We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“hot spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake Clear Lodge & Retreat
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“hot spot”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

This place has been on our must stay list for several years and may become our very own rite of spring. Just pulling into the place kind of makes you wonder. Upon entering the Lodge you are taken by the refreshing mix of old and new. This theme continues in the dinning room and rathskeller. Our lodging was an eclectic mix of antiques and house made furnishings. The lake front is gorgeous with a mountain back drop that really has a way with the sunsets. We were told that the sunrise is equally brilliant if you can handle a short paddle toward the center of the lake. Our next visit will most certainly include that short paddle toward the center of the lake.

Room Tip: B&B in the Lodge with cottages about the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    12
    7
    9
    14
See reviews for
15
47
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Argyle, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Dinner was $150.00 for salad, soup and beef stroganoff, dessert with a $10.00 bottle of beer, and THEY automatically add an 18% gratuity. The Eagle's nest cabin smelled musty, there was no hot water, the bed was awful and it was very noisy, shall I go on? Keep driving, the staff was courteous, but the prices and accommodations were extremely expensive and sorely lacking. Could have and should have stayed in Lake Placid and had a great steak dinner for half of what we paid.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snowman5433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake Clear hotels

Auburn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We were given a gift certificate as a holiday gift for a 2 night stay in the main lodge. I called to book and the lady (owner) was not very pleasant. That should have been my first red flag! We decided to book Nov. Moon and pay an additional $519 for the weekend. She said she would e-mail me my confirmation. It never came. I called over a month later to confirm and again she wasn't pleasant but confirmed we were booked. A few days before our arrival date they sent me an e-mail asking me to confirm receipt of the e-mail and informing us that we should make a dinner reservation prior to our arrival so we did. Check in was at 3:00 p.m. Not knowing exactly how long it would take to get there we arrived at 1:30 and decided to see if we could check in. We went to the main lodge and there wasn't a sole around. Finally a lady showed up and said "check in isn't until 3:00 and the room isn't ready". We returned much later and went into the main lodge and this same lady came out to meet us. We checked in and I proceeded to ask her about the wine cellar we read about. She turned on the basement light and took us down into the wine cellar. It was nice but not very welcoming. She said if we wanted to go down later to let her know and she would turn on the lights for us. Since she never introduced herself, I asked her if she was the owner and she said yes. She then took us out to the April Melody Cabin. I reminded her we booked Nov. Moon. She said it wasn't supposed to be as cold as previous nights so she thought we'd like April Melody. The temp was going down to 17 degrees that night so I had no idea what she meant. We went into April Melody and it was chilly and dark even with the lights on, curtains open and sun shining. The bed had indentations in it from previous bodies. We sat down and turned on the radio. There are no televisions. We tried to call our children and our cell phones didn't work. After about 15 minutes we decided this was not our kind of place and it certainly was not worth the $744.12 it cost for the weekend. We went to the main lodge and my husband explained to the owner that this was not for us. He said he understood if we had to pay for one night. She said we had to pay for two nights because they had held the cabin for us. Held the cabin for us?! We weren't even being put into the cabin that we booked and the one we did book was empty and not only that it appeared we were the only ones on the premises. We honestly thought that after we left and she really gave it some thought she would do the right thing and only charge our credit card for one night. Nope! We got our credit card statement today. She charged us for two nights.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cmmoore59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brant Lake, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We purchased this weekend thru Groupon and even though we go to Lake Placid several times a year, we thought this would be a little different. We upgraded our room and stayed in another building within walking distance to the main lodge (Eagles Nest). We liked our room, it was spacious, the bed was comfortable and it was clean. We enjoyed our meal and also the "History of Beer" class that Ernest conducted. The husband/wife team work very hard and try to make everyone comfortable. We also enjoyed a lantern lit sleigh ride thru their property on Saturday night before dinner.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DarleneandDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Let me say that the hosts were lovely and tried hard, and we chose this off the internet and did not have any firsthand recommendations since we were from out of town. However, four of us had dinner which came to over $300 for their special sampler, and that's without drinks. One of the bottles of wine we ordered was spoiled and effervesant and they tried to tell us it was some new method of corking, but it was frankly terrible. Also, the service was SO SLOW. I mean, we sat through two courses before the wine came. Then, we sat for probably 45 minutes waiting on the main course, and to top it all off, every last course was served lukewarm at best, sometimes cold. Chicken schnitzel, cold? Stroganoff cold? Even the appetizers--a lot of various slices of "wursts"--lukewarm. Dessert was good, but we ordered coffee with it, which came 20-30 minutes after we'd finished dessert. The price was just too high for me to feel at all good about this experience, as well meaning as the hosts seemed. And they weren't even that busy.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We ended up at Lake Clear after our first accommodations fell through, and it seems we lucked out. The lodge is an adorable, family owned-and-operated business, and they made us feel right at home. We stayed in the Writer's cabin, which had a bedroom, bath, loft and living room with wood burning stove. It was comfortable and cozy and separated enough from the other cabins that you didn't feel like you were right on top of your neighbors. We really enjoyed our dinner at the main lodge the first night of our stay and were impressed by the extensive offerings from their wine and beer cellar. Lots of interesting, truly craft beers that I'd not seen before. Ernest told us that their eventual goal for their wine list is for the producers to either be within a 100 mile radius or for the producers to use sustainable growing methods or both when possible. They try to source all of the ingredients for their dishes from within a 100 mile radius as well and have used wood from trees on their own property in the construction of many of the buildings, earning them a five leaf eco certification. We had a really great time and hope to go back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mpike27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We spent a winter weekend at Lake Clear Lodge and were quite happy. The scenery is very nice and the historic lodge very interesting. Quiet place with no TV (great) and has wifi in the main lodge(great too). The food was good and it is a nice effort to try to have the produces for most of them from 100 mile radius. Large beer and wine list but most choices are quite expensive. Good breakfast too but it would be great to see the wonderful scenery behind those closed curtains at all time... Room had a rustic and charming decor but shower and bath were small and the bed could be more confortable. So if you want the old charm of the past with lots of activities around this is the place to go.

Room Tip: If you want wifi ask for a room in the main lodge
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anectine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Clear
13.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,248 reviews
6.8 mi away
Best Western Saranac Lake
Best Western Saranac Lake
#1 of 9 in Saranac Lake
425 reviews
12.2 mi away
Lake Placid Lodge
Lake Placid Lodge
#9 of 31 in Lake Placid
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
6.8 mi away
Gauthier's Saranac Lake Inn and Hotel
13.5 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Clear Lodge & Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Clear Lodge & Retreat

Property: Lake Clear Lodge & Retreat
Address: 6319 State Route 30, Lake Clear, NY 12945-1912
Region: United States > New York > Lake Clear
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Lake Clear
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Clear Lodge & Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lake Clear Lodge & Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hohmeyer`s Lodge At Lake Clear/Sunset Lakeview Guesthouses Hotel Lake Clear

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing