We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay”
Review of Tea Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Tea Island Resort
Ranked #11 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay here. Some of the furnishings could benefit from updating but everything was clean and well kept while we were there .The owners are very friendly and helpful. Loved having the canoes, kayaks, paddle boats and wave board available. We used them all! Beautiful lake view from sitting in front of the room. We stayed in room 4 of the suites which has a separate tiny sleep room. This room needed more electrical outlets and they need to find some way to put in a night stand or somewhere to put a bedside clock. We'd stay here again regardless!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 515LoveToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    44
    7
    4
    5
See reviews for
71
62
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Our stay at Tea Island couldn't have been better. The lake view is tranquil, especially at sunrise/set. The owners and staff will go out of the way to make any accomodation you can think of. They even have a private boat launch. The property is well maintained and complete with a volleyball net and other fun games like shuffleboard. In addition to the game room, private beach, boathouse, canoes/kayaks/paddle boats, finding time to hit Lake George's other attractions will be difficult. The room was bigger than expected and was filled with all the modern amenities. And last but not least, the bathroom had excellent water pressure...no cold showers!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 August 2013

My experience at Tea Island was amazing. The vaulted and beamed ceiling in the room created a light,airy and rustic feeling, while the furniture added a modern touch. The view of the lake,outside the large glass sliding door, was breathtaking and the access to lake was extremely convenient. The staff was also extremely friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klo3223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Briarcliff Manor, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

The room and bathroom were dirty and there were dead bugs in every corner of the ceiling. The sheets on the bed smelled when we got there and when they were changed. When I researched the hotel the information stated the rooms are renovated. They are not renovated, they are refurnished. Among other things, the carpet looked to be 10 years old, at least.

The air conditioner was not cooling well so we opened it to check the filter which looked as if it had never been cleaned. I took out the filter and left it propped up against the AC unit which I thought, was a not so subtle hint. When the maid cleaned the room, she just put the dirty filter back in! We just gave up and cleaned it ourselves. The free WiFi they offer kept going in and out every few seconds, it was so frustrating.Instead, I had to use the WiFi on my phone to use my tablet.

The amenities for outdoor activities to do with the lake are good as they have different boats and a private beach, and the view is nice. However, many places have boats and a beach and I'm sure, are cleaner and cheaper than the Tea Island Resort. I cannot believe the 4 and 5 star reviews of this place. I do not at all recommend staying here, it is just dirty.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Vacati0n2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atikaw, Owner at Tea Island Resort, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
I am sorry to hear about your problems and that we did not meet your expectations with us. As you can tell by our other reviews, your experience is not at all typical. We value all of our guest’s feedback very much, and thank you for your comments. We also take a great deal of pride in the cleanliness of our rooms, our responsiveness to guest’s desires, and customer service. We work hard to prepare all rooms for our guests… and when there is an issue we work doubly hard to rectify it…. every time. We wish we had had the opportunity to address these issues as soon as they were encountered.
We are glad however that you enjoyed the use of our boats and beautiful location, and would like to thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massapequa, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

The resort is located on a quiet part of the lake and has kayaks and paddle boats for guest usage. The property was well kept and the rooms were clean. The only issue we had was there was a misunderstanding with the person taking our reservation and had us coming the following week. This caused an overbooking situation that was rectified by the hotel owners who found us a room at their nephews motel The Park Lane right down the road on the lake. This actually worked out better for because The Park Lane had a pool which was great for my kids. Overall I would reccomend the tea island resort but when I return to lake George I will be staying at the park lane motel.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ONT
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

We come to Lake George, NY to enjoy the smaller scale Six-Flags located here. It is still an awesome Six-Flags but with many more Mild and Intermediate rides for our family to enjoy. After enjoying our first night at the Country Inn & Suites (which is right behind the park) and the perfect spot to leave your car and walk into Six-Flags we were looking for a place on Lake George and stumbled across Tea Island Resort. How odd I thought, "the bedding in theses pictures looks exactly like the duvets at Country Inn"...When we travel, my top priority is spotlessly clean rooms (did the maid stint to help pay for University and people are gross in Hotels...) and Quality mattresses with a choice of pillows.
Tea Island is family owned and operated by Dave and Theresa, the new owners are very experienced in the hospitality business and it shows in the care, cleanliness, and by their visibility on the property to ensuring you find life jackets for the SUP boards, kayaks or peddle boats (all included with your stay). They were also there to help my son re string his fishing line and take some time to chat with my husband about places to eat! We were shown to the storage room for other games like horse shoes, badminton, whiffle ball, and the adjoining hot tub!

The resort is located in Boulder Bay, which is just north past the main Village of Lake George (exit 22 and keep to the left!). It is on a large, quiet bay, of very deep clear water, behind Tea Island so the winds, big waves and big boats with the parasailing, steam ship tours, water skiiers, etc are not a bother to your play but still enjoyable to watch. There is a hill to walk which will ensure you get your daily quota of exercise or you can drive down the path from the cottages. Our kids loved to roll down it! The Sandy beach and protected swimming area are perfect for digging and splashing, I stayed dry on the elevated deck over the boat slips to catch some unobstructed sun and peace.

Propane BBQ's are available to use and the ONLY reason i gave this resort a 4 Star rating. We anticipated an oven in the kitchenette to cook late night snacks - but BBQ nuggets and pizza worked out ok. If you are going to Six Flags stay here and ask the owners for parking help. They have a few tricks up their sleeves!

Lastly, this resort, while not huge is perfect, it was not crowded, I was able to get a sun deck chair easily, the beds were clean, comfortable and awesome after a long day of playing; the adjoining cabins were perfect for our family of 5 with 3 tweens. We will be back to play again soon.

Room Tip: Cabin 6 has 1 Queen bed in a separate room from the main area and can open up to adjoin to cabin 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Play_FIRST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2013

The owners are on site daily. Dave and Theresa are very friendly and make you feel very welcome. The view is great and they offer paddle boats and kyaks at no charge. The location is perfect, close enough to town to walk but far enough away to be quiet and relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GREGFROMMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
1.3 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Courtyard Lake George
Courtyard Lake George
#4 of 88 in Lake George
128 reviews
2.4 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#15 of 88 in Lake George
533 reviews
0.7 mi away
Surfside On The Lake Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tea Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tea Island Resort

Property: Tea Island Resort
Address: 3020 Lake Shore Dr, Lake George, NY 12845-6431
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Tea Island Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come join us at the Tea Island Resort on Lake George for an unforgettable vacation! Enjoy our sandy beach and swimming in the crystal-clear waters of Lake George. You can relax in the sun on our lawn or boat house deck with beautiful views of the lake and mountains. At the Tea Island Resort, You are just 1 mile from all the attractions, dining, entertainment and fun. The Lake George Trolley will pick you up and drop you off in town, so you never have to drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Tea Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing