We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“How do I get to Prospect Mountain?”

Prospect Mountain Diner & Lighthouse Cafe
Ranked #38 of 162 Restaurants in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
14801
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“How do I get to Prospect Mountain?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

So, we stroll on in on the advice from the staff at the Holiday Inn. We are immediately seated a booth right next to the bathrooms and the kitchen entrance. I couldn't figure this out. The place was EMPTY. We were seated in the worst seat possible. We dealt with it until we couldn't take the heat anymore. The sun was just baking us. So we moved. They didn't seem overjoyed...

The food was average. Just plain old average. The chocolate milk was EXPENSIVE. Two 'large' six ounce glasses came to six bucks, ouch! One adult and three kids escaped with a forty-dollar check, ouch!

When it was time to leave, we told the staff we were going for a hike. They suggested Prospect Mountain. OHHH, I see--it is the name of the place. How do I access it? Nobody knew. Wouldn't you think someone at Prospect Mountain Diner could get us there?

I wouldn't return, but you might really like the place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank scrotim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    53
    29
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
166 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Lake George classic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Wonderful breakfasts featuring Arts big boy with eggs, cakes, bacon,sausage, etc. friendly veteran staff.reasonable prices and a lengthy menu where your certain to find something your momma made!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
355 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Good diner stop”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

If you want fancy you're in the wrong place. And, given the way the sign for this place is situated on Rt (, you might miss it if you approached from the south. But it is a solid diner with basic food, basic service, basic prices. Plenty of parking (which can be a challenge in Lake George).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trainman334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Save your money”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

We stopped here on the way out of lake George for breakfast. We figured you can never go wrong with a diner. But this place proved us wrong! As soo as you walk in there is a cashier to your right do not ask her for ANY help she is there only to take your money and she will remind you RUDELY she is not a HOSTESS. When we finally got a table the hostess seemed annoyed at us for wanting to order. During her down time she kept putting her head down on the counter looking as if she would rather die than be at work. I ordered a bagel they gave me only a small cream cheese so when I asked for another they made sure they charged me another .50. The whole staff was more worried with counting their tips and complaining about their tips then giving good customer service! HERE'S A TIP FOR YA IF YOU GIVE GOOD CUSTOMER SERVICE YOU WILL GET A BETTER TIP!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elle3125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Read what the menu says”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

I've read the previous comments about irate customers with making substitutions. The menu clearly states many selections do not have substitutions. Read the menu! Don't blame the waitresses for your stupidity. We enjoyed wonderful meals here at very reasonable prices and will come back. Also, make sure to get there before 9 am on a weekend or be prepared to wait because this place is very popular!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Inmycar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Prospect Mountain Diner & Lighthouse Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Prospect Mountain Diner & Lighthouse Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing