We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Dinner!”

Caldwell House Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 163 Restaurants in Lake George
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Syracuse, New York
1 review
“Delicious Dinner!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My cousin and I recently went to dinner at the Caldwell House. We arrived at 6:05 thinking that the early bird special went till 6:30. Our waitress, Mary, was excellent. When I explained that I had read 6:30 online, she spoke to the manager and he honored the time. Mary brought us a complimentary cheese spread and crackers for us to start with. Next we both had the broiled scallops and they were delicious. Dessert was included with the early bird special. I had key lime pie and my cousin had bread pudding. Both were excellent. I would highly recommend this restaurant and will definitely eat here again when in Lake George.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    58
    14
    14
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New Rochelle, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not as expected based on reviews”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

This was our anniversary dinner, based on excellent reviews. This restaurant is charming looking. We arrived at 6PM and asked if we could still get the "Early Bird" and the hostess said we could. By the time the server came to our table at 6:15 PM, she grudgingly said she would allow us to have the "Early Bird" "this time"! Service was slow, crab cake appetizers were room temperature and bland. My husband's steak was not cooked to order and had to be sent back, while my dinner cooled off as I waited for his steak to return. The dinners were of average taste. We were entitled to dessert, which our server told us was bread pudding or key lime pie. We ordered the key lime pie and coffee, but a few minutes later, were told they had "run out" of the pie. It was only 7:30PM....We then asked for the bill, which took so long that we finally had to ask the hostess for it. Needless to say, we will not return. We had a lovely anniversary, just not a lovely dinner. If you want a good meal away from the village, try East Cove....it was excellent.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TRMCats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great Find in Lake George”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We have been going to Lake George for many years and have found that you really need to get out of the village area to find decent dining. We had passed this place a few times before but never tried it. This time we did, and we really wish we had earlier. The place is very charming inside and our server was very friendly and accommodating. My husband splurged on the king crab legs and he said they were the best he's ever had. I had the stuffed scallops and they were so rich and filling and delicious. Will definitely eat here again on our next visit to Lake George.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NewJerseyBossFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We had a wonderful meal with the worlds nicest wait staff. Don't get anything in size large. The petite size was too much for us. Good quality steak and lobster tails. Definitely worth a return visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very nice dinner.”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This restaurant was rated highly on trip adviser. While it was good compared to most restaurants in Lake George, it was nothing special compared to home. The staff was very nice and the meal was good but not memorable.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter7755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caldwell House Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Caldwell House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing