We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ride, even in the rain!”
Review of Saddle Up Stables

Saddle Up Stables
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Saddle Up Stables is one of the oldest riding stables in the Adirondacks. We offer a large selection of horses from beginners to experienced riders. Enjoy a scenic trail ride that offers a beautiful view overlooking Lake George from top of the mountain. Rides last about an hour and leave at anytime between the hours of 9 to 5. No reservations taken. Pony rides available for the little ones.
Middletown, New York
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent ride, even in the rain!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Friendly staff.
Beautiful, well behaved horses.
And a very relaxing ride through the woods and hills.
(Even in the rain)

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vonpt93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    37
    8
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago, il
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice horses but it is quite expensive”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

the horse ride was enjoyable. the horses are well trained. you take the trail in the mini forest. one guide will ride with 5 guests. You follow the guide on your horse. it is not a difficult trail, but you feel little bit afraid when the trail gets narrow in some places. I heard that one of the horse got antsy when on trail while on a ride with another visitor. My only complaint is that it is quite expensive, $50 for one ride of about 45 mins to 1 hour. the guide Kelly who was with us was very friendly and nice.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank abachhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Horseback riding in Lake George area”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

One hour was $48 per person (regardless of age). Beautiful horses and friendly staff. Love the views and relaxation of the ride, but a bit pricey for a family of 4.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“trail seems risky”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My name is Del. I was really nervous because we ride up and down the hill and we were so close to the edge of the mountain which is very risky. The other thing I didnt like was that you ride the horse alone and the guide is on his own horse ahead of you. While you are riding the horse you see the signs saying that "you are riding on your own risk". What I liked was that staff were really friendly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank del s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SaddleUp1, Manager at Saddle Up Stables, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
In regard to the person who thought the trail was "risky". We are in the mountains here and have very nice and well groomed trails that are wide enough to drive on. The trail guide rides his horse and the riders are all on their horse following the guide. If this person didn't want to take the scenic mountain trail ride, then they should have stayed and had a short hand led "pony" ride. There is no way we can hand lead their horse around the trail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Expensive”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Very expensive ride. The whole place stinks. The horses are well-groomed and trained. The ride up the mountain is great.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Shailesh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Saddle Up Stables also viewed

 

Been to Saddle Up Stables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing