We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT LABOR DAY ESCAPE”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fran Cove Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fran Cove Motel
Ranked #40 of 87 Hotels in Lake George
Shokan, New York
Level Contributor
119 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“GREAT LABOR DAY ESCAPE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

This motel was the best that we have stayed in. The room was spacious, the people were as pleasant as you could ask and they had things on the property for children to do besides swimming. We first got there they didn't have a pack and play(crib) for my child but the girl got right on the situation and with in minutes of notifying them of the problem she was knocking on the room door with it .The motel was located close to Lake Georgebut, far enough away that you did't have to give them two arms and two legs for the room.

Room Tip: all rooms looked good to us from what we could see.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    27
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
29
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
MA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2012

This motel is a simple, clean motel, convenient to the Lake George Village. It's on the same road as a bunch of similar-looking motels. One thing I liked about it is that it's not downtown in the village, making it quieter. The rooms were clean and we had everything we needed. There's a mini-fridge which was useful. We didn't use the pool but it looked clean and fun. There's a trolley that goes downtown and stops right in front of the motel, and only costs $1. I would recommend using it, particularly on a Saturday night in the summer. You can find parking downtown at times like this, but it's kind of expensive and a bit hard to fine, so using the trolley is a good option.

This is the kind of place I like to stay in because you get everything you need and don't pay for things you aren't likely to use. If you're looking for a fancy hotel, or something right on the water, then this isn't the place. But if you're looking for a decent place that's not far from Lake George, you'll do well. They give you free coffee for breakfast but for a full meal, there's a dinner not far down the road called the Prospect Mountain Diner that's pretty good.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trisarahtopss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vermont
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We had a great stay at Fran Cove Motel. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was good size and was clean. I was afraid the hotel room would smell musty like a lot of the motels in Lake George but it did not. We liked staying a little off the strip since we have kids and the pool was much more relaxing without having the constant traffic. Also, the price is very affordable compared to other places in Lake George.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjv130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

If you're looking for 5-Star amenities then this isn't the place for you. I you are looking for a clean, comfortable & affordable place where the staff is efficient & friendly then this is the place. A very relaxed place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomtalkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catskill, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

We stay at Fran cove every year on our weekend in the summer at lake George. Mainly because its affordable for us, so close to the village, which gives us more money to spend on the kids, and their activities. The grounds are very clean, and the pool is crystal clear. Because we are regular customers, we are accommodated by tom & linda, to always have the same room, because I'm handicapped, which is a real convenience.BBQ's are charcoal grill, clean and in good condition, in a picnic area next to a little brook, which is lovely. There is a swing set/slide jungle gym for the kids to play on, which my younger daughter just loves. The trolley stops there regularly, which is pretty cool. Coffee is served in a coffee maker outside the main office between 8 & 10 a.m.. The rooms are very clean, have a small fridge w/ freezer, which is convienient, and that is the up side. Now keep in mind every place has a down side in one way or another, the question is to what degree. First, on the owners, tom & linda, yes my wife and I found them to be withdrawn and not overly friendly, more so with tom than linda, not big on conversation, greetings, or smiling for that matter. But I don t know what goes into running a motel business,or what their personal lives are about, so its not something that really bothers me and my family..As far as coffee being served outside, with no supervision, just seems to my wife and I to be a lil unsanitary, not knowing how other patrons are utilizing ,and with the dust of the cars pulling in and out of the establishment, so we avoid no matter how much we need coffee. We think it would be friendlier to keep the coffee maker in the front office. The only microwave is outside next to the ice machine, two other items we avoid. We have witnessed patrons removing ice with their hands, which has nothing to do with Fran cove, and the microwave was disgusting on the inside, caused also by patrons. Our biggest concern with fran cove is the mileage on the bed, it like sleeping in a taco shell. My wife and I are not small people by no means, but sleeping in a U shape, kills my back for 3 days.Now certainly we don t know what other rooms are like, only the one we frequent. The lil fridge was missing the door to the freezer, on the inside. we would like to see a coffee maker and microwave in every room, even if we had to pay a lil more, but its not our place so...When we first walked into our room it did smell a lil musty and damp in the early morning hours.My phone at home I can call all over the united states and it doesn t cost me, if you make a call from your room outside of lake george, its gonna cost you..A basket ball hoop is located outside, on the opposite side of our room wall, so one year we had a whole afternoon of pounding, since we have to have the room on the end. Thats it in a nutshell, we find it to be things and situations that can be avoided or other exceptions made, and thats why we stay there every year, I hope this was helpful.....

Room Tip: room 20 downstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CymruCrusader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Pleasant atmosphere and cleanliness make Fran Cove a good value for the price. The environment was peaceful, cheerful and a good choice for families. The rooms, though by no means fancy, were very comfortable. The pool was sparkling clean. The owners seem to take pride in the upkeep of the property, which is conveniently located just a few minutes out of Lake George village. There are multiple restaurants and attractions in the vicinity. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonstone0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal , canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Hi , Just came back from Lake George N/Y for an overnight stay at Fran Cove Motel. Exit 22 and go left on route 9 .Quiet area away from the town noise .We had been there a few times many years ago and wanted to try it out again . Pleasently surprised , it was the same owners , Tim and Linda . These people keep the rooms and outdoor area spotless . The motel is not a big fancy place but just a friendly place to stay with clean rooms . The pool is crystal clean . They have a few B.B.Q's outside with picnic tables . The room we had , for 2 adults a 2 teens ,( grand-kids ) had 2 queen size beds that were very comfortable , tv , a/c , mini-fridge , wi-fi access free, showers . Coffee was available , free , just outside the office or inside if it's bad weather . The good value part is the rates , about $70.00 and up in season and about $50.00 and up off season . There is a Trolley that can bring you to town , which is 5 minutes by car . We've walked it many times with our Rochester friends Ken and Alice Glosser . For breakfast , they refered us to Prospect mountain diner , which is about 1 mile from center town towards Glen falls . The sign is very small and it has a lighthouse on top of another sign . The building is aluminum colour and just after the Holliday inn . Good food , good price . Try FRAN COVE and you'll be back . Sheila and Don Boucher , Montreal .

Room Tip: we stayed in room 30 , on top of the office .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bremag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.7 mi away
Motel Montreal
Motel Montreal
#45 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Inn on the Hill
Inn on the Hill
#42 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brookside Motel
Brookside Motel
#11 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seven Dwarfs Motel & Cabins
Seven Dwarfs Motel & Cabins
#56 of 87 in Lake George
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
2.0 mi away
Studio Motel of Lake George
Studio Motel of Lake George
#18 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Lake George Inn
The Lake George Inn
#41 of 87 in Lake George
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fran Cove Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fran Cove Motel

Property: Fran Cove Motel
Address: 2747 US Route 9, Lake George, NY 12845
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 87 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Fran Cove Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Fran Cove Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing