We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Moose Tavern & Restaurant

Blue Moose Tavern & Restaurant
Ranked #78 of 162 Restaurants in Lake George
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Seafood, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

My wife and I enjoyed a great meal last night at the Blue Moose. It was wifes first time at the Blue Moose and she was very pleased with the food. She enjoyed the steak wrap with fries while I enjoyed the grilled chicken wrap. Also, my wife enjoyed the French onion soup as an appetizer. She stated that it might be the best version of French Onion soup she has ever tasted. Our server was very good and very attentive. (I can't remember her name).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    36
    17
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sherman
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They need to clean this place.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

First off we went to the Blue Moose because if the proximity to our lodging and the prime rib/lobster special they advertised. When we arrived there were hardly any patrons in the restaurant. The old carpet needed a serious vacuuming. It just felt like a dirty bar.
Our half price nachos were pretty good and the salad acceptable. But downhill From that. Prime rib was terrible with no flavor. Needless to say we brought home doggie bags for the dogs.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 145CindyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
586 reviews
399 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Best Onion Soup Ever - and I forget the rest”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Seriously delicious French Onion Soup over-powered my senses of perception for anything else we had that night. If you like Onion Soup you should travel here at least for that though you might enjoy its casual setting, live (though way too loud) entertainment and decent food. It's basically a bar surrounded by tables partitioned off slightly so there's more privacy. We did have crab cakes (very good) and Chicken Quesadilla (very dry) but the highlight was the soup. Wines run about $6 and beers around $4. Without the drinks our tab for 2 soups and the meals would have been around $40.00. Our server Heidi was great but management should take care to make sure the live entertainment doesn't over-power the ability to talk at a dining table. There were more eating than drinking customers though all attention was given to the bar area at the expense of the other patrons. This should be reversed.

Otherwise a good place with decent food at decent prices

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyK300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meriden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
131 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Large Portions, no wait time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2013

Went during Americade 2013 for dinner. Picked a fish sandwich off the menu. Hot and freshly prepared, very large, could barely eat it all. Service was good. Table where we ate was slightly un level but no big deal. Lots of parking, easy access at corner of Rt 9 slightly North of Great Escape. Wide variety of beers including Bud Light Platinum which very few places have. Would definitely recommend. Can also eat in bar area at high top tables.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensbury, New York
2 reviews
“nice but not nice”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2013

The Blue Moose is a nice place to have a drink and maybe some French fries. Sisco food ain't worth that much money! The wings and sandwiches are drowned in whatever "splash" of sauce they say is on the menu. Drowned, swimming in whatever sauce. blech! Teeny weeny drowned wings. We have eaten here three times, just giving it one more chance...because they are friendly and it is a nice place to enjoy a beer, but like I said in the beginning, we plan to stick to French fries from now on. Too bad.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HeatherHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Moose Tavern & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Blue Moose Tavern & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing