We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old hotel ....room was falling apart”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake View Inn Lake George
Ranked #23 of 25 Lake George B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I booked a room for 3 nights for my parents and was so disappointed with the mess room that was falling apart. They assigned us to room 103 and there was a broken pc of flooring right at the door and no where to hang up clothes,. Asked to be switched to a different room.....well not any better. Room 106 had a broken pane of glass on window and bathroom looked like they had water damage. My parents were not happy but they stayed during the day with us at the campground and only returned to sleep at night......Pick another place this place was smelly and old and needs to be torn down and rebuilt. So many other places around .
Waste of $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aftab B, General Manager at Lake View Inn Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We apologize that your parents were not satisfied with their room. We encourage guests to communicate any and all concerns, even after being moved. We'd encourage you to reach out to one of our managers to discuss your stay. We have addressed the items you mentioned and hope you'll give us another try in the future. Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014

By no means should you book a room here. We checked in and the place smelled of mold and mildew. Walked across the room and the laminant floors,were either installed over carpet or the floor below was rotten. I then walked out of the room and got my money back.This was the only thinggood about the place. Alerted the Health Department because as we were leaving saw three cockroaches. Beware

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Timmc37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aftab B, General Manager at Lake View Inn Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2014

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience. We are inspected by the NYS health department regularly like any hotel. We also work with a pest control company that also inspects and treats the hotel when necessary. The type of bugs you mentioned are rare in Upstate NY however we communicated your comments to our pest control company. They have confirmed that we do not have a roach infestation of any kind. Perhaps it was a similar type of bug you saw outside. We are sad to hear that you were still unhappy even after receiving a full refund. Guest's are always welcome to see the room before checking in. If there is anything we can do, please contact one of our managers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This room was so gross we didn't even stay. The "hardwood" floors were ripped, same patched hole in the wall that someone mentioned in another review, hair still in the tub from the last guests, moldy shower curtain. The last straw for us was the mysterious black hairs still on the pillow cases, quilts, sheets, and blankets in the beds. This after we were told upon check in that our room was not ready because the comforters were being washed.We went to the office and surprisingly got a refund for the room, no questions asked. Do not stay here. We did not have high expectations especially after reading the
other reviews but it was all that was available. We live locally, so we just went home.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kmc8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aftab B, General Manager at Lake View Inn Lake George, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2014

Thank you for letting us know about your experience. We are sad to hear that you were still unhappy after receiving a full refund. We learn from every review and appreciate your honestly. We have addressed your concerns and hope you'll give us another try in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Hope I never stay someplace like this again. Patched hole in the wall, had to sit sideways in the bathroom (who faces the toilet so close to the bathtub?!!!!) and the desk clerk was a slovenly jerk who acted like we were bothering him when asked about why the Wi-Fi was not available, something the hotel actually advertises so proudly. Knew the room was small when we booked it but the dirty gym bag smell was an unwelcome surprise and could not be overcome by the inadequate air conditioner. Just yuck.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lark67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Everything was booked up for this weekend so we booked this place.( 6/21/14) There are no amenities, no coffee pot, no clock radio, no where to hang your clothes or a dresser to put them in. The bathroom floor was rotted, the water ran constantly in the tub and the smell was musty. This place needs a total renovation or demolish it. I booked this thru. hotels. com and the reviews were mixed. That's why I picked it. Thank God we only stayed one night and the grand kids had a great time anyway.

2 pros - Kathy was wonderful to us and I tipped her. Also there was a small microwave/fridge. Never again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mobi136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Terrible! They tried to charge me an extra 250$ because of the leaking in the bathroom. The water on the floor is no more than two cups, and the water is taken to the floor mostly because that I have to run to answer the door while I was taking the shower (three times!). Fortunately I succeed to dispute it through my credit card provider. But definitely I will NEVER EVER stay there again!

Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
Thank Rubisco616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

As soon as we looked in the drawer for the folder that featured hotel amenities I knew we were in trouble. No Gideon's Bible. ( It was an omen.) No coffee pot, alarm clock, curtains on the window, or picture on the wall. There weren't any dressers or places to hang garments. No phone or cell phone service. I went out to sit in one of the cheap plastic chairs and the legs collapsed, They're were garment price tags and pistachio shells on the floor from previous guests. Just as my mother and I were falling asleep the smoke detector woke us up to let us know that it needed batteries. Great! We can't even call the call the fire department! This place is located on the main street and offers a very limited view of the lake. If someone wants a good deal I suggest they buy a tent before considering a stay in this run-down establishment that hired the Department of Corrections to do their interior decorating.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sharononprospect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.9 mi away
Motel Montreal
Motel Montreal
#51 of 89 in Lake George
272 reviews
3.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake George
Comfort Suites Lake George
#12 of 89 in Lake George
680 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fort William Henry Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western of Lake George
Best Western of Lake George
#14 of 89 in Lake George
624 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hillside Motel
Hillside Motel
#21 of 25 in Lake George
5 reviews
4.6 mi away
Olympian Village Resort
Olympian Village Resort
#8 of 9 in Diamond Point
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake View Inn Lake George? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View Inn Lake George

Address: 5 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1601
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lake George
Price Range: £55 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake View Inn Lake George 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lake View Inn Lake George offers guests free high-speed wireless Internet access, fax/copy service, free parking with room for large vehicles and small pets are accepted with additional charges. The front desk has limited hours from 10 am to 12 am. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Lake View Inn Lake George reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing