We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than average diner”
Review of Michael's Diner

Michael's Diner
Ranked #48 of 209 Restaurants in Kingston
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Stonington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
219 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Better than average diner”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Nothing too fancy or special, but good diner food offerings at a reasonable price. Staff were friendly and service was good. I'd return for a basic breakfast or lunch

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Raoul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    14
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, New York
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Breakfast and lunch in Kingston”
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I have been a regular at Michael's for many years because they are consistent with their food, which is fresh, plentiful, and usually quick. If you have ever been to downtown Kingston, you know that mom and pop restaurants are few and far between. This one has reliably decent diner food and friendly waitresses. I recommend the chicken gyro (no, nothing like the street vendors in NYC, but tasty, nevertheless) or the grilled cheese with tomato and french fries. If you are looking for a big salad and a chai latte, Panera bread is close by. But, why not support small business and pick Michael's over the chains? They have earned my support.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jamie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
101 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Just Your Average Diner”
Reviewed 18 December 2012

Didn't have an especially good or bad experience here. Got a seat right away, friendly service, hot coffee. Had to wait a while for a refill. My mushroom omelet was only just alright, think maybe the mushrooms should have been cut smaller or maybe sauteed a little. They were kind of big and chewy. The side of fruit was almost all melons, and it had been covered in a little juice or something? Not great.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TDD00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New York, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, very nice atmosphere”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We have been to Michaels with the kids, family sometimes 8 people and they always make room quick. The food comes really fast, pleasant staff that has been there for a long time. And the food is great! What more can you ask for? It's a small place and they make the most of it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, New York
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“OUR REGULAR DINER everyone's got one right?”
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Well we go here ALL the time.the nice thing about a DINER you can getbreakfast @ midnight (if you chose). Consistant; Food is always GREAT Portions are HUGE you will Most likely need a Happy Meal Box to take left over's home. menu, like any Diner has it all= I just love Michael's

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank MapleHillGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michael's Diner also viewed

 

Been to Michael's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing