We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Views of Lake George”

Lake George, New York
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
“Stunning Views of Lake George”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

This is a more difficult hike as compared to Buck Mountain and it is worth the extra effort This is the highest peak along Lake George and it provides fabulous views both north and south on the lake. I came in from the lake side - allow about 5 hours round trip from the lake side - get a dock permit for Black Mountain Point (north or south docks but north is easier) and start the journey up the mountain Truly a good hike and workout - the last mile or so is the most strenuous and seeing the old fire tower is nice

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ADKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    15
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Whew!”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This trail is about 1160 up from the trail head off of Pike Brook Road. This is listed as a moderate trail by many experts, as easy by one or two and "challenging" by the people who write the official PR materials for Lake George. The latter folks are pobably closest to the truth. Although this is not a long hike to the top (2.5 miles), nor one with a large change of elevation, it is arduous. The whole second half is almost all rock outcrops and loose rock. You have to watch each step. It is not for little kids. The faces of the people coming off the mountain told the whole story. I guess I would classify it as moderate plus. We started at 2 and did not get to the top until 4:30. Start early - 10 or 11. The views are good to great. It is a bit confusing on the top - you need to go all around the fencing to see the best views. Because we got to the top so late we did not have time to do the loop. Going back down the same way we came up - not fun.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank cle-townbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oceanside, New York
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Spectacular views of Lake George”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We didn't complete the loop and hiked the section to the summit of Black Mountain (5.2 mi round trip). It's a fairly easy hike that is recommended for families. Gradual inclines except in a few places near the top. Can't beat the amazing views of Lake George from the top, in a clearing just before the fire tower. Great place for a picnic. I would highly recommend this hike if you're looking for a 1/2 day activity and want outstanding views of the lake and high peaks.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank slikrokbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wexford, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hiking trail”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Great view of both the Southern and Northern basin of the lake. It is a walk through the woods with only one or two lookouts along the way, but the view from the top is outstanding.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Moderate Hike, fabulous views from top!”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We started our hike at the trail head on Pike Brook Road (free parking area). And went down the other side to pass 2 ponds- the trail eventually looped back to the the Pike Brook trail. The trail was clearly marked. The trail ascending the mountain wasn't that spectacular, but the view from the top was gorgeous and there was a fabulous 180 degree view from the top. The trail that we took descending the mountain was a little prettier than on the way up, but nothing extraodinary. The loop hike was about 6.5 miles long and took less than 4 hours (including our time at the top enjoying the views). There is a fire tower at the top, but it is fenced off so you can't climb it. I would recommend this for active people for a great half day activity!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank KayCee1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Mountain Loop also viewed

 

Been to Black Mountain Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing