We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad Experience”
Review of Blue Moon Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Moon Motel
Ranked #7 of 25 Lake George B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 August 2013

I have stayed at Blue Moon several times over the last couple of years, We are a small family. We arrived a little late but not after their rules of "quiet time: this past weekend. As we were settling in my three year old son was very excited and was making noise. We asked him to stay quiet Within 20 minutes of arriving we were ready to go out to dinner and were stopped by the owner Nancy who came off very rude and stated she got two calls from our neighbors stating too much noise was being made and this part of the motel was for "adults only”. I continued to listen as she asked us if we can’t follow the rules she wants us to leave and will refund us. When we attempted to explain she cut us off rudely and stated i wouldn’t allow my child to make noise. She continued to talk and we listened and asked politely to hear us out. We explained that if this part of the motel room was for adults she should have not placed us as we explained via phone we had a child. She reported ell we didn’t have any other room. We then began to explain if that was the case we should have been notified and we would have not stayed there. Besides that we were following the rules because it was before 10:00 p.m. We also explained that we had stayed their several times and never had an issue with any one before. She seemed the list bit interested and stated the people next to us paid "good money" for their rooms. (We paid 110.00 a night). After a long conversation explaining she decided to apologize and i asked if i were to find another motel room can we get a refund because we felt very uncomfortable there. She stated "no" and we would never find anything else in Lake G. at the time. We end up staying because we didn’t want to be on the streets with a three year old and not have a place to stay and she changed her mind about giving us a refund. we were close to losing 220.00 dollars. We would leave in the morning and come back at night after out little one would fall asleep. We didn’t use the pool or the grounds. I will never return there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jalila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (52)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 52 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

Just a 1/2 mile walk or trolly ride to downtown lake George, this classic motor inn offers a no frills inexpensive alternative to the big name hotels that charge 3 times the amount. While the rooms are a bit dated and a tad dark, they were extremely clean and well maintained. Shower had great water flow, too! Nice pool and great hospitality from the owners who are always available and on
premises. Modern reception area with free coffee in the morning.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lizscharf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We decided to stay at the Blue Moon to avoid the noise of the main drag in Lake George. While going through our options we found the Blue Moon Motel, it had very good reviews so we decided to stay there for the weekend. Upon arrival we were greeted by the owner (very friendly), from the outside the motel is well maintained and clean it has a centrally located pool but heater was non operational even though it states that the pool is heated. The parking spaces are very narrow and small, so beware if you have large vehicles. Our room needed major upgrades, eventhough the carpet looked brand new everything else looked like it was on its last leg. The decor was similar to a backwoods cabin with wood panelling laced walls which was probably the cause of the musty smell, the furniture dates probably back to 70`s, the a/c was old and rickety and very noisy to said the least and not to forget how dirty the filter was. To top it all off the beds in this room were a disgrace to have guests sleep on, they were riddled with stains, very soft with no back support slopped towards the headboard, my wife and I called it the banana bed since it felt was bent like a banana when sleeping in it. The large frosted bathroom window which is visible from the residential street behind the complex did not have window coverings, this made my wife very uncomfortable when taking a shower. This motel is way overpriced ($110.00 per night) for the type of amenities provided, eventhough they have WIFI and provide coffee in the front office in the morning, the room did not have basic items like an alarm clock, phone or coffee maker which is usually provided in motels/hotels of the same price range therefore I could not rate this motel more than a 2 star, if price would of been in the $60 per night range my rating would of been higher. See attached pictures.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jacques B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

From the very clean room, to the morning coffee bar, we enjoyed our stay at this motel. Family-run and locally-owned, this motel offers a clean and comfortable room at a reasonable price. The pool is well maintained, and the location is a bit north of the village fray which allows for some nice walks. The owner was on site, and was as helpful as she could be, greeting us with a warm smile. With a plethora of hotels and motels in the area, the Blue Moon offers a "no-fuss" experience with simple touches that make staying here special.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stayed there last year during a Motorcycle Rally. Rooms very Clean, owners were Amazing, pool was a plus! I would recommend to anyone. Very close to Lake George. Reasonably priced. Will be back. The owners are very accommodating and were on premises.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CulinaryCruiser08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Stayed at the Blue Moon last year and had a great vacation-the accomodations were exceptional-clean,great room and pool as well.
The owners who were on site took personal attention to every detail to ensure we were completely satisfied!
We will be going back this year and can't wait!
Perfect location to the town as well.

Paul and Cindy Barclay

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulB035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

July, 2012... We had a very large group staying at the motel. The owners were VERY accomodating. The rooms were clean (a must!). The pool and grounds were very well kept. I would recommend this motel to anyone! Great price for what you get.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VRMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake George
0.7 mi away
Tea Island Resort
Tea Island Resort
#5 of 89 in Lake George
223 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brookside Motel
Brookside Motel
#12 of 89 in Lake George
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Lake Crest Inn
Lake Crest Inn
#11 of 25 in Lake George
157 reviews
1.7 mi away
Super 8 Lake George/Downtown
Super 8 Lake George/Downtown
#14 of 89 in Lake George
530 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Resort Lake George
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Moon Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Moon Motel

Address: 495 Canada St, Lake George, NY 12845-1032
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lake George
Price Range: £48 - £108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Moon Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blue Moon Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing