We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extreme ripoff” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pine Grove Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake George
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Pine Grove Cottages
New York City, New York
1 review
“Extreme ripoff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

We are a family of four and did not find the cabins to look like the pictures on the computer. Our cabin smelled terrible. Very musty. The front door had a Hugh gap underneath where you could see daylight. The Wi-Fi was a joke you had to stand in one spot outside the cabin for it to work.The nicest room in cabin 3 was the bathroom . The beds were very uncomfortable. the heat did not work. I will never return to these cabins Ever!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PineGrove_LG, Owner at Pine Grove Cottages, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
We were surprised to find this review, after the compliments this family showered us with on departure. Pictures? There are 50+ on our website and another 40+ on our Facebook page. Overwhelmingly, our guests tell us they appreciate the variety, detail – and accuracy – of our pics. We personally inspect the cottages before and after each guest, including this family, and we noticed no odor. Cottage 3 does have an older door; that’s why we added a door sweep to address the gap. When the occasional guest reports difficulty with the Wi-Fi connection, we provide assistance to get them up and running – or, if their machine isn’t compatible, we get them the info they need. But we can only do that when they tell us about it.

Which gets to the heart of the matter: if you experience a cold night (regardless of whether the calendar says August), would the best remedy be to wait three weeks and write a nasty review? Or would your odds of being comfortable improve by telling us there’s a problem so we can fix it? Two weekends later a guest in #3 reported difficulty with the furnace, and we were easily able to relight the pilot.

We’re sorry this family was so unhappy with their stay, but we’re persuaded that we could easily have addressed their concerns had they shared them. While here, this family enjoyed the pool each day and was especially appreciative of our proximity to the village. On departure, they thanked us exuberantly. We could have helped them enjoy their stay more had they told us anything was unsatisfactory when they had the chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    5
    1
    4
    2
See reviews for
18
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

This is my first time staying in a cottage but I can say that I had a good time and a nice stay here. The owners were very nice and friendly. The bed was very comfortable and the kitchen fully stacked. Unfortunately since me and my girlfriend were out hiking and exploring the town most of the time we didnt get to use the kitchen or the grill but Im sure we will next time :)

Thanks Peter and Lori

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jdlsf00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Jefferson, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

My friends and I spent a fun filled weekend staying at two of the cottages this summer. From past experience of cottage stays, I assumed that the interiors would be fairly rustic. They weren't surprisingly. The best feature of cottages 3 and 4 was that the bathrooms were nicely finished for a woods cottage. The kitchens were well stocked so that we were able to cook and the owners were happy to lend us a cast iron skillet when we asked. The cottages are located in close proximity to the town of Lake George. The pool on the property is well cared for and very refreshing. There's a communal fire pit that's nicely built in the central area. Anyone is invited to use it. Also, every cabin has an outdoor grill.

All in all Pine Grove Cottages has a nice, relaxing, wooded atmosphere while keeping you in civilization. The best part of the cottages were the kind family that owned the place. They are very friendly, sweet, and are opened to feedback. It's a very nice family run business.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PineGrove_LG, Owner at Pine Grove Cottages, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Hi Laina--
Thanks for your kind words, especially about the bathrooms -- they were a real priority for us to upgrade, after enduring some substandard bathrooms elsewhere. You guys were great, and we look forward to welcoming you all back!
Warm regards,
Peter & Lori
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgewood, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We just got back yesterday from a 4-night vacation at Pine Grove. Overall, an excellent time was had by all!

We were a group of 7, staying in two cabins right next to each other. Both of the cabins were extremely clean and well-maintained. The kitchens came stocked with lots of essential dishes and appliances (coffee maker!) and our two-bedroom cabin contained a decent-sized fridge, which was more than enough to store the massive amounts of food we purchased to barbecue with.

Our absolute favorite feature of the grounds was the pool!! It was a really great size for the amount of people who were staying and it was super clean! Each cabin is so close to the pool that we would stay in our bathing suits all day and just take dips throughout the day. As with the other reviewers, we also felt that the fire pits weren't very useable as one was directly in an alcove and seemed to belong to another cabin, and the other was consistently already being utilized by other guests.

The real great benefit of Pine Grove was also location! We hardly ever drove anywhere, and enjoyed taking leisurely walks into town for dinner, fireworks, or some souvenir shopping. It really is such a perfect distance if you're looking to have accessibility to all the stuff in the Village! At night, it was far enough away from the buzz of it all

The place is definitely family-friendly but we never felt out-of-place in a group of friends. We all had a great, relaxing time even just hanging out at the picnic tables and grilling! We'd definitely come back to Pine Grove again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank VioletteStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

My fiends and I rented 2 cabins for a few days for the 4th of July weekend. We had a blast. The cabins are in short walking distance from the town (maybe 5 blocks?), so everything was close by. The owners were very friendly and the cabins were very clean. The pool was also very clean and great for cooling down during the day. The kitchens are stocked with pots, pans, plates, cups, utensils, etc.. so you don't have to worry about bringing any of that stuff. Overall it was a great experience with lots of BBQing and swimming. I would recommend this place to my family and friends.

Room Tip: Cabin #7 is the perfect size for a couple. My husband and I had plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kristina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2011

Everything about this "cottage" was horriable. The Hosts were pushy and rude, my family did not enjoy our stay and will not be returning to this property EVER AGAIN!!! If you have low standards and enjoy bugs and filth, mold and mildew... than this is the place for you!!! Also, there was no space at all in our cabin to function, and my daughter ended up waking up with strange red bites all over her body that we later found out were bedbugs.... Just, do yourself a favor and cross this place off your list!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Margeret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PineGrove_LG, Owner at Pine Grove Cottages, responded to this review, 11 November 2011
Hmmm ... We're impressed with the vehemence Margeret S. brings to her complaint, especially since we've never had anyone from Oklahoma stay with us. We suggest readers consider this outrage in the context of our other, more truthful reviews from people who have actually been here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse,NY
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed mid August. The location is close to the village but far enough away that feel like you are away from it all. It's probably about a 10 min walk into the village. We stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin w/ loft. It was very clean and had everything we needed for 2 couples with kids. The kids were too young to use the loft but for those older it would be a perfect spot to have fun and sleep. As others mentioned they could use either more firepits or a big community pit. One is next to cabin 9 and the other wasn't convenient for us. The pool was very clean. It was quiet at night which was nice for the kids to sleep and adults to enjoy outside. Not many bugs either! The shower worked fine and so did the TV if that is your thing. We'd definitely go back.

Room Tip: Choose cabin 9 if you want to be near a firepit
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CNYtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
0.4 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
0.8 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#14 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN of Lake George
BEST WESTERN of Lake George
#18 of 87 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn Lake George
Quality Inn Lake George
#28 of 87 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Grove Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Grove Cottages

Property: Pine Grove Cottages
Address: 90 Philips St, Lake George, NY 12845-1627
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ten charming, updated 1BR, 2BR and studio cabins, all with kitchens, several w/sleeping lofts. Big, beautiful pool, 4 blocks to main drag, owners always available, great family spot. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing