We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY WELL MAINTAINED”

The Fort William Henry Museum & Restoration
Ranked #4 of 51 things to do in Lake George
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fort William Henry Museum and Reconstruction is located on the site of the original French and Indian War fort at the south shore of Lake George. Experience how the soldiers fought and died at this wilderness outpost and learn the REAL history behind the surrender and massacre made famous by James Fennimore Cooper's, "Last of the Mohicans". Cannon and musket demonstrations at 10am, 12, 2, 4pm daily. Open May - October.
Utica, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“VERY WELL MAINTAINED”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

What a great place to see such an interesting part of history! The museum is very clean and well maintained! We even went back for their haunted tour! REALLY COOL!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    206
    92
    34
    16
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lindsay, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Great tour of the history in the area. The fort offers great views of the lake. To see pics go to www.divertrek.com

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cindy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Was okay but still felt like it was a must”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

History lesson brought to life however it was slightly over rated. We had our fill after about an hour and $48 later. All in all I would not deny my kids this exerience. They really liked the gift shop as well. It was worth going and seeing it in person.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pickymom2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“We went on the Ghost Tour!”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My family and friends went on the ghost tour at Fort Willam Henry. It was very informative and exciting. We all had a great time. Do I believe that Fort Henry is haunted? Yes for sure. My husbad is a witness as he saw the spirt of the shadow ghost and when he asked the ghost`s to turn on the light they did. Whene there was noone else that could have. One more thing there were many people that caught orbs with thier camaras.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Darla49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glens Falls, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Educational and Family Friendly!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We went as a group of 6 (2/6 children) and toured the Fort ourselves using the provided map. The 'tour' that is slated to happen every hour was scheduled at 3pm (in addition to other times throughout the day). We joined the tour which was a 15 min video followed by a discussion of period gun that they shot and also staff showed a demonstration of a canon. They also did these outside of the formal tour time. I found to watch then aside from the large group was more enjoyable. Children can dress up in a period outfit and be a part of a brief reenactment. An enjoyable afternoon for kids and adults. I did feel that bathroom was not well kept and for the price of the museum this was disappointing.

Helpful?
Thank K2a2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fort William Henry Museum & Restoration also viewed

 

Been to The Fort William Henry Museum & Restoration? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing