We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb in every respect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stella's Italian Restaurant

Stella's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #23 of 208 Restaurants in Kingston
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Maine, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Superb in every respect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

This is a fine dining experience. I've eaten here 50 times or so. I live in the neighborhood.
Sauces are deep, rich, homemade. The salad is legendary. The eggplant is my favorite. Or try the combo lassagne, eggplant, stuffed pepper. It's a very romantic spot, too--you can cosy up with your date at a table for two while the rest of the place is preoccupied with the generous fare.
Romantic ambiance, good food, attentive waitstaff, what more can you ask?

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peter k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    30
    15
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
62 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not half bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2012 via mobile

They were accomodating to our group of 6 without reservations so kudos for that. Was disappointed had to ask for butter with bread that comes with hummus. Bread and butter or oil and vinegar are usually a staple for italian food. Family style salad looked naked without tomatoes or chick peas but made up for it with flavor in the abundant dressing. The vodka sauce on the penne and colossal shrimp cinched the meal so that this review wouldn't take a turn for the worse. No one at table was dissapointed at all! This was our second visit and would eat there more frequently if not so pricey for pasta. Overall would recommend to others.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jcletus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhinebeck, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“House Salad is the tip of the iceberg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

Seeing the other reviews that have preceeded mine, I have to agree that the house salad is the big draw for openers. There is something about the dressing that marries bleu cheese, gorganzola and garlic that is nothing short of magical. The salads alone are a great meal but I have found any of the other dishes, including fresh Onion Rings. I enjoyed meatballs and pasta, which were all done to the right degree during dinners that were part of my charity group, as well as sausage and peppers, which were served during a cast party for a charity group show. In fact, on each night of our annual performance, I make certain to attend the parties that are held at Stella's, over and above any of the other restaurants that we can choose from.
Service is delivered with a smile and the restaurant is conveniently located in uptown Kingston on Front Street and there is muni parking not far away, if you can't find anything on the street. I have yet to try dessert, but am confident that I will return.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AK L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

We have eaten at Stella's twice now and i still am underwhelmed. I was happier with my lunch meal vs my dinner. The hostess station is located in the middle of the restaurant so when you walk in its a bit uncomfortable you just kind of stare and get stared at by the bar crowd. Eventually.....one of the staff points you in the right direction. I really enjoyed their house salad but was less that thrilled with the chicken marsala. The sauce's flavor was off and the chicken was deep fried. The staff was friendly. The price was reasonable but the food really lacking...... i wouldnt call it old school italian.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank michelle m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“MMM.... Italian Home Cooking At It's Best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Start with the house salad, the best you will have ever tasted (I can't believe they can make iceberg lettuce taste so good!!...no kidding!). Everything on the menu is delicious, but when Barbara puts her home cooking skills to the task, the specials are amazing. Go there soon and often!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank upstate102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Stella's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Stella's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing