We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for the family”
Review of Depe Dene Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Depe Dene Resort
Ranked #59 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Yardley, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place for the family”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

My family has been staying at Depe Dene for over 30 years. We have tried other places in Lake George, but, in our opinion, Depe Dene has the best combination of a nice size swimming pool, large sandy beach, and free boat (paddleboats, rowboats) use. The beach is one of the nicest on the Lake. There are lots of docks for boats if you need a boat slip and great fishing right off the docks. There is also a great restaurant (The Lone Bull) that you can walk to for a great breakfast in the morning and a good deli across the street for a sandwich or snack. We eat breakfast at the Lone Bull every day we are at Depe Dene. The pancakes are tremendous! There is also horseback riding across the street with a great view of the lake from the trail. The cabins by the Lake have spectacular views and are great if you will be spending a lot of time at the beach. One of our favorite places at Depe Dene, is the sitting area on top of the boathouse. It's a great place to relax and enjoy the Lake especially in the early morning or evening.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    31
    16
    11
    41
See reviews for
82
9
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Massapequa, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

This place was recommended to us by friends who had stayed here a few years ago and had a great time. We were not sure what to expect considering the mixed reviews on trip advisor. We had a great time, there is so much to do at the resort and in the surrounding area. Staying at the resort was so convenient. We spent days just hanging out on the beach. My daughter was in the lake for hours and everyone enjoyed the resort's free kayaks, canoes and pedalboats. We enjoyed making a BBQ right in front of our cabin and the the kids played volleyball which was also right in front of our cabin. We had a 3 bedroom cottage near the pool. It was a great size for our family of 5, it could use some upgrading but it was very clean and beds were comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely come back, highly recommend this resort. Many people complained about how far the walk was to the lake from the cabin, it was not far at all a 3 or 4 minute walk, coming up the hill from the lake at the end of the day was hard but not so bad. If I was going to complain about anything it would be the people coming down to the lake at 6 am and putting towels on the lounge chairs and then not coming back down to use them until 1:00. I would come down at 9 am and there were only a few people on the beach but no available lounges.

Room Tip: We stayed in one of the larger cabins, near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee0722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Zandy made checking in easy and quick.
I really enjoyed staying here with my family. Beautiful panaromic view of the lake, breathtaking. Stayed in one of the motel rooms. Next year I would like to stay in the townhouse or cottage. Beachside was nice and quick to get to.
This family resort has daily activities.
Going to make this our family vacation place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOURDES C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
long island, ny
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We've been coming to LG for years and have stayed at many places on 9N. We decided to go to LG spur of the moment. Depe Dene had vacancies so we decided to give it a try. We were very pleased. The beach area and the motel property is very nice. The staff is very friendly and accomodating. The Depe Dene is in a great location with the village not too far away, Lone Bull next door, and deli across the street. Pool/ hot tub area very clean. Some of the rooms,linens do need upgrading. All in all we enjoyed our stay and we would stay again.

Room Tip: motel rooms have a great view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simo1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Commack, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We love Depe Dene but they need to upgrade the cottages, the appliances are old, the carpets are disgusting and the linens according to staff are not washed. It is a shame that such a great place still on the last century. Keep up with upgrades

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bilingual2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnaCronin, Manager at Depe Dene Resort, responded to this review, 3 August 2013
In response to the accusation of providing guests with dirty or questionable linens: The Depe Dene has a laundry staff working diligently to provide guests with clean linens. No guest will ever be given dirty linen as this would be a serious health code violation and would compromise the integrity of the resort. As far as upgrading, the Depe Dene has made several upgrades to both the rooms and the property to provide guests with a more comfortable and enjoyable vacationing spot. Upgrades will continue to happen yearly. We take your suggestions into consideration and thank you for your input.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New York
1 review
Reviewed 28 July 2013

Been going for years. Great place for our family, something for everyone. Beach, kayaks, docks for our boat . For the non swimmers great to have volleyball and tennis or a quick walk to up to the lone Bull for the big breakfast.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Terryjoe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We were given one room in our conformation and another at arrival. I assumed they changed our room. We checked in and two hours later another family was given our room key. I was told sorry, yet again someone entered our room. I thought it was taking care of but then two days later another family again was given our room key! My 6 year old was soo upset and worried when we were sleeping that someone would enter our room. I felt it best to check out a day early. when I went to check out the boy at the desk who said his uncle owned the place, thought nothing of it smirked, told me it was My job to make sure I was given the correct room.Thought it was funny I wanted a refund for the day I wouldn't be there because no one was hurt! When he called his uncle same reaction..ALL THEY WANT IS YOUR MONEY..THE GUEST IS THEN ON THERE OWN..THEY DON'T CARE AT ALL.LAST I CHECKED THEY ARE SUPPOSE TO CHECK ON WHO GETS WHAT ROOM. VERY VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE..I GO TO LAKE GEORGE EVERY YEAR..I WILL NEVER GO TO THE DEPE DENE EVER AGAIN...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Jkrygier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lake George hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
2.1 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#18 of 88 in Lake George
143 reviews
2.0 mi away
Boulders Resort
Boulders Resort
#44 of 88 in Lake George
78 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cramers Point Motel & Cottages
Cramers Point Motel & Cottages
#48 of 88 in Lake George
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Blue Lagoon Resort
Blue Lagoon Resort
#1 of 5 in Diamond Point
237 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Lodges at Cresthaven
The Lodges at Cresthaven
#22 of 88 in Lake George
152 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sun Castle Resort
Sun Castle Resort
#25 of 88 in Lake George
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Depe Dene Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Depe Dene Resort

Property: Depe Dene Resort
Address: 3494 Lake Shore Dr, Lake George, NY 12845-6707
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Lake George
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Depe Dene Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Depe Dene Resort is an 1800's Scottish Estate situtated on 11 acres. There are 87 different cottages, townhouses, and rooms/suites along the shores of beautiful Lake George with an array of options to meet your group or family’s budget and needs. Our Resorts boasts a 270 degree view of Lake George as well as the largest, privately owned beach on Lake George with paddle boats, kayaks and row boats. The Original Estate House, built in 1860 is available, featuring 11 bedrooms, 7 1/2 baths, three Jacuzzis, a solarium as well as numerous observation decks overlooking the lake. We offer arts & craft classes for children and give parents a worry free chance to relax. New this year: Yoga classes, private Kung Fu and Self Defense class by the lake are available by appointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Agoda, HRS, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Depe Dene Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Depe Dene Hotel Lake George
Depe Dene Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing