We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (117)
Filter reviews
117 results
Traveller rating
20
24
16
16
41
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
24
16
16
41
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 117 reviews
Reviewed 28 August 2011

When we first arrived things did not seem that bad until,,,,,,,,,,,,,, We saw the broken down lodges that were empty and the water fountain that was fallen apart. Still we entered where we were greeted by Ginny. Personality is not her best qualtiy not sure what is. However, we do know that she firmly will tell you that she knows nothing about policy but she has worked there since 1966. The way the place looks well you can believe that not much has changed. Our room was smelly and had ripped wallpaper and we still shudder at the thought of what came out of the air conditioner. The pool outside looked like it might swallow you whole. The indoor door one was not that bad if you could get past the dirty and smell of the indoor area. Once you entered the pool that was cloudy you smell the stench of dead fish.
The dinner service well, you gotta give them a 1 star for effort. You just can not think to much about all the double dipping with the dressing that is passed through out the dinning hall ... YUMMY!!!! There are no activties for the kids other than getting asthma from the mold. Let's just say that if you want to be in a theme filled vacation then go here you are just waiting for the dead to party with you and you never know what you mind find popping out of the shower. Ginny thank you for our stay and always pointing out you have been there since 1966... It shows.

Room Tip: Bring your own sheets and pillows
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jackie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2011

This was a bizarre place to stay. I did read the other reviews before booking and found that most of them were true. My boyfriend and I stayed here for a weekend and basically we used it as a place to sleep at night. The rooms are decent sized, but the beds (and tv) are tiny (the room we stayed in had two double beds). The water was either scalding or freezing and the AC wheezed through the night. The room we had was carpeted and I could tell there had been an animal in there because my normally non-existent asthma started acting up. Also downstairs we heard and saw a dog in one the rooms. When we entered the room, several of our lights did not work. There was something pink smeared across one wall that reminded me of the movie "The Shining". When people compare the resort to that movie, they are right. The place seemed abandoned. We didn't bother to investigate the property, though we did see those nasty grey geese. Nor did we have any meals at the resort because I found the prices too expensive for such a limited choice of foods. My boyfriend was amused by their filing system in the lodge, consisting of only cards with our names on them. Also there was no WiFi that made our trip a bit more stressful when we wanted to find out more stuff in the area.
Overall it was a strange place to stay and wouldn't be booking that place again.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere if you can...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahChristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Just recently came back from a trip here and while the accommodations take you back to an earlier time they were nonetheless clean, and cordial. The wait staff could not do enough to make sure that we had exactly what we wanted for our meals, from extra portions to special diets. The cleaning staff were friendly and accommodating. The office staff were also very helpful and nice. If you are looking for a quiet place to stay where the food is good and the rooms clean and quiet-then this is the place for you. If you are looking for loud music, cars racing all hours of the night, and lots of activity-then find somewhere else to stay. The area is close to anything you wish to do and you can go and please as you wish or stay in and play games or do crafts with your family in the large family area. It was a very comfortable and wonderful place for our very large family to stay and be all together!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeadCat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Dump. No activities, run down tennis court, dull old rooms, probably decorated in the late 70's. No activities of any sort on the grounds, no kids playgroups or anything of the sort. If you just want to go to the lakes region, and don't much care about the amenities, or if you are not planning on doing much of anything but sleeping there, then you are still probably going to leave disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Quick Last minute July 4th getaway with family. A good location away from center but close enough. The service was excellent. The all inclusive price made it very valuable, no waiting in lines for food. This is not a four or five star hotel, but a great value. The property is beautiful plently of places to explore, very casual. The rooms are simple. If your looking for a private retreat with family or friends or just a couple getaway, this is the place. Just remember to bring additional amenties a alarm clock if you need one we didn't, or your traveling coffee pot for the earlier riser before 7:00am. We will certainly stay there again, can't wait.

Room Tip: Call and ask
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bloom127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews