We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place on the lake”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Glenmoore Lakeside Cottages and Lodge
Ranked #49 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
NY Metro area
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect place on the lake”
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We just got back from our mini vacation just outside of Lake George. What a great time we had. We stayed at the Glenmoore Spruce Cottage for the first time. It was a 2 bedroom 2 bath cottage that was perfect. There was my husband and my 16 yo daughter and our 75 lb lab/border collie.
We've been traveling with dogs for 19 years now. I have to say I'm so sorry I didn't find this place years ago. Most of the places that accept dogs are anywhere from good to rundown. Glenmoore was so clean and inviting. The hosts, Dave and Denise were amazingly accommodating and welcoming to the people guests as well as our dog.

We had a full kitchen, two screened in porches (front and back) and also could use the community deck where we watched the 3rd and 4th of July fireworks. Absolutely amazing. The description of the place on their website is right on target. It's not a luxury hotel but it definitely is a great cabin on the lake. One of the things that impressed me is that it's right on the water and accepts dogs but there is NO HINT of any musty or damp smell at all.

This is a great place to kick back and relax with some great quiet times and yet be close enough to all the attractions and shopping of Lake George. One of the best things too is that you can walk or row one of the rowboats to a great little restaurant only a few houses down called Docksiders.that was recommended by Dave. Docksiders was also so accommodating to our dog. They asked if they could get her a bowl of water and served it in a glass compote dish. Too cute. Food was very good and when they told us the wait would be a half hour or more, we actually got a table in about 20 minutes.

Two thumbs up for Glenmoore and we will be coming back. Thanks Dave and Denise.

Room Tip: If you plan on eating out most of the times, you can go with the rooms in the lodge. If you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank evilmell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    13
    2
    6
    8
See reviews for
32
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2012

My boyfriend and I have been vacationing in the Lake George area for a few years now. Our previous favorite place does not accept dogs so we decided to try the Glenmoore since we recently got a 65lb puppy. It was excellent! We were joined by 4 other family members & rented the Spruce & Pine cottages. They are "older" cottages, but fully functional & clean. Our favorite part of the cottages were the screened in porches where we could chat/play games while barbecuing right outside. While it does not have a sandy beach, the dock is long & we spent time sunbathing, swimming & rowing in the available boats. Dogs are welcome to swim in the lake also! The owners were very friendly & always available, telling us about local hiking areas. We recommend this picturesque, affordable lodge & can't wait to go back ourselves!

Room Tip: the spruce was nice and airy & had a bonus screened in back porch in addition to the front one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gretchen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandon, Vermont
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

worst place ever ...small rooms...fire trap no way out unless you are 5 yars old , to fit out those little windows.... dont stay here run like the wind.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rcvit53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

The Glenmoore is not an estate and it is certainly not the kind of accomodation in which one might find rose petals in the bath, luxury robes and slippers with company logos or pricey chocolates on the pillows BUT if you want and need a break from the stress of work, crowds, appts., tension in the home, running yourself ragged trying to keep on schedule ... there is no better place I can think of in this entire state than the Glenmoore on Glen Lake. At the end of the road go right and in 10 minutes you will join the hustle of Lake George Village during peak tourist season. Great restaurants, souvenir shops, outlet malls ... bars and taverns with all the nightlife anyone can handle. Or turn left for Great Escape or even a trip to the super Walmart for a forgotten bathing suit or hots and burgers to grill at the lodge. Off the beaten path go to the Rodeo, trail riding, cave exploring, boat riding, whatever. But back at the Glenmoore you will relax, sleep through the night, wake up to coffee brewing (or brew your own in one of the cottages), take a dip in the lake, fish off the dock, read a book without 60 interruptions ... that is why the Glenmoore is where I bring my family here. It is not fancy but contrary to a few negative reviews it is clean and serviceable. The owners are "just folks" ... kind, decent people that offer a home away from home for a modest fee. They will welcome you (even have conversations with you for the purpose of making friendships) your kids and the family dog just like they did me and mine a few years ago. I have been coming back every summer since that first visit and plan to continue for many years to come. The Glenmoore may not be luxury at its finest but it is the best value I have ever gotten in the heart. It is a true vacation through and through.

Room Tip: Book more than a month ahead if you can but don't hesitate to give a call for spur of the moment...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TAL1748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2010

Our cabin looked (and smelled) like it had been shut up all winter and they just unlocked the doors for business without doing a spring clean-up of any kind. I would NOT recommend staying here unless you like musty smells, cobwebs and staying in a dilapitated old shack. The linens, furniture, everything was old, old old and not very well maintained. The bathroom was so small you could barely turn around in it. WAY OVERPRICED, we would not stay there again even at half price !!!

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brienne40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

Docking on the shore of peaceful and intimate Lake Glenn, simple but clean and cozy rooms, ours with beautiful lake view. The place is adjusted for kids with a playground and you can take a row boat or canoe. Located just a short drive from Lake George and outdoor attractions and amusement parks of the area. Most of all, is the personal and warm hostpitality of the owners. All that for affordable prices. Travelling with a 20 month toddler, we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch_Rapp13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
147 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2010

I discovered this lodge online but Google maps had not prepared us for its great location, right on Glen Lake. OK, the room and furnishings were basic compared with city hotels, but totally adequate - there was a 'real' handstitched quilt on our bed and the lake was just in front of our downstairs room's window! Breakfast was good and we met a number of really interesting people over the weekend. Dave the host was great, with many an interesting tale; David a guest immediately loaned us a canoe to use; chipmunks were everywhere; hot air balloons could be seen over the lakeside trees; a seaplane used the lake; parking was good; excellent restaurants nearby; swimming and fishing in the lake - what more can I say? Totally renovate the place and it would lose all of its olde worlde charm - it is fantastic. and fun. They operate on trust at this place and it was a very special break for us.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiltshireEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lake George hotels
1.2 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#65 of 88 in Lake George
3.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
5.1 mi away
Inn on the Hill
Inn on the Hill
#41 of 88 in Lake George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
1.0 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites
Clarion Inn & Suites
#14 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Colonel Williams Lake George Motel and Resort
2.2 mi away
Lyn Aire Motel
Lyn Aire Motel
#36 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
5.5 mi away
Forest Hill Lodge & Cabins
Forest Hill Lodge & Cabins
#26 of 88 in Lake George
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenmoore Lakeside Cottages and Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenmoore Lakeside Cottages and Lodge

Property: Glenmoore Lakeside Cottages and Lodge
Address: 330 Glen Lake Rd, Lake George, NY 12845-4310
Region: United States > New York > Lake George
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 88 Hotels in Lake George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Glenmoore Lakeside Cottages and Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenmoore Lakeside Cottages Hotel Lake George
Glenmoore Lakeside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing