We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Campground But has Changed past few years and not for the good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lake George Escape Campground
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Campground But has Changed past few years and not for the good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

My family and I have been coming to this campground for about 10 years....Its a beautiful campground with lots for the kids to do but the more recent years they have so many new rules and make it so inconvenient to make reservations. Last year we booked months in advance like we always do we were given site numbers and when we arrived our whole group was separated and our sites were given away. This year I booked already and they are already giving us problems of guaranteeing our sites are together. We always travel as a large group and its inconvenient to have separate sites all over.....looking into other campgrounds :(

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mely20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeGeorgeEscape, Public Relations Manager at Lake George Escape Campground, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Hi there, I want to sincerely apologize for your latest experience at Lake George Escape. We're very sorry that your sites got switched around. We value you as one of our campers, and would really love to have you stay with us again! Would you mind calling us at the campground and telling us your story? Your feedback will help us improve.

Please call Marilee at Lake George Escape at 518-327-3188 and we will try and make this up to you. Thank you.

-Staff at Lake George Escape
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    229
    111
    70
    40
    42
See reviews for
330
56
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bayville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

My family has been making a trip to Lake George Escapes since about 1999, yearly. The campground is very well maintained, activities all day and some night for everyone. Beautiful surrounding areas obviously. My family of 4 usually gets an RV site and we put a tent up, and my parents and aunts and uncles now get the cabins. Tent sites or cabins, you can't go wrong. The only thing I've noticed that could be improved upon is the cafe. Seems the pricing has gone up over the years, but the quality of the food had declined. Slow service and apparently not what it used to be before being owned by a larger company. But, for the most part, you don't even need the cafe. So, still gets an excellent rating from us, we're going back again this August.

Room Tip: not rooms, but RV's or cabins for rent, or tent sites or RV sites for tents and canopies. all s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeGeorgeEscape, Manager at Lake George Escape Campground, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Hi Vinny, thank you for your review! We hope to see you again this camping season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leominster, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We have been twice for a week's stay each time. The first time we stayed we were placed in site 100. It was a back in site and closer to the front of the resort. That site was fine, and even though we were closer to the DJ than I hoped for, with the A/C on in our camper I didn't hear anything.The second time we stayed we were in site 426, that was a much better site, although it was a bit away from the pool area.We brought both of our dogs the first time, and they enjoyed running around in the dog park. They have a large dog and small dog section which was nice.Our 12 yr old enjoyed the hay rides, and the shuttle to downtown is convenient, since it is expensive and hard to find parking during the summer. There is an arcade and a small mini-golf course, but we didn't go into it. Overall it is a really nice place to go and relax. It isn't overly loud, like some places can be, but because of the amenities that it has, it isn't hear a pin drop quiet either.

Room Tip: I would choose the 400's if you want to be away from the activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 422ChristinaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeGeorgeEscape, Manager at Lake George Escape Campground, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Hi Christina,

Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear your dogs enjoyed our new Paw Park. We sure do love our guests' furry friends!

Thanks again, we hope to see you this upcoming 2014 camping season!

-Lake George Escape
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Hook, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

We have been camping here for several years. We started in the cabins and now tent camp with our children. There are so many activities for the children to participate in, from horseshoes to arts and crafts. The grounds are well kept and the staff are very helpful. It is a very family friendly campground.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMac2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mid-State, NY
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed for the Yard Sale weekend in nearby Warrensburg and have stayed here several times in the past. The campgrounds are very large and we stay in the back by Moose Pond with another family. We have never had any problems here and for what we need it suits us great.
During the summer season there is lots to do for the kids.
It is peaceful and quiet and we enjoy our time here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheConstantTraveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeGeorgeEscape, Manager at Lake George Escape Campground, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you! We hope to see you again next season!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carver, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

If you were looking for a campground when you never have to leave, it's the place to go! The park/rec/game staff is great! The front desk staff when we checked in was not very helpful. We were a bit confused with the billing and she barked at us and told us that we were wrong. We also had been told by some staff at an rv show that we would get a free night and they were going to charge us until I reminded them while we were checking in. She saw it on the screen, just didn't want to remind us. Other than that one staff member, everyone was great, the bathrooms/bath houses were very clean and they had things for everyone to do!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wouldratherbecamping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeGeorgeEscape, Manager at Lake George Escape Campground, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for your kinds words. We hope to see you again this year! (P.S. We love your user name! :))
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

My family's been going here for 15 years and We never have had any major issues. We were scheduled to stay Labor Day weekend and the week after...9 days total. We made our reservations 2 months ahead over the phone and the lady repeated everything back just as we said. Everything was paid and done we packed the car and we were on our way. Upon our arrival we went to te desk to check in (we asked for a tent site with water and electric) and they gave us a primitive site with no electricity no water and as far away from human contact as possible. We informed the lady that the lady on the phone read back water and electric tent site for 9 days. They told us they couldn't do anything about it and to have a nice day thy didn't even try to fix te situation, we called customer service and they told us the same. We ended up heading home and 3 children were very disappointed. I was let down by the lack of customer service, they couldn't be bothered to help us. Not even a discount off our next stay. :/ very let down

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bwilcox17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LakeGeorgeEscape, General Manager at Lake George Escape Campground, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
I am terribly sorry for your problem with getting the type of site you requested. We value and appreciate your business and I will do whatever it takes to keep you coming back for another 15 years. Please contact me, John the General Manager and I will invite you back on me, for your inconvenience. We know that you can choose any campground when you are spending your hard earned money, and we appreciate that you have been choosing to stay with us. I will also use your example of how you were treated to provide customer service training to our Front Desk associates. Best regards, and again, Thank you for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
9.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Lake George
Comfort Suites Lake George
#9 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
5.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Lake George RV Park
Lake George RV Park
#2 of 32 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Lake George/Warrensburg Area
5.1 mi away
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
Scotty's Lakeside Resort
#15 of 88 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake George Escape Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake George Escape Campground

Property: Lake George Escape Campground
Address: East Schroon River Road, Lake George, NY 12845
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 32 Speciality Lodging in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Lake George Escape Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 576
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Lake George Escape Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake George Escape Camping Hotel Lake George
Escape Resort Lake George

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing