We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BBQ at its best”

The Barnsider Smokehouse BBQ
Ranked #22 of 163 Restaurants in Lake George
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Since 1991 we've been smokin' and sauce slingin' so we know how to cook - and treat barbeque with the respect it deserves. Our sauce is homemade in our kitchen in Lake George, NY, and our meats are seasoned & cooked to perfection. Ours is some of the best BBQ north of Memphis, and we aren't afraid to say so. But don't take our word for it, come and taste the sensation for yourself. Have us cater your next event!
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
148 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“BBQ at its best”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just good BBQ . Not just some charcoal burnt meat smothered with sauce . The meat just fell off the bone . Well cooked and fast . They have ample parking and an outdoor deck . Everyone is here is friendly .

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    135
    88
    60
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stony Creek, New York
1 review
“awsome, awsome, awsome, awsome”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is far and beyond better than Dinosaur BBQ. The BBQ sauce is the best I've tasted. The brisket is excellent, the pulled porked nachos are amazing and the ribs are greeeeeeeat! And they have a good selection of local craft beer.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
1 review
“A local's perspective”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I am a local in the Lake George area, and I'm happy to say that the Barnsider Smokehouse is a favorite to go to year-round. I have been there multiple times in my life, and have yet to have a bad experience. Every time I've been served delicious food by a hospitable staff member that makes it their duty to give the best service.
It's disappointing to see some of the other people have bad experiences, but I have yet to have one myself. Would definitely suggest trying it out if you're in the area.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank likes2taketrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brewster, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice place to sit down and catch your breath”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My husband and I stopped here on a rainy Friday afternoon after wracking our brains on where to go for an early dinner. From the outside it looked quaint and well cared for. Upon stepping inside we could see our impression was correct. The building was small but well set up making the most of a smaller first floor and we were sat by a friendly hostess in a cozy corner booth. The menu is full of burgers brisket pulled pork and ribs. there were tons of options and I had a difficult time picking what I wanted. I settled on a bowl of Chili with Brisket (which came almost to hot to eat (temp not spice)) while my husband went with Ribs, brisket and mac and cheese and sweet potato fries. (they were out of quite a few of their sides so he didn't get to have the potato salad he was hoping for.) The Sweet potato fries came with a raspberry sauce on the side that I liked quite a lot but my husband found too sweet. Over all a good place with fair pricing...I just didn't find something that really jumped out at me on the menu. I would give them another try and try something else on the menu, I'm thinking the food is really good but the way it is described on the menu just doesn't stand out.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
163 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Average BBQ Experience”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Nice authentic decor and feeling when you enter this restaurant. They had a wood fire burning (it was a cold April!) so it was nice to sit near it (and smell it!)

The cornbread was very good. Both of us enjoyed it. We ordered an app of the Crispy Green Beans. They were pretty good, kind of Tempora-ish I guess.

I ordered the hickory smoked bacon burger. Sadly it was uninspired. The meat was fine but I couldn't help feeling that there wasn't enough effort to make this burger stand out. It needed a special sauce or some kind of cajun seasoning... something. Honestly this is a $10 burger whether you are here or at your local Chilies. Nothing fancy, nothing special, nothing to see here.

My wife had the black bean veggie burger. She liked it but not enough to want to come back here again.

Our server was very nice and attentive. I think she had an accent but I don't remember from where.

Overall if there was another option for dinner I would probably try that before coming back to here again. At the very least I would skip the burger options if there was a next time.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom-in-CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Barnsider Smokehouse BBQ also viewed

 

Been to The Barnsider Smokehouse BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing