We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“greatly improved”
Review of Log Jam Restaurant

Log Jam Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 161 Restaurants in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“greatly improved”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We have been travelling to this area for over 20 years and the Log Jam used to be one of our favorites. In the last few years we found the quality had slipped and started eating elsewhere. We returned last week and had a great experience. On a very busy Friday night our reservation time was honored to the minute. The servers were great and the food quality had really improved. The salad bar was fresh and well maintained and everything about our experience was top of the line. I

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    425
    141
    49
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice Salad Bar”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

This is a great place to eat. A bit expensive, but worth it. The salad bar is a must! They have so much on that salad bar, and a fresh baked bread section. The steak was done just right. They have all levels, well done to mooing, and whatever you order, they get it right. I like my steak med-well. Dark pink. You don't know how many places get that wrong and send either medium or well done. Atmosphere is rustic log cabin with low lighting, very peaceful. All in all, a good dining experience.
Only open for lunch and dinner- they close after lunch, and open at 5pm for dinner. Check the website for hours, and I would suggest making reservations.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Log Jam”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

An "Absolute Must" if you are planning on visiting Lake George. When we first got there, our wait to be seated time was 20 minutes. That was fine by us, because the desk clerk at the Comfort Suites told us it was the BEST place to eat in Lake George. And he was NOT kidding. However, as we were leaving, the wait to be seated time was 1 hour and fifteen minutes.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank karenparkertrimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food ”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Came here for an early dinner, pleasantly surprised. Upon entering looked dark and tiny. We were seated quickly and out server was attentive and very nice. Salad bar was a nice touch, food was served quickly. Prime rib was delicious. For 8 people from NYC a bill of 153 was fantastic

Helpful?
2 Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton
Level Contributor
106 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food. Excellent Wait staff!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Our trip to Lake Geoarge brought us to the factory outlets. Right next door was this restaurant. They advertised a salad bar, which we thought would be a nice treat.

The salad bar was excellent with very fresh ingredients (though the Caesar Salad dressing was a bit bland). The plates were chilled which kept everything cold and fresh-tasting.

Dinner consisted of the Broiled Haddock with garlic-onion smashed potatoes and the Swordfish with garlic-onion smashed potatoes. The food was served piping hot. We realized afterwards that we had ordered fish at a steakhouse, but the food was delicious and served to order. The wait staff was extremely friendly and made us feel welcome. It is definitely a family restaurant and even though there were large parties, service never suffered. A great way to unwind after a day of retail therapy!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skippy1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Log Jam Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Log Jam Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing