturday since we would be skiing the weekend. Our room, 335, was clean and spacious. The pull out bed for my son however was torn on the side and extremely uncomfortable. Good thing he is still small enough to be able to share a king bed with out and everyone still have room, so we did not need to make a stink about it. The bathroom was clean and spacious as well. Since it was a busy holiday weekend, the pool was jammed packed. It was on the cooler side, but it did not seem to impact any of the kids. The hot tub was a little dirty, but was warm and relaxing. There are definitely not enough towels in there, and we had to ask a patron where to get them. She said "if you see one on a table, grab it". Not exactly how towels should be available to clients. There was no coffee in the lobby for clients, but they did have newspapers, and some water (unfiltered and lemons looked past their due in the container). There is a cafe like thing in the lobby, but offers no privacy to unwind and relax without a constant flow of people by the lobby doors and desk.

The girl at the desk was very helpful and friendly, and despite being a very busy weekend, the hotel was not loud or crazy. The parking is free and the train noise while audible to someone awake, would not impact anyone actually sleeping. It was not loud at all and we were on the train side. Location is great for getting back to the slopes.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pietrosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shiona H, General Manager at Courtyard Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so happy that you had a great stay with us! We strive to provide excellent service as well as clean rooms, and are so happy that you stated how great our staff was and that the room was spacious and inviting. We have notified maintenance regarding the pool, as this is not the norm for our hotel. We drain it often to provide a safe environment for our guests. I do apologize that there wasn't enough towels in the pool area, their is someone at the front desk at all times to help out if that ever happens again. Thank you again for choosing our hotel and we hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My wife and I stayed in this hotel this past weekend and we really had mixed reviews. On one hand, we were very pleased with the service and our room was nice and clean. Two of the more important items you would want in a hotel stay. On the other hand, we weren't too thrilled with the vicinity of the hotel, right off a busy highway and smack in the middle of a huge shopping mall. The other big gripe we had was the location of our room. I must admit that we were allowed to check in early (which was great) but were given the first room (room 112) closest to the lobby and elevator. What a horrendous experience we had trying to sleep that first night (Friday)! We're still not sure if it was noise coming from the bar area right off the lobby or if there was a steady stream of drunk revelers returning to their rooms, but we were forced to stay up until about 1:30 am waiting for the hotel to return to quiet. We're more morning people nowadays in which we try going to bed around 11:00 pm so we can get up and walk in the early morning hours while most people are sleeping, so this was a big hindrance to us. I'm not sure what the hotel can do to rectify this situation in the future, but they may want to consider booking rooms near the lobby to younger adults who are more prone to return to their rooms later in the evening. Not even sure if this is the answer, but I will say that this was the worst evening I had ever spent in a hotel - and I've stayed in plenty. I guess it ended up being a lesson learned for us, because we'll never stay in a room right off a lobby again. One the plus side, Saturday night was much better (unless we were just so tired from the night before that we slept through it (lol). I don't want to sound too critical about this hotel because like I stated earlier, the service was wonderful and our room was clean.

Room Tip: If you are early risers or go to bed fairly early, do NOT stay in a room on the first floor!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shiona H, General Manager at Courtyard Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at our hotel. I do apologize that you experienced noise late at night. It would be my pleasure to assist you in booking your next hotel room stay here at the Kingston Courtyard. We can make sure to have a nice quiet room for you. Thank you again and I am very happy that you were happy with the hotel staff and the room itself.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

For those of you who care about your ascetic environment, be advised this hotel is surrounded by a shopping mall and parking lots. Not a courtyard or anything else green in sight. Nor is there anywhere you'd want to walk except to go shopping in a mall. Another turn off was the inside bar and food area that was cafeteria-like, very brightly lit and open to the front door and reception areas, so not somewhere you'd like to relax after a long trip. Blackout curtains were not able to cover the entire window area, so outside light disturbed our sleep. The bed and pillows were not as comfortable as one would expect for this price.

Positives: nice, helpful people, good service, and clean, convenient accommodations.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justgo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shiona H, General Manager at Courtyard Kingston, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review! I am so glad you were happy with our staff and the cleaniness of the hotel. We are surrounded by the Hudson Valley Mall, making us a convenient hotel for most. We would love to see you in the future and we would love to recommend some of our favorite green spaces that are a quick drive away. Happy traveling!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
889 reviews
3.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Kingston Hotel & Conference Center
0.1 mi away
Residence Inn Kingston
Residence Inn Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Kingston-Ulster
8.3 mi away
The Woodstock Inn on the Millstream
8.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Saugerties
Comfort Inn Saugerties
#3 of 6 in Saugerties
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Kingston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Kingston

Address: 500 Frank Sottile Blvd, Kingston, NY 12401-1547
Region: United States > New York > Kingston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Kingston
Price Range: £124 - £226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Kingston 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the beautiful Catskill Mountains, the Courtyard by Marriott Kingston should be your destination hotel when traveling to the Hudson Valley, with our newly renovated lobby, featuring The Bistro and Starbucks, and our brand new guest rooms. We are just minutes from the New York State thruway (I-87) and many exciting destinations and events. Experience Rip Van Winkle River Cruises, Woodstock, HITS-ON-THE-HUDSON, The Omega Institute, Rhinebeck, Dutchess County Fairgrounds, beautiful hikes, outdoor activities and some of the best skiing/snowboarding around at, Hunter, Belleayre or Windham ski resorts. Also Kingston is the first capital of New York, the area is filled with history and pride. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Kingston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Kingston Hotel Kingston
Kingston Marriott
Kingston Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing