We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Environment, Staff, and Food - Family Friendly”
Review of The RainTree

The RainTree
Ranked #84 of 163 Restaurants in Lake George
Cuisines: American, Italian, Mexican, Steakhouse, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Takeout
Elkridge, Maryland
1 review
“Awesome Environment, Staff, and Food - Family Friendly”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We have been going to the Rain Tree for years. We start our vacation and end our vacation with dinner and drinks at the restaurant. It's a great place for a family gathering. Their pizza is awesome and their clams are great too. We have used them for catering parties while up at the lake. They coordinated everything with me from our home in Maryland. We usually have a pizza night as well during our vacation - sometimes at the restaurant and some times we pick-up and bring home.

It's a great place to catch up on TV/Sports. Our rental home doesn't have cable - so we enjoy watching the Yankees from the bar over a few appetizers.

Parking in plenty and there is a view of the lake.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelly Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    26
    10
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Don't Waste Your Time”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This sleepy restaurant is not worth the time or money considering all of the many choices close by. We went early...around 5:30 and the place was virtually empty. The service was slow by any standard. We ordered a burger and a pork chop. Not rocket science. The meals were edible. The atmosphere is dull. There are so many choices in Lake George Village, just 2 miles away.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ballab1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to bring the family”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had a hard time deciding where to go out for our 'farewell to Lake George" dinner, and finally decided on the Rain Tree, a family owned restaurant on Lakeshore Drive, about 5 minutes from Lake George village. It sits high up and gives you a nice view of the lake from either the open or glassed in porch dining areas. The inside seating looked cozy and attractive. We were 6 adults and 1 child, and came without a reservation on a Tuesday evening in August. We were seated immediately on the glassed in porch, overlooking the lake--it was like having a private dining room on this particular evening. Definitely an informal, "old school" Adirondack feel--we loved the paper place mats with drinks of yesteryear--Gimlets, Manhattans, Singapore Slings--I had a Brandy Alexander.

Let me say I have never experienced such service! Friendly, fast, attentive. The best part was how they catered to our 4 year old granddaughter. They actually brought out Candyland for her to play while waiting for our dinner! Our orders covered everything from chicken soup, to hot turkey sandwich, to steak, to a Hawaiian pizza and chicken wings (excellent).

At first there was a little disappointment, because we had looked at menus on line, and the menu we were presented was considerably abbreviated, compared to what had been posted on the web. But all the food was good, with solid portions, and friendly prices (the turkey sandwich with fries was $11).

Again, I can't say enough about the service. I think 3 different servers were taking care of us, and each of them was pleasant, friendly, and attentive.

We were very pleased and would go again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Wynterstail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
176 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“No service go elsewhere”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Waited 20 minutes to get no service. the owner told us that all rose wines tasted the same, she had obviously been sampling most of them before coming to our table. They were not very busy in the end we left and went a bit further along the lake to Diamond Point Grill which gave us excellent service and food. Take our tip drive straight past this place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Frandis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake George, New York
Level Contributor
281 reviews
227 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Gotta luv it!!!”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Friendly, chef owned dining run by a family who not only lives upstairs but truly cares. They always have time to talk to you, tell jokes or let you know how pleased they are to see. You. Better than average pizza, pasta disheds and salads. Great. Cozy atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The RainTree also viewed

 

Been to The RainTree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing