We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No thanks, many better choices in Lake George.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake George
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pine Grove Cottages
Reviewed 25 July 2011

Just average cottages, location is not ideal for the price you pay. Owners not accomodating or friendly. Many repairs needed. Pool was dirty.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lifesabeach95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PineGrove_LG, Owner at Pine Grove Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2011

We never like to read complaints from guests who remained silent while here, because we hate losing the chance to fix what bothered them so they could enjoy their time with us. In our first 30 months we’ve made huge progress to transform a dated property into a modern, welcoming one. "Just average?" Maybe, before we overhauled two dreary camp showers into lovely and spacious tiled bathrooms, or completely gutted out two cabins while opening up cathedral ceilings in three more. "Many repairs needed?" We've got a list of things we can’t wait to mend or replace as soon as time allows -- but if there was something in particular you noticed during your stay, we wish you had pointed it out and allowed us to set things right for you immediately. "Pool dirty?" No. Just no. We vacuum twice a week and monitor it throughout every day, and we receive many compliments on our pool. It can be a challenge to maintain a pool in our woodsy setting, but it is a challenge we gladly undertake because it is one of our guests' favorite features. But we're most off-put by the suggestion that we are not accommodating or friendly. We live on-site, we welcome every guest personally, and we never fail to ask what else we can do to make each guest more comfortable -- as most of our other reviewers have attested. If you didn't find us to be friendly, please consider whether you gave us the opportunity.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
There are newer reviews for Pine Grove Cottages
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2011

Despite the constant rain - we had a great time in our 2 bedroom cottage. Peter and Lori were very friendly and accomodating and the cottage was very clean with a great loft. My kids loved the loft, making campfires and the location was great. Close to the village but away from the hustle and bustle. Hope to be back next year. Would highly recommend...

Room Tip: check the website for specials..
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mybuddyBuffalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

peter and Lori we're great hosts. the cottages were clean, and cozy. they will go above and beyond to make sure your stay comfortable. the kids loved the upstairs loft, and the bedrooms were big enough for a queen sized bed, and a playpen for our baby. made our family vacation just that much less stressful, would highly recommend these cottages. tucked away for privacy, and minutes away from all the fun of the lake George strip. A +++

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashley217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PineGrove_LG, Owner at Pine Grove Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Thanks Ashley--
We loved having you guys here too! It was a big effort adding the lofts our first year, but the right age (and size) kids really treasure them. We'll see you again next summer!
Warm regards,
Peter & Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We had three cottages and one of the 4 year olds felt comfortable enough to stroll over to see if her grandfolks were awake at 7 a.m. each day...and we were then. I loved being in the village because it was perfect for my walks. Within 3 blocks is the church where Issac Jogues (the blackrobe) worked with the indians. This is history, and for me it's exciting stuff. We did the beach often, the boat trip, mini golf, etc.
Maybe it was just because we were with the people we love. but we enjoyed it so much that we decided to meet again in Feb.....this time in Florida. We'll return to Pine Grove next summer.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pbmctj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PineGrove_LG, Owner at Pine Grove Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Hi pbmctj--
Thanks for your kind words -- big family groups (including our own) are a real treat for us to host, and we LOVE the atmosphere that having young friends and cousins running around creates. We look forward to seeing you guys again!
Warm regards,
Peter & Lori

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We stayed at pinegrove cottages July 12-17; we had a great stay and would defenitely go back. We plan to bring some family or friends next time- it is a great set-up for multi-genrational families travelling togther.

Our hosts were terrific, very warm and welcoming and provided great service.
The cottage was very clean and well equiped; linens were nice, no bugs and no dirt!

It was very hot, so we appreciated the great pool. it was also nice for our daughter to play with the others guests kids in the pool; the atmosphere is friendly and welcoming.

The location is really convenient, close enough to town , but secluded enough to be peaceful at night.

I would definetely recommend this place to others; there are many different cabins to chose from. some are beautifully renovated and have different sleepong arrangements depending on you groups needs. The website is terrific and there are lots of photos.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smurphy90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

We stayed at Pine Grove Cottages the Week of Aug 7-14, 2010. Peter and Lori, the owners, were wonderful and went far above and beyond our expectaions reccomending places to dine, activities to experience, and any other requests we had! We felt right at home in our quaint 2 bedroom cottage and our 11 year old daughter adored her "sleeping loft!" We were a short walk away from all of the action on Canada Street, but nestled far enough into Lake George to be tucked away from the hustle and bustle. We loved this feature of Pine Grove. The pool was clean and warm and our cottage had a full functioning kitchen with a fridge and stove, dishes, cutlery and small appliances. We found this very useful to stock beverages and breakfast items before we headed out on the town for the day. Our cottage also had our own BBQ, picnic table and a fire pit for late nite S'mores and Weiner Roasting! These cottages have a old fashion rustic feel that give you a "cabin" experience but still have all the ammenites so you are comfortable all week long! I think any person with realistic expectations would have a blast at Pine Grove Cottages! I would highly reccomend Pine Grove Cottages for an authentic Lake George Cabin experience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shanwow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Peter and Lori are great...we felt at home there. Yoga was fun, pool was excellent and clean! Laid back and friendly environment! We will go back...with family and or friends! To improve the WOW factor, outdoor movie night is a great idea and a swingset/playground would be terrific for the kids. A volleyball net would be nice and also be beneficial for families interacting! A great place to stay..

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank guiness2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.4 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Lake George
Quality Inn Lake George
#24 of 89 in Lake George
328 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Grove Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Grove Cottages

Address: 90 Philips St, Lake George, NY 12845-1627
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Lake George
Price Range: £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten charming, updated 1BR, 2BR and studio cabins, all with kitchens, several w/sleeping lofts. Big, beautiful pool, 4 blocks to main drag, owners always available, great family spot. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing