We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Place of Beauty” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Church des Artistes Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Church des Artistes Guest House
Ranked #5 of 8 Kingston B&B and Inns
Kingston, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Place of Beauty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

My wife and I have stayed at Church des Artistes on several occasions. Peter and Julie are the ultimate hosts--they are welcoming and engaging, yet recognize the importance of the privacy of their guests. Their space is enchanting starting with a picturesque courtyard that would woo any poet, romantic, or bon vivant. The rooms are meticulously decorated in a minimal rustic fashion. Cleanliness is a top priority so you can rest assure your linens and towels will be pressed and perfect. If you would like to explore the Hudson Valley and all its riches, then Church des Artistes offers the curious traveler a perfect place to rest, rejuvenate, and inspire.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank mdrapkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    0
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
7
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I've never stayed in a place remotely like this except perhaps in Europe. It did kind of remind me of an elegant old private hotel in some small French town. It's a converted church with airy, gracious, antique-filled rooms -- most with the beautiful original church windows. The sheets and coverings are these beautiful old linens and lace and the whole effect is pretty magical.

But more importantly, the people who run it -- Peter and Julie -- are absolutely great ! They're an artist and a musician and are both really interesting talk to and very kind hosts. Plus the breakfast they cook in the old kitchen on the giant old stove is huge and delicious. When the weather is good, you can eat in their courtyard among the flowers and vines -- again a very European feel.

It's a few blocks from this little river waterfront and shops and restaurants, which is where we spent most of our time, since the weather wasn't conducive to doing any of the many the outside scenic activities available in the Hudson Valley.

I couldn't recommend this more highly to people who want something much cooler, more lovely and far more interesting than run-of-the-mill B &B s and inns.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very cool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Hilary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

A re-purposed church, now the long time home of artists, full of paintings, music and writing, is a wonderful place to make your temporary home base. Our stay surpassed our expectations by far. Our hosts were hospitable and accommodating. The setting, room and amenities are inviting and comfortable, and the location, so close to interesting walks, shops, restaurants and the water, is ideal. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
media, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

Thanks so much Julie and Peter. Your home is so welcoming and relaxing. I love your book collection and it was such a pleasure to be graced with beautiful live music at the end of the day instead of commercials on TV. Everything was just as we expected our stay to be; a unique bed and breakfast environment, restaurants within walking distance....all in an artistic community filled with intellect and culture. But on top of all of this, both of the breakfasts we had were incredible. Peter, your omelets and the wonderful Indonesian Black Rice dish was a real treat and Julie, the baked eggs with kale and veggies was a highlight of our visit. I really have to try making something like that at home, otherwise I may want to request the recipe when we return to visit again....real soon. Thank you both for your unending warmth and hospitality. Thanks so much, Beverly from Philadelphia

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Beverly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kingston
3.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Kingston
Hampton Inn Kingston
#1 of 10 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
3.5 mi away
Courtyard Kingston
Courtyard Kingston
#3 of 10 in Kingston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Kingston Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Diamond Mills Hotel
Diamond Mills Hotel
#1 of 6 in Saugerties
4.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
17.0 mi away
Minnewaska Lodge
Minnewaska Lodge
#1 of 1 in Gardiner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
7.2 mi away
1850 House Inn & Tavern
1850 House Inn & Tavern
#1 of 2 in Rosendale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Church des Artistes Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church des Artistes Guest House

Property: Church des Artistes Guest House
Address: 79 Wurts St, Kingston, NY 12401-6326
Region: United States > New York > Kingston
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Kingston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Church des Artistes Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a composer and artist couple who live in a large renovated church hall in the Rondout section of Kingston and have created a unique bed and breakfast featuring, stained glass windows, freshly pressed linens and comfy beautiful bedrooms. Organic coffee and teas are included with your stay along with turbo speed wifi. An optional locally sourced home cooked breakfast is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Church des Artistes Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing