We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
20
23
16
16
42
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
23
16
16
42
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Dump. No activities, run down tennis court, dull old rooms, probably decorated in the late 70's. No activities of any sort on the grounds, no kids playgroups or anything of the sort. If you just want to go to the lakes region, and don't much care about the amenities, or if you are not planning on doing much of anything but sleeping there, then you are still probably going to leave disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Quick Last minute July 4th getaway with family. A good location away from center but close enough. The service was excellent. The all inclusive price made it very valuable, no waiting in lines for food. This is not a four or five star hotel, but a great value. The property is beautiful plently of places to explore, very casual. The rooms are simple. If your looking for a private retreat with family or friends or just a couple getaway, this is the place. Just remember to bring additional amenties a alarm clock if you need one we didn't, or your traveling coffee pot for the earlier riser before 7:00am. We will certainly stay there again, can't wait.

Room Tip: Call and ask
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bloom127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

My best friend and I have just celebrated our 26th year at Roaring Brook. We have met many families and other people who just love the view, the horses, the food and of course the rooms. Everyone at Roaring Brook greets you with a smile and a warm hello. The price is the best and I can't say enough about the food. Service is always with a smile and your room will always be cleaned to perfection. As long as we are able, we will spend our time at Roaring Brook. Please give it a try. Thank you for 26 years of wonderful memories.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladydispenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2011

I went up to Lake George for Memorial Day Weekend. I've never stayed at the Roaring Brook Ranch before, but I have to say that it was very nice and peaceful. The land was beautiful and the rooms were clean and spacious; however, it was like I was in the film, "The Shining" with Jack Nicholson. When we arrived it was empty. When we went to go check in, everything seemed as if it was closed for the season. No music, no one diining, and no bartender. The conference center had water sitting around that looked like it was there for twenty years because it wasn't picked up. The outdoor pool had a bar, that looked like it was last used in 1980. Garbage was laying around. The pool chairs were dirty and it wasn't cleaned out. Dirt surfaced the bottom of the pool. Some of the buildings weren't even ready to be used and the teenis court on the hill was all weeded up. I saw no horse back riding and the hoarses only came out once a day, not for long. The ducks at the pond were evil, DON'T GO NEAR THEM... they will chase you even in your car. The sonas, spa center, and the fitness center were closed up during the day with no one to give you spa treatment. I really don't think that this place was ever really in use since 1967. No one stays hear and everything is always closed up. So what are you waiting for, come visit "The Shining" today.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dingeebryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2010

Fri/Sat/Sun event with 50 or 60 club members. Resort staff was very helpful & accomodating to make it a fun weekend. Facilities are a bit dated & if you're looking for a posh Marriott or Hilton style resort, this is not the place, but it was fine for a fun weekend with friends. Better accomodations seemed to be in the Monterey & Abilene building....yes, a bit of a mildew odor, but leaving the door & windows open for a bit cleared that out. Rooms were clean with plenty of hot water....meals are plain (American plan), but good.....dining room staff was excellent.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave_S_WayneNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews